Cries in the Night: Chapter 56

When Lyle returned to the mansion from the Unicorn, he was greeted at the door by the guards.

“It has been awfully quiet here considering everything that happened tonight,” one of the guards told him.

“I will take quiet every time,” Lyle responded.

“Is anyone still up?”  Lyle asked.

“Geri has been in the living room,’ one the guards informed him.

“I figure she would be the one,” Lyle mumbled to himself.

“I thought she might be trying to sneak out again,” the other guard laughed.

“Good night,” Lyle told them as he entered the mansion.

As he closed the front door, the light in the living run was turned on by Geri.

“I figured you would be up waiting for me,” Lyle told her.

“There is not much else I can do, they won’t left me out of the mansion,” Geri stated.  “Hopefully now that the election is over, I can leave the grounds tomorrow.”

“Poor baby,” Lyle whispered to himself.

“What?”  Geri asked.

“Nothing,” Lyle responded.

“Well, give me the stuff,” Geri demanded.

Lyle reached into his pocket and pulled out the vile the man at the Unicorn had given him.

Geri’s face lit up when she saw it.  “Excellent.”

“What is it?”  Lyle inquired.

“Nothing to worry yourself about,” Geri replied.  “Just a little something to help me win my bet with Charlotte.

“I hope you know what you are doing,” Lyle told her as he turned to go up the stairs.

“Of course I do,” Geri responded.

There was small crack in the door between the kitchen and the living room.  “I don’t know about that,” Robert whispered as he looked through the crack.  “Every time you think you know what you are doing, it goes badly.  And how on Earth did you get my brother involved?”

 

 

The next day Mae walked into the squad room talking on her cell phone.  “I will see you tomorrow morning,” she said as she hung up the phone and sat at her desk.

Chris who was studying the murder board just shook her head at Mae.  She assumed she was talking to Dr. Hughes but did not want to make a big deal about it.

Matthew and Guthrie entered the squad room from the other side.

“Are we the only ones here?”  Mae asked.

Chris knew what she was talking about since Calvin was the only one not there.  Chris has suspended him after he had gone to talk to William Church alone.

“I just got off the phone with Calvin,” she informed.  “He will be here later, and we are going to talk.”

Matthew was noticeably unhappy about the reply.  He flash-backed to the night before when he went to visit Nikki and saw her with Calvin.

“So what’s the plan today?”  Guthrie inquired.

“You are going to work the Sabrina Shaw case with me,” She answered him.   “I know this has to be related to Julia’s stalker but I can’t prove it.  And I know the Whitneys blame her for James losing the election last night.  It’s the least we could do for them.”

“Any news on Mr. Church?”  Mae questioned her.

“No,” Chris replied.  “They are still performing his autopsy but I believe they will discover he died of a heart attack or natural causes.  They were no signs he was murdered like Ms. Shaw and Julia’s landlord Mr. Curtis.  So I don’t think it is related.”

“Poor James could not get a break,” Matthew uttered.

“But I still need you and Matthew to follow up on Mr. Church,” Chris informed them.
What do you mean?”  Mae asked.

“He is still our best suspect in the murder of Calvin’s father,” Chris explained.  “And as a good example to Calvin I am removing myself from the investigation.  So I am going to let you two do a follow up on it.”

“How are we going to do that if Mr. Church is dead?”  A confused Mae inquired.

“Talk to his son, Bryan,” Chris answered.  “Found out what he knows, if anything.”

“Do you think he knows something?”  Mae questioned her.

“That’s for us to find out,” Matthew responded.  “I never trusted him since we found out he was a member of the Gallahads.  And he obviously knew his father also belonged to the gang.  And he didn’t share that with us.  What else is he hiding?”

“Find out,” Chris ordered them.  “But tread lightly.  He did just loose his father.”

 

At the mansion, Sky was in his study with Gordon.

“So we have not made any progress in locating Preacher Emerson?”  Sky asked Gordon.

“No,” Gordon replied.  “Nothing has changed since last night.  I am not sure what else to do.”

“I know you are doing your best,” Sky replied.  “But I will have to go inform Jody and Jeremy of the progress.”

“And any news on Norman Garrison or the Golden Eagle Corporation?”  Sky inquired.

“No, dad,” Gordon answered.

“I don’t know what they are up to, but they are still trying to buy Whitney International Stock,” Sky informed him.

“Are we in trouble?”  Gordon inquired.

“No, my stock holders are too loyal,” Sky responded.  “They can try a hostile takeover all they want.  It’s not going to happen.”

“And I want you to find out who put Sabrina Shaw up to this,” Raven yelled from the entrance to the study.

“I am sure the police are working on that,” Gordon replied.

“But this cost your brother the election, and I won’t rest until we find out who did this,” Raven told them as she walked back the living room as she passed by Broomhilda.

“I do have other cases,” Gordon told Sky.

“And I am paying you,” Sky reminded Gordon.

“Okay, I will see what I can do,” Gordon said as he exited the study and met Broomhilda at the door.

“Other cases, I assume you mean Katherine Corey,” Broomhilda mentioned.

“Yes,” Gordon replied.  “I am going to find out what she is hiding and how she disappeared on us at the Mayfield Medical Complex.  We still don’t know why she was there.  I did a quick search and no one lives or works there has her last name.  So I am not sure what is the next step.”

After Gordon left the study, Sky closed the door and pulled a book off the shelf.  He took the baby picture out of it.  “I’m going to tell Raven about your today,” he whispered.  “I hope she can forgive me.”

Sky then put the picture back in the book and put the book on the shelf.  He exited the study and Raven was waiting by the door.

“It’s about time we have a talk about Alicia Van Dine,” she said to him.  “Don’t think I have forgotten.”

“I know,” Sky replied.  “And we will today.  But I have to talk to Jody and Jeremy first, and let them know we are having problems finding Preacher Emerson.”

“Really?”  Raven questioned him.  “What does that mean for Nikki?”

“It’s not good,” Sky responded.

 

Across town, Didi was gathering her things and preparing to leave for the law office.  “I can’t imagine how difficult it is going to be for James today,” she thought to herself.

As Didi opened her front door, she caught a glimpse of Julius in the hallway.  He was talking to someone but she couldn’t make out who.  She immediately closed the door and walked back into her apartment.  She did not watch to face Julius since she told him she could not see him anymore.

She stood there for a second.  “This is ridiculous.  You are acting like a child,” she said to herself.  “You two live in the same building.  You are going to keep running into him.”

Didi stepped back and looked at herself in the mirror on the wall.  “You can do this,” she said as she opened the door again.

“It was nice seeing you,” she heard Julius tell someone as he went back into his apartment.

“It was nice seeing you again as well,” the voice in front of her apartment replied back to him.

Didi looked up to see Calvin standing in front of her. “Calvin!”  The surprised Didi exclaimed.  “What are you doing here?  You haven’t been responding to my calls.”

“I know, and I sorry mom,” he told her.  “Can I come in?”

“Of course,” Didi replied.

“I guess you heard I think we finally know who killed dad,” Calvin stated as he walked into the apartment.

“Are you sure it is him?”  Didi inquired.  “I met him a few times.  And he didn’t’ seem like a killer to me.  And you think he would have had some kind of reaction being around the wife of the man he killed.”

“We may never know for sure now that he is dead,” Calvin informed her.

“With Chief Eagan in charge, I am surprised the case got this far,” Didi stated.

Calvin was not happy with Didi still being mad at Chris.

“You can’t keep blaming her for dad dying,” Calvin said to her.  “It wasn’t her fault.”

“I am glad you are here, but I don’t want to have that discussion again,’ Didi responded.  “Besides shouldn’t you be at work.”

Calvin sat there for a second and did not respond.

“What is it?”  Didi asked.

“I have been suspended,” he informed her.

“Suspended?” A confused Didi repeated.  “What did Chief Egan do to you?”

“It wasn’t her fault,” Calvin finally replied.  “When I found out that William Church may have been the man who killed dad, I went to confront him on my own.”

“You did what?”  An excited Didi asked.  “Do you know have crazy that was?”

“I know I wasn’t thinking clearly,” Calvin said.  “But when I got there he was already dead.  He probably died in his sleep.  We will probably never get any answers.”

“But you can put this behind you now and move on,” Didi stated.  “And stop ignoring me.  We could have had this discussion last night.”

“I’m sorry,” Calvin told her.  “I would have but I went to see Nikki last night.”

“And how was it?”  Didi inquired.

“I think we worked a lot of our issues out, and she is not going to Julliard,” Calvin informed her.  ‘But that’s not everything.”

“What do you mean?”  Didi asked.

“It’s her Paroxysmal Nocturnal Hemoglobinuria,” Calvin answered.  “She needs a bone marrow transplant from one of her parents, and Jody is not a match for her.”

“So Jeremy needs to give her bone marrow,” Didi stated.

“It needs to be from her father,” Calvin told her.  “Her birth father.  Preacher Emerson.”

Didi’s face lit up when she heard the name.

“I assume you know who he is,” Calvin said to her.

“Yes,” Didi responded.  “You don’t seem surprised that he is her father.”

“I remember Jody did seem to announce she was pregnant right after she and Preacher broke up,” Didi stated.  “But I didn’t pay attention much.  I had just found about I was pregnant myself.”

“How did Nikki take the news?” Didi inquired.

“She was shocked and mad at first,” Calvin answered.  ‘Which I guess is understandable.  But she is actually fine with it now.”

“Really?”  Didi questioned him.

“Yes,” Calvin responded.  “She understands they never intended to hurt her.  And Jeremy was always there for her.  It doesn’t matter if they don’t share DNA.  She will always consider him her father.”

“That girl is amazing,” Didi stated.

“Yes, she is,” Calvin agreed.  “But there is something else I wanted to talk to you about.”

“And what is that?”  Didi asked.

 

Julia, Deborah, and James all arrived at the law office together with James’s bodyguards in tow.  James was having mixed emotions as he was excited about his engagement to Julia but upset about the election loss.

James grabbed Julia’s hand as they entered the Towers.

“How romantic,” Deborah said.

“Yes,” Julia agreed.

“I’m not hiding my feelings for you from anyone anymore,” James stated.  “Let the whole world see.  And if he doesn’t like it, let him show himself.”  James was referring to Julia’s stalker.

Julia took her hand back away from James when after his statement.  “Is that the only reason you want to hold my hand?”

“Of course not,” James replied.  “But I am tired of this guy messing with our lives.  It ends now.  I want him caught so we can get married without any worries.”

“We are close,” Deborah told him.  “I can feel it.”

When the trio made their way to the elevator, they were joined by Katherine.

“How are you doing this morning, Mr. Swift?”  Katherine asked.

“Fine,” he responded.  “How can I not be now that this women has agreed to marry me?”

As they entered the elevator, James told his bodyguards to wait for the next car.  “Ms. Saxon is riding up with me.  I will be fine until you get there.”

“Is Mr. Scott, joining us today?”  Katherine inquired.

“No,” Julia responded.  “He’s going to spend the day with mom.  And I think he wanted to give us a chance to try to get back to normal at the office.”

“Whatever normal is,” James added.

“That’s too bad,” Katherine said.  “I know how much you enjoy him being here.”

Deborah just stood there silent looking at the exchange.

As they walked toward the office, Julia asked Deborah what she was thinking.

“I will tell you about it later,” Deborah answered.

“This is going to be the least crowded this office has been in a long time,” James told them as he unlocked the door.

“It’s going to be even less crowded,’ Julia said.  “I forget to tell you that Didi called.  She will be in later.  She is spending time with Calvin.”

“I can’t imagine what he is going through,” James stated.  “To finally find the man who killed your father after all these years.”

“So you believe Mr. Church did kill Calvin’s father?”  Katherine questioned him.

“It looks that way,” James responded.

“But I still think we should offer to help Bryan with the arrangements for his father’s funeral,” Julia stated as she sat down at her desk and turned on her computer.

“We can,” James replied.  “But now we need to focus on running a law office again.  And see how many clients a failed candidate for District Attorney can get.”

“James you can’t talk like that,” Deborah said to him.

“She’s right,” Julia agreed.

“But when is the last time we signed a new client?”  James asked.

“Oh my God!”  Julia exclaimed as everyone turned to look at her.

“What is it?”  Deborah questioned her.

“I got an email from him,” Julia answered.

“Oh no, not again,” Katherine said.

“What does it say?”  Deborah inquired as she walked over to Julia’s desk.

Julia turned the computer around to show everyone the screen.  “It bright red letters the screen said “You didn’t listen.  James Swift is a dead man now.”

JSs-516059959-570d34ae3df78c7d9e37e0bb

 

 

Across town, Jeremy, Jody and Beth were sitting in the living room of the Rhodes’ house.

“I didn’t get to see Nikki this morning, before she left for the foundation,” Beth stated.  “How was she?”

“As good as can be expected,” Jeremy responded.

“At least she and Calvin seemed to work things out,” Jody added.  “At least for now.”  As Jody was speaking there a knock at the door.

Jeremy got up to answer the door.

“Are we expecting someone?”  Jody asked.

“I forgot to tell you,” Jeremy started to say.  “Sky Whitney called to say that he wanted to come by this morning.”

“Could it be that he found Preacher?”  Jody inquired.

“I don’t know,” Jeremy responded as he opened the door to find Sky standing there.

“I need to talk to you two,” Sky informed him.

“Please join us in the living room,” Jeremy told him.

As Sky and Jeremy arrived in the living room, Beth got up to leave.  “I will give you all some privacy,” she said as she started to leave.

“If you are aware of everything that is going on, it would be better if you stayed,” Sky stated.

“She does and why?”  Jody answered.

“Let me explain,” Sky started to say.  “We have done everything we can to find Preacher.  Even with everything going on with my family, we have used all available resources.”

“And?”  Jody started to say.

“We can’t find any trace of him since he left Monitcello in December 1984,” Sky informed them.

“No, that can’t be,” Jody proclaimed as she hugged Jeremy.

“There has to be something else you can do,” Jeremy said.

“Yes, there has to be,” Beth agreed.

“Well, there is something you can do that might help,” Sky told Beth.

“Me?”  Beth questioned him.  “What could I do?”

“Talk to your sister,” Sky answered.  “She left town with him back then.  Do you know where she is?  She may be able to help us locate him?”

“Liz?”  Beth asked shaking her head referring to her sister.  “She returned to Monticello a few weeks after she left town with Preacher because they broke up.”

“I know,” Sky responded.

“And you’ll questioned her last time she tried to find him,” Beth stated.

“That’s right also,” Sky said.  “But she may remember something else now.  Do you know where she is?”

“Beth, do you?”  Jody asked.

Beth stood up from the sofa and walked around the room.  “Yes,” she finally answered.  “I know where she is.  She’s right here in Monticello.”

“Really?”  Jeremy questioned her.  “You never mentioned it.

“Because she never told me,” Beth informed them.  “She is apparently teaching Art at Monticello University.  One of my colleagues saw her there and let me know.”

“Art?”  Jeremy asked.  “I thought she was a paleontologist.”

“She was,” Beth answered.  “But she said my mother and I forced her to go into Science.  So she went back to school to study something she wanted-Art.  At Wellington College actually.    And now she is apparently teaching it.”

“Do you think you could talk to her about Preacher?”  Sky inquired.

Beth was hesitant to respond.

“Beth, please,” Jody pleaded.

“Alright,” Beth responded.

 

Bryan sat on his sofa in his apartment in the dark.  He was holding an 8 x 10 picture frame in his lap.  “I don’t know what to do know,” he said as he looked at it.  He laid it down next to him.  “I’m really lost without you.”

He stood up and walked around the room.  “What are you going to do, Bryan?”  He asked himself as his cell phone rang.

He picked it up off the end table and looked at it.  “What do you want?”  He asked as he answered it.

Someone on other line was obviously upset.

“Yes, I got your message,’ Bryan responded.  “And I told you not to worry about it.  You have nothing to worry about at all.”  As Bryan was speaking, there was knock at the front door.  “I need to go, someone is here,” Bryn informed them as he hung up the phone and walked to the front door.

Bryan opened the door to find Matthew and Mae standing there.

“The good old Monitcello P.D.,” Bryan stated sarcastically.

“Can we come in?”  May asked.

Bryan hesitated for a moment.  “What is this about?”

“You father,” Matthew answered him.

“That’s what I figured,” Bryan said.

“May we come in?”  Mae repeated.

“Not if you are going to accuse him of murder,” Bryan stated.  “That is why you are here isn’t it?”

“We need to ask you some questions,” Matthew informed them.

“You can ask them from right here,” Bryan told him.

“Can we come in just for a moment?”  Mae inquired.

“Not without a warrant,” Bryan told them.  “I know my rights.”

“You don’t have to make it this difficult,” Matthew said.

“Let me help you,” Bryan started to say.  “My father was a member of the Gallahads when he was younger.  I only found out about it once when my mother mentioned it in an argument she was having with him.  He spent hardly any time with that gang.  Once he got in trouble with the law for vandalism and shoplifting, he left them.  He even had his juvenile record sealed so I don’t know how you found out about that.”

Matthew and Mae were silent.

“You are looking for someone named Tommy,” Bryan stated.

“That was your father’s middle name,” Matthew reminded him.

“He never went by his middle name,” Bryan said.  “He may have not been the best father but he was no killer.  And that is all I can tell you about his time with the Gallahads.”

“Do you know anyone he hung around with back then?”  Mae inquired.

“Of course not,” Bryan answered.  “Now if you excuse me, I have a funeral to plan.  If you mention any of these baseless accusations in the press, I will sue.”

“Mr. Church,” Matthew started to say but Bryan cell phone started to ring again.

“I need to take that,” Bryan said as he closed the door.

“What do we do now?”  Mae asked.

“I don’t know if there is much more we can do,” Matthew told her.  “Maybe he will calm down after the funeral, and we can try talking to him again.”

 

At morgue, Adam arrived to find Dr. Bauer looking over the notes on William Church’s body from the previous day.

“Did you start without me?”  Adam asked jokingly.

“No, why should I have all the fun,” Dr. Bauer replied.  “I just reviewing the notes from yesterday.  Unless we find something new today I think we agree that time of death is around late afternoon or early evening the day before yesterday.”

“Yes,” Adam stated.  “With any luck we may be finished around lunch time.”

“Do you have lunch plans?”  Dr. Bauer asked.

“Yes, I was thinking taking Katherine to lunch,” Adam answered.  “Now that the election is over, she shouldn’t be as busy.”

“I was sorry to hear that her boss lost the election,” Dr. Bauer stated as he removed the sheet from William’s body.

“Yes, but she seems alright about it,” Adam said as he looked at William’s tattoo on his wrist.  The squiggly letter “G” in the circle.

“You said that was a gang symbol,” Dr. Bauer noted as he wrote it on a clipboard.

“Yes,” Adam replied.  “And it may link him to that cop’s murder all those years ago.  I don’t know if they will ever know for sure.  What do you think?”

Dr. Bauer was silent for a second.

“Dr. Bauer?”  Adam repeated.

“Look at his neck,” Dr. Bauer finally responded.

Adam stopped looking at William’s tattoo and looked at his neck.   “What are those red marks?”  He asked as he saw two marks on both sides on his throat.

“We won’t know for sure until we finish the autopsy,” Dr. Bauer.  “But that could be a sign that he was strangled.”

“And if that is the true,” Adam began to say.  “Then Mr. Church didn’t die of natural causes or a heart attack.  He was murdered.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 57

Leave a Reply

