Cries in the Night: Chapter 58

At the law office, Julia was standing there in shock after hearing Bryan tell her that he wanted her.

Katherine stood next to her shaking because Bryan was holding James’s gun on them.

“Lock the front door,” Bryan ordered the nervous Katherine as she walked over to the door.

“Hurry,” Bryan told her.

“Bryan, why?”  Julia finally asked.

“There’s no time for that,” Bryan responded.  “Now, both of you get into James’s office.”

The two woman walked into James’s office followed by Bryan as he closed the door.

“Oh, my God, Deborah,” Julia exclaimed as she ran over to Deborah who was laying on the floor unconscious.

“Is she dead?”  A scared Katherine questioned.

“No,” an adamant Bryan responded.  “She is just knocked out for a second.”  Bryan then reached into the duffle bag and grabbed the rope that he had gotten from the basement.

“What’s that for?”  Julia inquired.

“Quickly, tie her up before she wakes up?”  Bryan told them.

Julia reluctantly took the rope and started tying Deborah’s hands together.

“And her feet too,” Bryan demanded.

Katherine just stood next to Julia.  She was too nervous to help.  Then, after a moment, a look of revelation came over her.  “You are the one that has been doing all these things to Ms. Scott.”

Bryan laughed.  “Did you really just put that together?”

“You are the one,” Julia stated.  “You are the one that has been threatening and harassing me.”

“Julia, you have to let me explain,” Bryan started to say as his tone changed.

“How could you possibly explain it all?”  Julia questioned him.

“She has a red bruise forming on her head,” Katherine noted referring to Deborah.

“We should really put some ice on it,” Julia told Bryan.

“And where do you think you are going to get some ice from?”  Bryan asked as he got serious again.  “You are not leaving this office.”

“You said no one was going to get hurt,” Julia reminded him.

Bryan looked around the office.  He focused on the water cooler.  “Grab a cloth or something, and you can put cold water on it from the water cooler.”

Julia looked around the room and went to James’s desk.

“What are you doing?”  Bryan inquired.

“James normally keeps handkerchiefs in here,” Julia informed him as she opened the drawer and got one.

She then walked over to the water cooler and wet it.

Katherine sat on the floor and put Deborah’s head in her lap.  She moved Deborah’s purse which had fallen to the floor on side of her.  As she moved the purse, Deborah’s cell phone appeared beneath it.  It caught Katherine’s attention.

“Don’t even think about it,” Bryan told her as and he went and picked up and the phone.  He then shut it off.

“The same water cooler that you used to try to kill James,” Julia stated referring to James’s poisoning.

“I never wanted to kill James,” Bryan informed her.  “I just wanted him out of the way.  You have to believe that.”

Julia went over with the handkerchief and put it on Deborah’s head.

Julia paused for a moment trying to decide what to do next.  “So why?”  She finally questioned him.

“You really don’t remember me?”  Bryan asked her.

 

Across town, Charlotte, Lyle, and Nikki were on their way to Delmonico’s for lunch.

“Are you sure we have the time for a long lunch?”  Nikki asked Charlotte.

“Yes,” Charlotte replied.  “I’m not sure what to do at the office.  I want to plan the fundraiser for Andrew’s mission.”  She was referring to her first ex-husband Andrew.

“Then why aren’t we?”  Nikki inquired.

“I was waiting until after the election, but now that Julia and James are engaged,” Charlotte started to say.  “I don’t want to do it until after their wedding.”

“But you don’t know when that will be,” Lyle stated.

“True,” Charlotte responded.  “They want to wait until after Julia’s stalker is caught.”

“So we are stuck for the moment,” Nikki added.

“Yes,” Charlotte agreed.

“I can’t believe you wanted to come to this place again after last time,” Lyle stated as they pulled up to Del Monico’s and handed the valet the keys.

“Because Charlotte poured a drink over a guy she hardly knew,” Nikki stated referring to Norman Garrison.

“Yes,” Lyle responded.  “He was out with his sister but Charlotte thought otherwise.”

“Enough,” Charlotte said as she exited the car.

“I would love to meet this guy to see why he has such a hold over you,” Nikki stated.

“I can’t explain the attraction,” Charlotte answered.  “There is just something about him.”

“I will have to see it for myself,” Nikki told her.

“Here’s your chance,” Lyle said.

“What do you mean?”  Nikki questioned him.

“Look,” Lyle answered as he pointed into the restaurant.  Norman was sitting at a table near the window with a women with her back to the window.

“And he’s not alone,” Nikki stated.

Charlotte walked over to the window to get a closer look.  “It’s probably his sister again. “

“Then you can apologize in person like you said you would,” Nikki reminded her.

The three of them stood close to the window though Norman was not aware of their presence.  The doorman opened the door for them.  As he did so, the woman eating with Norman turned her head to answer her cell phone.

“The hell I will,” Charlotte said as she caught sight of the woman.

“Is that?”  Nikki asked but Charlotte cut her off.

“Angela Rhomer from WMON,” Charlotte responded answering Nikki’s question.

“What is he doing with her?”  Lyle wondered aloud.

“I don’t know,” Charlotte responded.  “But we are not staying to find out.”

“Great,” Lyle whispered to himself.

“I’m sorry, but you need to get our car back,” Charlotte said to a valet as she turned away from the door.  “Plans have changed.  We won’t be staying.”  Charlotte walked further away from the restaurant.  “What the hell is up with him?  Doesn’t he know what she has put my family through?”

“Charlotte, you are acting jealous and you have never even gone on a date with that guy,” Nikki stated.

“I have never seen her act this way about anyone before,” Lyle whispered to Nikki.

“Me either,” Nikki said as put her hand to her head.

“Are you alright?”  Lyle asked her.

“Yes, I’m just a little tired,” Nikki responded.

 

Inside Norman Garrison sat at a table at Delmonico’s with Angela Rhomer unaware of what had happened outside.

Angela was on her phone, and Norman seemed annoyed by it.

“I’m sorry Norman,” Angela told him as she hung up the phone.  “It was one of our producers, Martin Wilson.”

Norman didn’t respond.

“I’m sorry,” Angela repeated.  “He is extremely good at giving me leads on stories.  I had to take the call.”

“Whatever,” Norman finally said.

“Well, you asked for this meeting,” Angela started to say.  “I assume you have a story for me.”

“You reached out to me first,” Norman corrected her.

“But you turned me down,” Angela added.  “So why am I here now?”

“As you know, I represent the Golden Eagle Corporation,” Norman reminded her.  “We are moving our headquarters to Monitcello.”

“And?”  Angela asked.

“My employer, president and CEO of Golden Eagle would like for you to do a story or a series of stories on us,” Norman answered.

“And why would I want to do that?”  Angela inquired.

“We intend to do a look of good for the community,” Martin informed her.  “We are going to support several local charities and organizations.  And we are in the process of setting up a charity of our own.  My sister is going to be running it.”

“All that is nice,” Angela started to say.  “But all that is just a fluff piece and PR for you.  I do hard news.”

“Do this favor for us, and we will make it worth your while,” Norman told her.

“How?”  Angela questioned him.

“We share a common enemy,” Norman answered her.  “The Whitneys.”

“And?”  Angela asked.

“We are going to take them down,” Norman explained.  “Wouldn’t you like to be a part of that?”

“I know what I have against the Whitneys,” Angela started to say.  She was referring to the threats from Sky and Raven over her reporting of James and Charlotte.  “But what does your employer have against them?”

“Honestly, I don’t know,” Norman replied.  “Does it matter?”

“No,” Angela responded.

“This is the start of a beautiful friendship,” Norman noted.

“It could be more if you want,” Angela told him flirtingly.

 

Back at the law office, Julia took a good look at Bryan.  He had just asked her if she remembered him.

“Remember you from where?”  She finally asked him trying to act calm.

A look of disappointment came across Bryan’s face.  “It was a few years ago in the court house,” he finally answered.

“I don’t remember meeting you,” Julia told him though she was obviously scared of what his reaction would be.

“We didn’t actually meet,” Bryan said.

A confused Katherine looked at Julia but did not say anything.  She then turned to look down at Deborah.

“You were working for the District Attorney’s office back then,” Bryan started to say.  “You were prosecuting members of the street gang the Gallahads.”

“You were a member of the Gallahands,” Katherine stated but then got silent.  She was surprised she had said something.

“I dealt with a lot of street gangs,” Julia told him.  “But I don’t remember seeing you among them.”

“Because you didn’t prosecute me,” Bryan informed him.  “My father was very good at pulling strings and keeping me out of trouble with the law.  But he wouldn’t do the same for any of my friends.”

“The other member of the Gallahads,” Julia said.

“That’s right,” Bryan told her.  “I sat in that court room, and I watched you send my friends to jail.  But you actually impressed my father with your style.”  Bryan said with a laugh.  “He thought you could become the first female district attorney of Monticello.”

“I remember,” Julia said.  “You told me that the other night in the elevator.”

“He liked you, but I hated you with a passion,” Bryan told her.

Julia was shocked by his change in tone and didn’t say anything.

“They were the only friends I had, and you put them away,” Bryan added.  “I was so mad at you.”

“But I thought you were in love with her?”  Katherine asked.  Then she froze because she was worried that she might have upset Bryan.

Bryan laughed.  “That came later.”

Julia just sat down on the floor next to Katherine and Deborah not sure what to say,

“My father tried to straighten me out after that,” Bryan started to tell them.  “He made me start working for him.  And made me start taking classes at the University.  But it wasn’t my thing.  I got letters from my friends telling me how horrible it was for them on the inside.  And my dad made sure I couldn’t see them.  I hated him for that, and I hated you.  But I wasn’t sure what to do about it.”

Julia and Katherine sat there listening not sure how to respond.

“Then my luck changed,” Bryan told them.  “James hired my dad to manage his campaign, and we ended up working together side by side.  And I had my chance.”

As he was speaking, Deborah started to turn and moan.

“Thank God, she is alright,” Julia stated.

“Yes, thank God,” Katherine agreed.

Julia sat there looking at Bryan.  She was nervous but she decided to speak to him.  “So when did you stop hating me?”  Julia asked.

“When I first started working here all I could think about was torturing you,” Bryan informed her.  “I followed you.”

“I wasn’t crazy,” Julia stated.  “I almost felt like someone was following me on my way to work, and at the restaurant the night my parents surprised me there.”

“Yeah, but I feel bad about that now,” Bryan told her.   “I really do.  But I also mugged you before that.”

“You were my mugger?”  Julia asked him.

“Yes,” Bryan replied.  “And I am really sorry about that now.”  As she was speaking, Bryan recalled how he had mugged Julia to get a copy of the keys to her apartment.  “Can you forgive me that?  I hadn’t gotten to know you yet.”

Julia paused for a moment.  “And you sent me all those letters,” Julia stated.  “Those mean letters.”

“I was a different person then,” Bryan told them.  “You have to understand that.  But I changed once I got to know you.”

Katherine and Julia just sat there listening not sure if they should respond..

“Do you remember I took your coffee mug?”  Bryan asked referring to her mug that said “World’s Greatest Daughter” it.”

“Yes,” A reluctant Julia replied.

“When I found out that it was your favorite, it brought it back,” Bryan said like he was expecting her to be thankful.  “Do you remember that?”

“Yes, I remember getting it back,” Julia finally responded.

“So you know how I feel?”  Bryan asked her sounding childlike.

Julia sat there looking at him not sure about what to day next.

 

At the mansion, Sky and Raven were sitting on the sofa when there was a knock on the door.

“Are you expecting someone?”  Sky asked her.

“Something,” Raven responded as headed to the door.  “I have a delivery.”

“Delivery of what?”  Sky inquired.

“We have a wedding to plan,” Raven responded as Sky’s cell phone rang.

Sky looked at it and proceeded to leave the room.  “I will take it in the study.”

Raven grabbed the stack of bridal magazines and catalogs from the delivery man as Sky closed the door to the study.

“Hello, Gunther,” Sky said as he answered the cell phone and took a book off the shelf.

“I saw you called last night, but I’m finally getting a chance to call you back,” Gunther, the Whitney’s former chauffer told him.

“A lot has changed since last night,” Sky informed him as he opened the book and took out the baby picture.

“I know, I heard about the election,” Gunther started to say.  “I’m sorry.”

“We are going to find out who is behind all those lies about James and they will pay,” Sky told him.  “But I was calling because I fired your son last night.”

“Oh my, what did Robert do know?”  Gunther asked.

“It was actually, Lyle,” Sky informed him.

“Lyle?”  The shocked Gunther asked.

“Yes,” Sky responded.  “But I ended up re-hiring him.”

“Oh good,” Gunther responded.  “What did he do?”

“He kept a copy of the baby picture and Raven found it,” Sky answered looking at the baby picture in his hand.

“That stupid kid,” Gunther exclaimed.  “I told him to get rid of it and delete it.”

“It doesn’t matter anymore,” Sky told him.

“Why?”  Gunther inquired.

“Because you were right,” Sky responded.  “I’m finally telling Raven the truth tonight.”

“After all these years,” Gunther started to say.  “It’s about time.”

“And then I can stop paying Alicia Van Dine’s blackmail money,” Sky told him.

 

In the living room, Raven sat on the sofa looking at the bridal magazines as Robert and Geri walked toward the front door.

“I’m surprised you are still here,” Raven said to her.  “The way you have been complaining about us keeping you prisoner here until after the election.  I thought you would have been out the door the first thing this morning.”

“That would have required her to wake up at a decent hour,” Robert replied.

Geri gave a fake smile in response but did not say anything.  “So you are going full steam into planning James and Julia’s wedding,” she finally said.

“Yes, it’s been a while since we had a Whitney wedding,” Raven noted.

“Probably not since Charlotte got married last time,” Robert said.

“James isn’t a Whitney,” Geri told her referring that James uses his birth father’s last name-Swift.

Raven ignored the comment.   “It’s been an ever longer time since there was a wedding in the mansion.”

“Really?”  Robert questioned.  “Out of three wedding, Charlotte never got married here?”

“That’s right, she never did,” Geri answered.

‘But it’s time for another one,” Raven stated as she looked around the room.

“Didn’t you and daddy get married here?”  Geri asked.

“Yes,” Raven responded.

“You also got married her before that, didn’t you?”  Geri inquired.

“Yes,” a reluctant Raven responded.  She didn’t like mentioning her marriages to the fake Sky Whitney-Jefferson Brown or her first husband Kevin Jameson.

“How did you know that?”  Raven questioned her.

“I read it in Ms. Karr’s biography of Aunt Geraldine,” Geri informed her.

“You read?”  A shocked Robert asked.

Geri knocked him on the shoulder for the comment.  “She was my namesake.”

“I just wish all of you kids could have gotten to know her,” Raven mentioned.  “But they had that accident before you and Gordon were even born.” She was referring to Geraldine and her husband Del Emerson.

“I’m not sure what time we will be home,” Geri told Raven as she and Robert headed out the front door.

“That was kind of rude,” Robert said to her.

“I have other things to worry about,” Geri responded.  “You need to help me win this bet with Charlotte.  I am running out of time.  We need to find out what Adam is up to and get that Katherine out of the way.”

As Geri was speaking, Robert recalled the night before that he had seen Lyle give Geri a vile.  “I need to find out what that is about,” he thought to himself.

Back inside the mansion, Raven continued walking around the living room trying to plan James and Julia’s wedding.  “Where is April?”  She asked herself.  “She should be helping me with this.”

 

Across town, Draper and April were driving toward Draper’s surprise for April.

“I can’t wait for you to see it,” Draper told her.  “It all came by chance….” He started to say as he turned to look at April who didn’t seem to be paying attention

April was laying against the car door sound asleep.”

“You can rest for now,” Draper said.  “I don’t like that you are still not getting much sleep at night.  I wish you would talk to Beth some more about those dreams.”

April was sleeping but as usual she started to dream.  She was having the recurring dream of Julia and the gun.  She saw someone holding James’s gun-the grey handgun with the word mustang on it.  She saw Julia standing there frightened.  She saw the gun go off, and Julia scream.  April’s body twitched as she dreamt it, but she did not wake up from the dream.

Draper noticed and debated whether or not to wake her up but decided against it as she appeared to calm back down.  “We are almost there any way,” He said to himself.  “You can sleep a few more minutes.”

April’s peace did not last long.  April went back into the dream.  Julia was still standing there and the gun was being held on her.  But this time April could see around the room.  She recognized the desk and the water cooler.  She woke up screaming.

“What is it?”  Draper asked her.

“I saw the room,” April started to tell him.  “I know where it is.”

“Where what is?”  Draper inquired.

“The room where Julia gets shot,” April answered.  “It’s James’s office.’

 

Back in the law office, Julia was trying to decide what to say now that Bryan had asked her if she knew how he felt.  Julia didn’t say anything, but the newly awake Deborah did.

“So you gave her coffee mug back to her,” Deborah stated.   “If you loved her why did poison her boyfriend and Didi?  And why did you keep sending her the notes and emails?”

“I never meant to poison Didi,” Bryan responded.  “That was an accident.  I never wanted to harm her.”

“But you meant to harm James,” Deborah told him.

“No,” Bryan responded.  “Well, not exactly.  I just wanted him out of the way.  So Julia could get to know me better.  And see how I felt about her.”

“And what about Julia’s landlord?”  Deborah questioned him as the cop her in came out more.

“Curtis Reardon,” Bryan noted.

“How do you know his name?”  Julia asked.

Bryan was silent. He recalled the hidden camera he had placed in Julia’s apartment.  He remembered watching Curtis Reardon in Julia’s apartment as Curtis worked on her air conditioner.  He went to open the vent where Bryan had hidden the video camera.   “The man was too nosy.  He never should have went into your apartment.”

“What?”  A confused Julia inquired.

“He killed him,” Deborah stated.  “The police always have suspected Julia’s stalker was behind his murder.”

“Oh my God,” Julia exclaimed.

“You don’t understand,” Bryan started to say.  “I didn’t want to hurt him.”

“But you killed him like your father killed my partner, Calvin Stoner,” Deborah said.

“Now stop it,” Bryan told her as he held out the gun toward her.

Julia and Katherine held each other both frightened about what he would do.  As they stood there, the office phone rang.

“Let it ring,” Bryan told them.

“It’s a law office,” Deborah stated.  “Sooner or later someone is going to come by here.  You can’t keep us here forever.”

“I don’t plan to,” Bryan responded.

“James could be back any minute,” Julia stated.

“No, he won’t” Bryan told her.

Julia was taken by surprise by that statement.  “What did you do to him?”  A fearful Julia inquired.

“Nothing but he has that meeting about the class action suit in Springfield,” Bryan said.  “He won’t be coming back any time soon.”

“How did you know about that?”  Julia questioned him.

“Who do you think Mr. Smythe is?”  Bryan asked.

“That was you on the phone?”  Katherine asked.

Bryan smiled.  “I had to get rid of James so we could be alone,” Bryan said to Julia.  “See, I didn’t hurt him.  I just sent him out of town.”

Julia stared at him.  She was too scared to respond to him.

 

Back in the car, April hung up her cell phone.

“Why isn’t anyone answering at the office?”  She asked Draper.

“They could be busy,” Draper responded.

“Something is happening to her,” April said to him.  “I saw it clearly in the dream now.  She gets shot in James’s office.”

“Calm down,” Draper told her.  “That’s doesn’t mean it is happening now.”

“Call Julia’s cell phone,” Draper told her.

April dialed Julia’s number but the phone on the other end just rang and rang until it went to voice mail.  Back in the law office, Julia’s phone sat in her purse on her desk.

“Now do you believe me?”  April asked him.

“Try Deborah,” Draper told her.

April dialed Deborah’s number but the phone went straight to voice mail because Byran had turned it off.

April held it up so Draper could hear.

Draper noticeably also started to get worried.  “Try James,” he told her as he turned the car around to go to Towers.

James was in his car with his bodyguards headed to Springfield when his phone rang.

“It’s Julia’s mother,” he informed the bodyguards as he answered it.

“Hello April,” he said as he answered it.

“James, thank God,” April responded.  “Let me talk to Julia.”

“I can’t,” James responded.

“What do you mean?”  April asked.

“She’s at the office, and I’m on my way to Springfield to meet a potential client,” James explained to her.

“No one is answering at the office,” April informed him.  “And no on answers Julia and Deborah’s phones either.”

“I’m going to call building security,” James told them.

“We are pulling up there now,” April stated.

“Call the police and call me back,” James said.

Draper called the Monticello PD.  “I need to speak to Chief Eagan,” he said.

“I’m sorry, she is not here right now,” the voice on the other line informed her.   “Let me transfer you.”

The phone on Mae’s desk rang.  “Madison,” she answered.

“Detective Madison, this is Draper Scott,” Draper told him.

“Yes, how can I help you?”  Mae asked.

“I was hoping to speak to Chief Eagan, because we are worried about Julia,” Draper explained.

“I’m sorry she is at the morgue on another case right now,” Mae informed him.  “What about Julia?”

At the mention of Julia’s name, Matthew paid attention.

Draper explained to her how they could not reach anyone at the office.

“We will come there and check things out now,” Mae stated as she hung the phone.

“We need to head over to the Towers,” Mae informed Matthew.

“We are not waiting for them,” Draper told April as they headed to the elevator.

Back in his car, James was furious that not no one in the Security office was answering the phone.

He then took the piece of paper Katherine had gave him out of his pocket.  He dialed the number for Mr Smythe.  “An operator’s voice came over the phone saying that it was non-working number.”  A look of concern came over his face.

“What is it?”  One of the bodyguards asked.

“I don’t know,” James responded as he dialed the number to restaurant where the meeting with Mr. Smythe was supposed to take place.

“Company,” A woman’s voice answered.

“I’d like to get a message to a Mr. Smythe,” James said.

The woman paused for a moment.  “I don’t see a reservation under that name,” she finally responded.

“What about the name Swift?”  He inquired.

There was silence for a second.  “I am sorry but I don’t see a reservation under that name either.”

James hung up the phone without responding.  “Turn around, we headed back to the Towers,” he ordered.  “Julia is in trouble.”

 

Back in James’s office, there was silence for a second.

“I never wanted to hurt anybody,” Bryan repeated.

“Then why did you keep sending Julia those threatening letters and emails?”  Deborah asked him.  “How was that supposed to make her feel?”

“You don’t understand,” Bryan said.

“You killed her landlord like your father killed my partner,” Deborah stated again.

“No, no, no,” Bryan exclaimed.   “Stop it!”

“How on earth did you think she was supposed to love you after all that?”  Deborah questioned him.

As she was speaking, the nervous Julia and Katherine moved closer to each other slipping on the rope and Deborah’s purse on the floor.

‘You don’t understand,” Bryan started to say.  “It wasn’t supposed to happen like that.”

“How was it supposed to happen?”  Deborah asked.  “And you were the one that put Sabrina Shaw up to telling all those lies about James to hurt Julia weren’t you?”

“Did you?”  Julia asked quietly.

Bryan just kept shaking his head back and forth.  “No, no, no, you don’t understand.”

“And then he killed her too, when she was going to tell the truth,’ Deborah stated.

“Would you shut up,” Bryan said to her.  “You are giving Julia the wrong idea about me.”

“Please don’t say any more,” Katherine told Deborah.  “We don’t want to make him mad.

Bryan stood there and looked at Julia for a moment without saying anything.  “You were supposed to get to know me with James out of the way,” he finally stated.    “You were supposed to see how I felt about you.  I know we could be happy together.”

A fearful Julia looked at him shaking her head back and forth.

“How could she when you kept threatening her and the man she loved?”  Deborah repeated.

“Deborah, please stop,” Julia whispered to him.  “I don’t want you to upset him.

Katherine sat there shaking.

Bryan thought for a moment and walked around the room.  “I never planned for those letters and emails to keep coming.    But you kept interfering.  You messed things up for me.  You messed up my plans for Julia and me.  If you had stayed out of the way, Julia and I would be happy right now.  I should have taken care of you a long time ago.”  As Bryan was speaking he held the gun out.

colt-mustang-xsp

Draper and April had arrived outside the law office to find it locked.

“What do we do now?”  April asked.  “Something is obviously wrong.”

“Julia gave me a key,” Draper told her as he dug into his pocket for it.

“Hurry,” April said to him.

As Draper got the door open, they heard a gun shot coming from James’s office.  Then they heard a women scream.

“That’s Julia,” April exclaimed.

Leave a Reply

