Cries in the Night: Chapter 57

At the law office, the Monticello PD were finishing up their latest visit to the place.  The cyber forensics team was leaving with Julia’s computer after she received another threatening email.

“I don’t think you will find any clues on it,” Julia stated.

“You didn’t find anything on the last one you took,” James noted referring to Katherine’s computer.

“We still have to try,” Guthrie told them.

“And you never know,” Chris stated.

“Where is Calvin?”  James asked.  “Isn’t Detective Guthrie and he partners now?”

Guthrie didn’t answer.

“He is coming to the precinct later to see me,” Chris replied.  Everyone was confused by the response but Chris didn’t want to elaborate.  She didn’t want to tell them that she had suspended Calvin for going over to William Church’s house alone to confront him over his father’s murder.

“Would you like for me to get you’ll some coffee or anything?”  Katherine asked the police.

“Thank you, but we are almost done,” Chris responded.

“Do you have anything new to report about him?”  James asked referring to Julia’s stalker.

“You know as much as we do,” Chris responded.  “We are working a lot of different angles.”

“So nothing new,” James lamented.  “Nothing is going right.  You’ll can’t get this guy.  And this place is starting to look less and less like a law office.”

“Stop talking like that,” Julia said to him.

“It’s true,” James said.  “With the failed DA campaign, and when is the last time we signed a new client?  Are they ever going to get his guy?”

“Yes, they will,” Deborah stated.

“And soon,” Julia added.

“Can I speak to you for a moment before you leave?”  Deborah inquired to Chris.

“Of course,” Chris answered.

Deborah followed Chris outside the office into hall.

“What is it?”  Chris inquired.

“What did you find out about the maintenance crew?”  Deborah asked.

“My officers don’t think they were involved,” Chris responded.  “They are going to look into Mr. Coleman and the maintenance man Barry further.  But we are extremely busy right now, and I don’t think either one of them is Julia’s stalker.  But we will get to them.”

Deborah looked at Chris as she walked out into the hall.  “I don’t agree with that.  One of them has to be involved.”

As Chris was walking down the hall her cell phone rang.  “This is Chief Egan,” she said as she answered.

“This is Dr. Drake,” Adam told her.

“Yes, Adam, how can I help you?”  Chris asked though she was puzzled by him saying the name Drake instead of Cavanaugh.

“I need to speak to you about Mr. William Church’s autopsy,” Adam informed her.

“What is it?”  Chris inquired.

“I’d like to show you,” Adam replied.

“I can come now before I go back to the station,” Chris told him.

“That would be fine,” Adam replied.

Deborah walked back into the office, and stood there for a second.

“What is it?”  Julia questioned her.

“I need to make a phone call,” Deborah informed.  “I’m going to use the phone in James’s office.”

“That is fine,” James responded.

“Is there something I can help you with?”  Katherine asked.

“No, I will be fine,” Deborah answered.

Deborah went into James’s office and closed the door behind her.  She picked up his phone and punched in a few numbers.  As she waited for an answer, she opened the desk drawer.  She looked at James’s gun.

“If you are going to keep this in here, you need to remember to keep this drawer locked,” she whispered.

“Maintenance,” a voice on the other end of the phone answered.

“”This is Detective Deborah Saxon with the Monticello PD,” Deborah lied.

“Yes, how can I help you?”  The voice asked.

“Is this Mr. Coleman?”  Deborah inquired.

“No, he is not here today,” the voice responded.

“Damn,” Deborah whispered to herself.

“Is there something else I can help you with?”  The voice inquired.

“Is Barry there?”  Deborah questioned.

“Yes, he just arrived,” the voice answered.

“Thank you, I will be right down to see him,” Deborah told the man on the phone.

Deborah went back into the other office to find James, Katherine, and Julia confused about her actions.

“What is it?”  Julia asked.

“I need to leave you for a few moments,” Deborah informed her.

“Why?”  Julia inquired.

“I want to go talk to the maintenance crew on my own,” Deborah explained.  “I believe they can help me prove who is behind this.”

“Who?”  James questioned her.

“Yes, do you know who it is?”  Katherine asked.

“Let me talk to the maintenance man first,” Deborah answered.  “You should be okay here with James and his body guards.”

“Of course she will,” James responded.

“Just don’t go off on your own until I get back,” Deborah told her.

“I never do,” Julia replied as Deborah left.

“Do you think you she knows who it is?”  Katherine inquired.

“From what I have been told, she was a great cop,” Julia stated.  “And I have no reason to doubt her.”

As Deborah left, the telephone in the office rang.

Katherine went to answer it but then stopped herself.

“What is it?”  James asked.

“It’s a blocked number,” Katherine informed him.  “Most of the calls from blocked numbers have been from the press.”

“That’s alright,” James responded.  “I talked to them last night, and I can talk to them again.  If it is them, then I will see if I can say something else to get this guy to show himself.”

“Swift and Associates,” Katherine said as she answered the phone.

“I know you want them to get this guy as bad as I do,” Julia started to say.  “But we still need to be careful in what we do.”
“Yes, Mr. Swift is here,” Katherine said into the phone.  “Can I ask what this is regarding?”  Katherine paused for a few moments and listened to what the caller had to say.  “I see,” she finally responded.  “Let me put you on hold for a second.”

“What is it?”  James asked.

“It’s a potential client about a case,” an excited Katherine answered.  ‘They want to talk to you about a class action suit against Spaulding Enterprises in Springfield.”

“Really?”  A shocked James replied.

“Yes,” Katherine answered him.

“I will take it in my office,” James responded.

 

Deborah went down to the basement of the Towers to the Maintenance office.  She knocked on the door, and a short blond man answered the door.

“I would like to talk to Barry?”  Deborah informed him. “I’m detective…”

The man cut Deborah off before she could finish what she was saying.

“Yes, detective Saxon,” the man said.  “I was the one talking to you just on the phone.  If you wait a second, I will get him for you.”

“Thank you,” Deborah replied.  As the man left the office, Deborah thought to herself.  “If he is involved in this somehow, I am going to get him to confess.”

A brief time later the man returned with Barry.  “You can speak in here, I will leave you alone.”  The man told them.

“Can I ask what this is about?”  A nervous Barry asked.

“I’m detective Saxon with the Monticello PD,” Deborah lied again.

“I see,” Barry responded.  “But I spoke to those other two officers yesterday.”

“That’s right, but some things have changed since yesterday,” Deborah stated.

“Changed how?”  Barry inquired.

“We are about to make an arrest in the Julia Scott stalker case,” Deborah said.

“Stalker?”  Barry questioned.

“Yes, you are aware that someone has been stalking, harassing, and threatening Ms. Scott, aren’t you?”  Deborah asked.

“I think I heard some people talking about that in the Towers before,” Barry responded.  “I thought that was just rumors.”

“And we believe both nights Ms. Scott was trapped in the elevator were due to her stalker,” Deborah told him.

“Both nights?”  Barry questioned.

“Yes, the other night when you left early because of your migraine, that was one of those the nights,” Deborah said.

“And I told those other officers, I had permission to leave that night, and we could not find anything wrong with the elevator,” Barry reminded her.

“And a couple months ago, when she was trapped all alone, you were supposed to be on duty as well that night,” Deborah lied since she was not sure he was on duty that night or not.  “Did you have another migraine that night as well?”

“It’s just a coincidence that I was supposed to work both those nights,” Barry replied.

Deborah face lit up when she heard his response.  Her lie had worked to prove that Barry was supposed to work both nights.

“You may not have been there those nights,” Deborah began to say.  “But you helped her stalker trap her in that elevator.”

“What?”  A shocked Barry questioned.

Outside the office, a shadowy figure was listening to them.  He looked around and saw a tool box on a table.  He went to it and pulled out a large wrench, and then went back to outside the office.

“You heard me,” Deborah told Barry.  “The question is when we arrest her stalker, are we going to arrest you as an accomplice?

“Accomplice?”  Barry repeated.  “I have nothing to do with any of that stuff that has been happening to her.”

“But you did help him trap her in that elevator,” Deborah stated.

Barry was silent for a second.

“So how involved were you with him?”  Deborah questioned him.  “Do you know what he had planned?  Did he pay you?”

Barry just shook his head back and forth.

“The answers to those questions could make a difference on how much jail time you get,” Deborah informed him.

“Jail time?”  A nervous Barry questioned.

The shadowy figure started to move toward the entrance of the office.

“I had nothing to do with any of that,” Barry stated.  “And I don’t know who is doing these things to Miss Scott.”

“I don’t think so,” Deborah countered.

“I’m am telling the truth, and I am done talking to you,” Barry shouted.  “I know my rights.  If you were telling the truth, we would be at the station right now.  I have to work do.  So please leave.  And if you every come back, I will have a lawyer with me.”

The shadowy figure walked around the corner and put the wrench into a duffle bag he was carrying.

“If that is the way want to leave it,” Deborah told Barry.  As she got the doorway, she turned around to face Barry again.  “If you are not guilty, then why do you need a lawyer?”

Barry was silent.

Deborah left the office, and headed to the elevators and then back upstairs.

“What have you gotten yourself into?”  Barry whispered to himself as he picked up his cell phone and dialed a number.

Immediately he heard ringing from outside the office.

The shadowy figure stood in the doorway holding his ringing cell phone.

“What are you doing here?”  Barry asked.

“I told you I would handle things,” Bryan responded as the office light revealed him as the shadowy figure.

“I’ve been visited by the cops the last two days,” Barry reminded him.

“She’s not a cop,” Bryan informed him.  “She lied to you.  She’s a former cop.”

“And she thinks I had something to do the stalking of Julia,” Barry stated.  “I heard rumors about that but I didn’t realize how bad things were for Ms. Scott.”

“She was fishing for clues and she didn’t find out anything,” Bryan told him.

“You said you just wanted to play a practical joke on someone and trap them in the elevator,” Barry mentioned.  “You gave me a few bucks and I helped you, but I had no idea that you were threatening her.”

“Calm down,” Bryan said to him.  “I am not the one threatening her.  I love Julia.  Deborah Saxon does not know what she is talking about.”

“But…” Barry started to say but Bryan cut him off.

“I told you to calm down,” Bryan repeated.  I will take care of everything.  Now relax and get back to work.  Okay?”

Barry stared at him for a second.  “Okay.”

“Good,” Bryan replied.  “I will check back on you later.  I’m going to go smooth things over with Deborah Saxon now.”

As Bryan left the office, he passed the table with the tool box on it.  He saw some rope under it.  He bent down and looked at it.  “You may prove useful.”  Bryan then put the rope in the duffle bag with the wrench.

Back in the maintenance office, Barry sat at the desk.  “Are you doing the right thing?”  He asked himself as he looked at the phone on the desk.

aprdra0527311962_1325366208_o

Across town, Draper and April were finishing up lunch at Mike and Nancy’s house.

“That was wonderful, thank you Nancy,” Draper said.

“Yes, it was,” April agreed.

“Splendid as always,” Mike added.

“What are your plans for the rest of the day?”  Nancy asked.  “And I must say you look the best I have seen since you arrived back in town.  Though you still look a little tired.”   She said to April.

“I still am having problems sleeping,” April stated.  “When I sleep I have those dreams, but after last night I have something else to focus on.  Out little girl is getting married.”

“Do they have a date picked out?”  Mike asked.

“No,” April responded.  “Julia wants to wait to set a date after her stalker is caught.  But that is not going to stop the planning.”

Mike and Nancy were not as excited as April and Draper.  For a moment April had forgotten that Julia had been engaged to Mike and Nancy’s grandson Victor previously.

“I’m sorry if this is hard for you to hear,” April said after she came to that realization.

“No, it is alright,” Nancy stated.  “We are happy for all of you.  I just hope Victor can find someone else.”

“So are you almost finished with the update on Geraldine’s biography?”  Draper asked changing the subject.

“My publisher keeps demanding more changes,” Nancy answered.  “He originally wanted it out to coincide with the election but that didn’t happen.  And know he keeps wanting me to add more Whitney stuff to it.”

“What do you mean?”  Draper inquired.

“He wants me to go into more detail on the lives of Colin, Keith, and Gordon,” Nancy informed him.

“Is that a problem?”  Draper questioned her.

“No,” Nancy replied.   “And now, he wants more on the antics of the current Whitney children Charlotte, Gordon and Geraldine’s namesake.  That has nothing to do with Geraldine.”

“What are you going to do?”  April inquired.

“I’m not sure,” Nancy answered her.  “I’m still waiting for Mike to get me that police report on Del and Geraldine’s car accident.  He keeps forgetting.  But I need to add that into it as well.”

“I’m sorry,” Mike said.

“I am trying to refresh my memory of it,” Nancy explained.

“So what are your plans for the rest of the day?”  Mike asked them.

“Actually, I have a surprise for April,” Draper informed them.

“Really?”  An excited April asked.  “What is it?”

“It’s a surprise,” Draper repeated.  “I need to take you there so I can show it to you.”

“That’s exciting,” Nancy said.

“When do I find out?”  April questioned him.

Draper thought for a second, and then looked at his watch.  “I guess we could go now.”

“Is that okay with you two if we leave?”  April asked.  “I don’t want to be rude.”

“No, not at all,” Mike responded.

“And please let me know what it is,” Nancy added.

 

Back at Didi’s apartment, Didi walked into her living room carrying two cups of coffee-one for her and one for Calvin.

“Are you sure you don’t have to get to work?”  Calvin asked her.

“I’m only a consultant with James and Julia,” Didi reminded him.  “I don’t have to go in at all.  You said you had something else you wanted to talk about so I am here.  Besides I don’t think James wants that many people at the office today with it being the day after the election.”

“I feel bad for him,” Calvin stated.  “I can’t believe he lost.  How is he taking it?”

“I haven’t talked to him about it,” Didi answered.  “It must be hard.  But stop changing the subject.”

“Alright,” Calvin said.  “I wanted to let you know that I ran into Nathan Gannon last night.”

Didi was silent for a second.  “What do you mean by ran into?”  She finally asked.

“We ended up at the same bar,” Calvin explained.  “And, I…, well we spoke for a little bit.”

“Really?”  A shocked Didi questioned.

“Well, he did most of the talking, and I sat there,” Calvin explained.

“I see,” Didi said.  “And?”

“I have heard a lot of things about him,” Calvin started to say.  “About the way he was in Capitol City, and in law school.  And a lot of them are not good.”

“I am aware of the way he used to be,” Didi stated.

“Well…” Calvin began but he couldn’t’ find the words.

“What are you trying to say?”  Didi inquired.

“How do you feel about him?”  Calvin asked.  “Do you love him?”

“Do you really want to know the answer?”  Didi questioned him.

“I think you just gave me the answer,” Calvin responded.  “Does he make you happy?”

“Yes, most of the time,” Didi responded with a laugh.

“I want you to be happy, mom,” Calvin responded.  “I really do.”

“Thank you,” Didi replied.

“It’s just not hard seeing you with someone,” Calvin started to say.  “It’s hard to see you with someone so much…”

“Younger,” Didi finished his sentence.

“Yes,” Calvin responded.

“Believe me, neither one of us saw this coming,” Didi told him.  “And I never wanted you to find out the way you did.”

“I believe you,” Calvin said.

“And I should have told you about him the first time we started dating back in Capitol City,” Didi stated.  “But I was scared of your reaction.”

“Understandable,” Calvin responded as he got up and looked at his watch.  “I have a meeting with the chief.  I should get going now.”

“Is she going to reinstate you?”  Didi asked.

“I hope so,” Calvin replied as he opened Didi’s front door to leave.  As he opened the door Nathan was standing on the other side.

The two man just stared at each other.

“Nathan, if you excuse me I need to get going,” Calvin said to him as Nathan moved to the side to let him pass.

“Good day,” Nathan said to him.  From the expression on his face you could tell Nathan was not sure what to say to Calvin.

“Okay,” Calvin stated as he walked to the elevator and shook his head.

Nathan then walked into the apartment and closed the door behind him.  “What was that about?”  A confused Nathan asked.

“I think he is coming around,” Didi responded.

“I’m glad,” Nathan told him.  “So does that mean things are good between us?”

Didi walked over to Nathan.  “I was mad out you for Calvin finding out about us the way he did.”

“And I am sorry about that,” Nathan said to her.  Nathan paused for a second.  “Was?”  He questioned.

“Yes,” Didi told him.  “I forgive you.”

Didi walked closer to him.  Nathan put his arms around her and they kissed.

 

Back at the law office, James was putting stuff in his brief case.  “As soon as Deborah gets back, I will taking my bodyguards and heading to Springfield to meet Mr….I can’t remember his name.”

“It was Mr. Smythe,” Katherine told him.

“Did he say what the class action suit was about?”  Julia asked.

“No, he didn’t want to go into specifics on the phone,” James responded.  “He said it was going to be big, and he wanted to meet first.  He sounded nervous.”

“Yes, he did,” Katherine agreed.  “And he sounded like he may have a cold or something also.”

Julia just stood there silent.

“What is it?”  James asked.

“Are you really going all the way to Springfield when you don’t know any more specifics?”  Julia asked him.

“What do I have to lose?”  James replied.  “We don’t have that many clients right now.  And how many are going to rush to a failed District Attorney candidate’s door.”

“I wish you wouldn’t talk like that,” Julia told him.

“I’m sorry,” James responded.  “It is just hard to think positive right now.”

“Even now that we are engaged?”  Julia questioned him.

“I’m sorry,” James replied.  “You know you are the best thing that has ever happened to me.  And I’m sorry if I don’t always show it.  You are going to make me the happiest man alive the day you marry me.”

“Oh, that’s so sweet,” Katherine said.

“Yes, it is,” Deborah agreed as she entered the front door.

“What did you find out?”  James asked changing the subject.

“Nothing,” A disappointed Deborah replied.  “I’m convinced the maintenance man Barry knows something.  I tried to trick him, but I couldn’t get him to admit to anything.”

“If you think he is involved, you should let the Chief know?”  James stated as he picked up his brief case.

“I will,” Deborah told him.  “And I don’t think he is Julia’s stalker but I believe he may know who is.”

“Then you should definitely, tell Chief Egan that,” James stated.

“Where are you going?”  Deborah asked as she saw James pick up his brief case.

“I have a meeting with a potential client in Springfield,” James informed her.  “I’m trusting Julia to your care.”  As James was walking to the door, he stopped for a second.  “I forgot where I am meeting, Mr. Smythe at?”

Katherine walked over to him, and handed him a piece of paper.  “It is a restaurant called Company,” she told him.  I have the number and address for it, and his number on this piece of paper.”

“Thank you,” James responded.  “You are the best.  What would I do without you?”

“Yes, you are,” Julia agreed.

“I will you see you tonight at the mansion,” James told Julia as he exited the office.

James met his bodyguards in the hall and the three of them headed to the elevator.  “We are headed to Springfield,” he said to them as they entered the elevator.

Around the corner, Bryan emerged.  “Excellent,” he said after overhearing James.  “Now what are you going to do about Deborah?” He said to himself as he walked toward the law office.

Back in the law office, Julia sat down at her desk and laughed.  “I forgot the police took my computer.”

“You can use the one in James’s office if you have to,” Katherine stated.

“I know,” Julia responded.  “But I really have no need to right now.  James was right.  We need to start focusing on bringing in clients.”

“Well, I will say this is the quietest this office has been since I have been here,” Deborah stated.

“That is true,” Julia agreed.  “There is actually only three of us here.”

“Will you father be joining us tomorrow?”  Katherine asked as the phone began to ring.

“I’m not sure,” Julia replied but Katherine didn’t hear the response as she had answered the phone.

“Swift and Associates,” Katherine said.  “Why yes, she is right here.”

Julia and Deborah took notice of the conversation.

“Can I ask who is calling?”  Katherine asked.  “Let me put you on hold for a moment.”

“Who is it?”  Julia inquired.

“It’s that maintenance man, Barry,” Katherine answered.  “He wants to talk to Detective Saxon.”

“Detective?”  A confused Julia asked.

“I will explain that later,” Deborah replied.  “I will take it in James’s office.”

Outside the office, Bryan stood by the door trying to hear what they were saying.  After Deborah went into James’s office and closed the door, he entered the law office.

“Bryan,” A shocked Julia exclaimed.  “I’m surprised to see you here.  How are you?”

“As good as can be expected,” Bryan responded.

“We are here for you, and will help you any way we can,” Julia told them.

“I know and I appreciate that,” Bryan said as he unnoticeablely put his hand into his duffle bad.  “You are really wonderful.”

“So what can we do for you?”  Katherine inquired.

“I really need to speak to Deborah,” Bryan told them,

“She is James’s office on the phone, but she should be back in a second,” Katherine responded.

“I really can’t wait,” Bryan said as he headed to James’s office.

In James’s office, Deborah was on the phone with Barry.

“I swear all he did was pay me to show him how to turn the power off to the elevator,” Barry informed.  “It was just supposed to be a harmless joke.  I had no idea what else he was doing.”

“I believe you,” Deborah told him.  “I am going to have the Monticello PD come back and you need to make a statement and tell that to them.”

Deborah’s back was to the door, so she could not see Bryan quietly enter and close the door behind him.  Deborah hung up the phone with Barry, and then grabbed her purse off the desk.  “Where is my cell phone?”  She whispered to herself.

Bryan quietly stood there watching her.

“I can’t wait to tell Chris,” Deborah started to say.  “I knew Bryan Church was Julia’s stalker.”

Bryan grabbed the wrench from his duffle bag and knocked Deborah over the head.

“Why did you have to be so nosy?”  Bryan asked as Deborah fell to the ground.

The sound of Deborah hitting the floor caught, Julia and Katherine’s attention in the other room.

“What was that?”  Katherine asked.

“I don’t know,” Julia replied as she walked toward James’s office.  “But I am going to find out.”

Before she got there, Bryan opened the door from the other side.

“Bryan, what is going on?”  Julia questioned him.

Bryan was silent for a second.  Then he lifted up his hand from behind the duffle bag.

“I’m sorry, Julia,” he said as his hand emerged holding the gun from James’s desk.

“Oh my God!”  Katherine exclaimed.

“Yes, this gun did get you rattled every time you saw it James’s office?  Didn’t it?”  Bryan asked.  “Just do as I say and no one will get hurt.”

Julia stood there in shock.  “What do you want?”  She finally questioned him.

“You,” Bryan replied.

Leave a Reply

