Cries in the Night: Chapter 43

At the Whitney mansion, Sky was still being silent for a moment.  He had just told Raven that he had not told her everything about Alicia.  He was trying to choose his words carefully.

“What else do you have to tell me?”  Raven questioned him.  “Did she threaten our family or not?”

“We don’t need all these bodyguards,” Sky informed her.

“What?”  A shocked Raven asked.  “Then why have you been sending her money all these years?  Did she not threaten us?”

“Yes, there was a threat and it’s complicated,” Sky answered.

“What is?”  Raven inquired.

“You are confusing me,” Raven told him.  “I want to know what all this is about and I want to know now.”

“I don’t know where to start,” Sky said, as he got up and walked around the room.

“How about at the beginning,” Raven suggested.

“Which beginning?”  Sky mumbled.  “It was the day after Calvin Stoner’s funeral.  I was leaving the old Whitney Enterprises, and Gunther had the limo waiting outside.  I climbed into the back seat and sat down.  The only thing was we never moved.”

“And?”  Raven asked him obviously losing patience.

“The window rolled down between the front and the back seats, and Alicia was sitting in the driver’s seat,” Sky explained.

“And what did you do?”  Raven inquired.

“I wanted to call the police,” Sky answered.  “She was a wanted criminal after all.”

“That’s true,” Raven stated.  “So why didn’t you?”

“Because she told me that she needed my help, and after I listened to what she had to say, that I would help her,” Sky replied.

“And that is when she threatened to have our family killed if you did not help her escape?”  Raven questioned him.

“You see…” Sky started to say but was stopped by the front door of the mansion opening.

“Mr. Whitney have someone at the gate causing a scene,” a guard told him.

“Who is?”  Sky asked.

“It’s me,” Jeremy shouted as he entered followed by another guard.

“I’m sorry, I couldn’t hold him,” the second guard explained.

“What is going on?”  Sky asked.

“I’ll tell you what is going on,” Jeremy shouted as Jody came running in the room.

“You need to calm down,” she told Jeremy.

‘Not after what she did,” Jeremy replied as he looked at Raven.

“What do you mean?”  Raven asked as she stood up from the couch.

“Yes, what did you mean?”  Sky asked.

Jeremy paused from a moment as he looked at the guards.  “Can we get some privacy?”  He asked Sky as he nodded to the guards.

“Gentleman, can you please return to the gate,” Sky told the guards.

“Are you sure it is okay,” one of the guards asked.

“Yes, we will be fine,” Sky answered.

“Not that it matters much after what your wife has done,” Jeremy stated as the guards left.

“What does that mean?”  Raven inquired.

Jeremy looked at Jody, and then looked at Sky.  “Your wife told Angela Rhomer that I am not Nikki’s biological father, and now she is black mailing us.”

“What?”  Sky exclaimed.

“That other news anchor?”  Raven asked.  “I must certainly did not.  I never told her or anyone.”

“Then how did she find out?”  Jeremy demanded.

“Did you say something?”  Sky asked Raven.

“Of course not,” Raven yelled at him.  “I told you I never told anyone, and I never was going to tell anyone.”

“You haven’t had anything to do with her?”  Jody questioned her.

“She has been pestering me,” Raven answered.  “She knows you have a secret.  And she promised to be kind to James on the news if I told here.  But I never told her anything.  I told her there wasn’t anything to tell.”

“I don’t know if I believe that,” Jeremy responded.

“Me too,” Jody agreed.

“I’m telling the truth,” Raven told them as she picked up her purse.

“What are you doing?”  Sky asked.

“We are going to go to WMON, and get to the bottom of this,” Raven answered.  “And we are going to show Angela Rhomer she can’t mess with the Whitneys and get away with it.”

 

At the police shooting range, Mae and Chris were each in a booth shooting at targets.  Mae easily hit all of her shots on the target.  She took off her ear phones and exited the booth to find Chris waiting for her.

“Good work,” Christ told her.

“Thanks,” Mae replied.  “And I appreciate you sharing all that with me.”  Mae was referring to Chris recalling Calvin Sr.’s murder to her.

“I just want you to understand that I know what you are going through,” Chris said to her.

“I do, and thanks again,” Mae stated.

“Are you ready to go to the next room?”  Chris asked.  Chris was referring to the other room with the moving targets, and where all the targets were not criminals.”

“Yes,” Mae answered with a sigh.  Mae was remembering her bad performance in the room last time.

“Just relax, you can do it,” Chris told her.

Mae entered a booth in the other room, and put on ear phones.  She took a deep breath, and then pushed a button to start the targets moving.  She fired at the targets on the range.  Then when they started to move faster she hesitated like she did the first time.  But then she started firing again.  She was doing better but then in her head she saw her former partner Larry.  She heard him calling out to her.  “Madison, Madison.”  Mae then stopped.  She realized that she had hit one of the targets that was an innocent bystander.  “Dam it,” she exclaimed as she put the gun down.

“It’s alright,” Chris told you.  “You did better this time.”

“I still messed up,” Mae stated.  “I thought after all my sessions with Dr. Hughes, I would be able to do this.”

“You are making progress,” Chris told her.  “It is just going to take more time.  You are talking about it more, and that is a big step. “

“But what happens if I have another incident like I did at the hospital?”  Mae asked as she reminded Chris how she was hesitant to pull her gun when Suzanne was in James’s hospital room.

“One thing at a time, and one day at a time,” Chris told her.  “You are making progress.  And that is why we all have partners.  You never go into a situation by yourself.  You always have your partner there to back you up.”  As she was speaking Chris got a text message.

As Chris was picking up her phone to look at the message, Mae received a text as well.   They each looked at the message.

“I guess we are headed to James’s Swift law office,” Chris stated.

“It says this time it is a threatening email and not a letter,” Mae mentioned.

‘Yes,” Chris said.  “We need to make sure there is a cyber forensics team meeting us there.”

as-seen-on-wdsu-jpg

At WMON, Angela was walking throw the studio as she caught Martin taking his time getting out a chair.

“Are you okay?”  She asked him.

“I’m stiff just a little sore from surgery,” Martin answered.  “I appreciate the concern.  If you come over tonight and give me a massage.  It might make me feel better.”

“Not tonight,” Angela responded as she caught a glimpse of Jody entering the studio followed by Jeremy, Sky and Raven.

“I wonder what all of that is about,” Martin mentioned to her.

Angela didn’t respond.  She recalled her conversation earlier with Jeremy where she had lied and said that Raven had told her that Jeremy was not Nikki’s father.  She didn’t tell Jeremy that she had been eavesdropping on Jeremy’s phone call with Jody.

“I need to go,” Angela said to Martin as she started to walk away.

“You are not going anywhere,” Raven yelled at her which caught everyone in the studio’s attention.

“Raven, not so loud,” Sky said to her.

“We need to talk in private,” Jody said to her.

“Whatever you have to say, you can say right here out in the open,” Angela told them.

“Trust me you don’t want that,” Raven stated.

Martin nudged Angela and shock his head.

“Fine, we can go in Jeremy’s office,” Angela responded.  “But this can’t take long.  I actually do work here unlike some people.”

Jeremy, Jody, Sky, and Raven followed Angela into Jeremy’s office as Martin stayed in his chair.  “I hope she knows what she is getting herself into,” Martin whispered to himself.

“Why the hell are you spreading lies about me?”  Raven yelled at Angela once the door was barely closed.

“I don’t know what you are talking about,” Angela feigned.  “We have become such good friends.”

Jody and Jeremy looked at each other, it was obvious that they believed what Angela way saying.

“Enough,” Raven exclaimed.  “Do you know who you are dealing with?  We could buy this station in a heartbeat.  And the first thing I would do is kick your sorry butt to the curb.  And we can make sure you never have any kind of broadcast career ever.”

Angela yawned at what Raven was saying.

“Why you,” Raven started to say but Sky stopped her.

“You need to calm down,” Sky said to Raven.  “But she is serious.  I could ruin you in a heartbeat.”

Angela stood there for a second.  “So what is it exactly that you want?”  She finally responded.

“The truth,” Raven answered her.  “That I never told you that Jeremy was not Nikki’s father.”

Angela stood there for a moment.  She was really nervous about what Sky and Raven had said to her but she did not want to show it.  “So maybe I didn’t hear it from Mrs. Whitney.  It doesn’t change anything.  I still found out, and if there isn’t any changes around here.  I’m going to have to left Nikki know.”

“You miserable bitch,” Raven said to her.

“Takes one to know one,” Angela replied.

“Enough,” Jody started to say.  “Your threat is useless.  We have to tell Nikki the truth anyway.  Nikki is sick.  And she needs a bone marrow transplant from her father.”

“Her biological father,” Jeremy stated.

“You’re bluffing,” Angela said.

“No we’re not,” Jeremy responded.

“Unlike you I wouldn’t resort to something like that.” Jody told her. “I will probably be missing a lot work over this.  And if you would have just kept your mouth shut you could have filled in for me.  But now there is no way that is ever going to happen.”

Angela showed no emotion to what Jody was saying.

“Now get the hell out of my office,” Jeremy said to Angela.

Angela didn’t say anything.  She just started to leave.

“And watch your back,” Jeremy told her.  “One mistake, and you are out of here.”

“If you last that long,” Sky stated.

“What?”  A confused Raven asked.

“I think I just may look into buying the station back, and showing Ms. Rhomer the door,” Sky informed them.

After the door was closed, Jeremy looked at Sky.  “Thanks,” he said.

“I am serious,” Sky responded.  “I am going to try to buy the station back.”

“Is it true about Nikki?”  Raven asked.

“Yes,” Jody replied.  “She has Paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria.”

“It’s a rare disease, but it curable,” Jeremy explained.  “She needs a bone marrow transplant.”

“And I am not a match for her,” Jody stated as she started to cry.

“That’s why we have to find Preacher,” Jeremy informed them.

“I’m sorry,” Raven said to Jody.  “I really am.  I’m sorry about all of it.  I know how you can feel hopeless when you are unable to help your child.  But we can change that.”

“What do you mean?”  Jody asked.

“Let us find Preacher for you,” Raven told her.

“Yes,” Sky agreed.  “It is the least we could do.”

Jody was hesitant to respond.  “But you have tried before without any luck,” Jody finally stated.

“But that was long time ago,” Sky said.  “The world has changed.  We have an internet now.  There has to be a trace of him out there.

 

Outside the office, Angela’s true emotions started to show.  She was fearful of their threats.

Martin walked over to her.  “What happened in there?”  He asked her.

“That’s not important,” Angela told him.  “They threatened me, and now I am going to fight back.”

“So you are going to tell Nikki that Jeremy is not her biological father?”  Martin inquired.

“No, I wasn’t talking about them,” Angela said to him.  “I mean the Whitneys.  I know you said to wait but it is time that all of Monitcello finds out that James Swift likes to hire hookers.”

“Are you sure?”  Martin asked her.

“Yes,” Angela responded.  “Let’s make sure it makes the 5’o’clock news.  And we need to make sure Jody and Jeremy don’t find out ahead of time.”

“That won’t be a problem,” Martin told her.  “I will be in the control room.  I will add it to the program after the newscast has started.  Though some people will look at like you are kicking at sick man while he is down.”

“Oh, if I could only see the Whitney faces when this airs,” Angela told him as she laughed.  “No one threatens me and gets away with it.”

 

Chris and Mae walked into the Whitney Towers to go to James’s law office where they ran into Matthew.

“I spoke to Guthrie, and he is on his way with a cyber forensics team,” Matthew informed.

“That’s great,” Mae responded.

“But he hadn’t heard back from Calvin,” Matthew told them.

“Oh, I hope he didn’t do something stupid and go talk to Nathan Gannon on his own,” Chris said.

“Well, he is his mother’s boyfriend, he could have went see him on a personal visit,” Mae mentioned.

“Still not a good idea,” Chris stated.

As they walked into the law office, Julia was seated next to her father Draper who had his arms around her consoling her.  William and Bryan were off in a corner working at a desk surrounded by campaign literature.

“When are they going to release you?”  William who was on his phone asked.  He was obviously talking to James.  “We need to get you on TV so the public can see that you are alright.”

“Hi chief,” Deborah said to Chris who was by Katherine’s desk.  “He’s always all business.” Deborah told Chris when she realized she was looking at William.

“I haven’t touched the computer since I opened the email,” Katherine informed them.

“That’s good,” Mathew stated.  “We have a forensics team that will need to take the computer to see if they can trace where the email came from.”

“I hope you are able to,” Deborah said.  “But this guy has been smart about everything else and we haven’t been able to catch a break yet.  He never leaves any traces of himself.”

“Sooner or later, he will slip up,” Mae stated.

“I hope you are right,” Draper said.

Chris went to Katherine’s desk and looked at the computer screen.  On the screen in bright red letters it read-“I warned you to stay away from James Swift.  You didn’t listen.  Now he is going to have to die.”

“He escalated again,” Matthew noted.  “He now says he is actually going to kill James.”

“And what are you going to do about it?”  An upset Julia inquired.

“We have him protected,” Chris reminded her.  “No one is going to get to him.”

“He also knows that you went to see him since the last letter,” Matthew stated.  “That means he is able to keep tabs on you or James or both of you.”

“I have been overly cautious,” Deborah informed them.  “I haven’t noticed anyone following her.  And I haven’t noticed anyone out of the ordinary around her.”

“Will you be releasing the contents of the email to the press?”  William asked.

“I’m not sure,” Chris answered him.

“Darn,” William responded.  “If the public knew about the death threat, James could go up even further in the polls.”

“Mr. Church!”  Draper and Julia exclaimed.

“He’s not thinking clearly,” Bryan said.  “He’s under a lot of stress from the campaign.”

“I know what I am saying,” William corrected him.  “Everything is fair in a campaign.  You need use whatever you can.”

“Dad,” Bryan started to say as he walked over to William but as he moved he knocked a coffee mug off the desk and onto William’s chest.

“You idiot,” William yelled at him.  “Excuse me, I need to get cleaned up.” William announced as he left the office.

As William left, Guthrie was entering with a cyber forensics team.

“The computer is over here,” Mae told them.

“Still no word from Calvin?”  Chris asked him.

“No, and that is not like him,” Guthrie replied.

“Weill, I’m sorry this must have cut short your lunch with your mother,” Chris told him.

“Mother?”  Deborah took notice of what Chris had said.

“Yes,” Guthrie replied.  “But I think she is used to it.  She was married to a cop.  I think they may have even been a reason for their divorce because he always had to run off somewhere.”

“Divorce,” Deborah whispered to herself.  Deborah took notice because Guthrie’s father was her ex-boyfriend.

“I’m not going to let these threats stop me from seeing James,” Julia announced.  “I need to see him tonight to make sure that he is alright.”

“We can go after work again,” Deborah told her.

“I can go too, if you want,” Draper said to her.

“Thanks but that okay,” Julia responded.  “Charlotte called me and she wants to go tonight as well.  I think they will enough visitors for him tonight.”

“The email came into the office email account,” Katherine informed the forensics team.  “I had never seen the address before.  The headline said campaign donation so I opened it.”

“You didn’t do anything wrong,” Mae said to her.  “But like Matthew said this guy is escalating.  He didn’t want to wait for the mail to send his threat, he wanted it to arrive as soon as possible.”

“I am going to talk to a profiler,” Chris stated.  “We need to update our profile on this guy.”

Katherine got up from the chair she was sitting in, and picked up the coffee pot.  “I’m sorry I just can’t sit here and do nothing.  If anyone wants coffee, I can make a fresh pot,” she offered.

“That would be fine,” Draper said.  “Thank you.”

“It’s no trouble,” Katherine responded.  “Julia is so lucky to have you here.   Katherine left the office and went down the hall to the kitchen.

Mae went over to Chris.  “I just thought of something,” she whispered to her.

“What is it?”  Chris asked.

“With the way Mr. Church has been acting, do you think he could be behind all this?”  Mae questioned her.  “What if all of this is just for publicity to help James get elected?”

“I’ve been kind of wondering that myself,” Guthrie stated as he got wind of their conversation.  “And he supposedly has a juvenile record.”

As she neared the kitchen Katherine could hear the sink running.  As she stood by the entrance, she saw William standing by the sink.  He had on a t shirt.  He had taken off his shirt and was washing the sleeve in the sink.

“Idiot son of mine,” he mumbled.  “Doesn’t he know how much this shirt cost?”

Katherine took notice of William’s exposed wrist.  She saw the tattoo of the squiggly letter G in the circle.  The symbol for the Gallahads.  The one that Chris had remembered seeing on Calvin’s killer’s wrist.

“Oh my,” Katherine whispered to herself.

 

Across town, Calvin was walking on the street outside the foundation.  He was ignoring his pages.  He was still in shock from discovering the pregnancy test in Nikki’s trashcan.  “She’s pregnant,” he whispered to himself.  “Now what are we going to do?”

He picked up his phone and started to call Nikki.  “That’s not going to do any good,” he said.  “You are ignoring me.”  As he walked towards his car before he got in, he caught the sign of the shop across the street.    In huge gold letters, it read “Jewelry.”

He walked across the street and looked at all the rings in the window.  “I may not be able to afford much on a cop’s salary, but I think Nikki would like that one,” he said looking at the small diamond ring in the corner.

As Calvin was about to enter the jewelry store, he heard a scream coming from down the street.

“Help, he’s got my wallet,” a man’s voice yelled from the ground down the street.

Calvin turned to see that the scream came from a man on the ground.  He then saw another taller man, pushing his way through the crowd as he ran closer to Calvin.  As the man came closer, Calvin prepared for him.

When he passed by Calvin, Calvin tackled him to the ground.  Calvin had the man on the ground and was kneeling on top of him.  “You are under arrest,” Calvin announced as he started to handcuff the man.

“Oh, Detective Stoner, thank you,” a man’s voice said from behind Calvin.

Calvin turned to see the grey haired clerk with the big ears from the police department.  He had been the man who was mugged.

 

Over at Mike and Nancy’s house, Nancy was typing away on her computer as she updated her biography of Geraldine.  “I really don’t know how much I can put in about her and Del’s  automobile accident,” she stated.  “I don’t remember the details all too well since it was so long ago.”  When she didn’t get a response, she looked up from behind her computer.

April Scott had fallen asleep on the sofa.

“Poor thing, you need your rest,” Nancy whispered to herself as Mike walked into the room.

Mike started to say something but Nancy cut him off.

“Sh…sh…sh,,” she said to him.  “We should let her sleep.  She hasn’t been getting much rest at night with all her dreams.”

“Well, I took care of dinner,” Mike informed Nancy.

“I’m sorry,” Nancy told Mike.  “I have been just so side-tracked with all these revisions my publisher wants on Geraldine’s biography.  I may try to get a copy of the police report on her and Del’s car accident.  I can’t recall all the details.”

“That shouldn’t be a problem, I sure they still have it on file on it somewhere,” Mike stated.

“Laurie and Victor should be getting here soon,” Nancy told him.

“They seem to be getting along better,” Mike mentioned.  “But I know he is worried about the election.”

“And I don’t know what we can do to help him about that,” Nancy said as a cry came from the sofa.

“No!”  April exclaimed as she woke up from her sleep.

“What is it?”  Mike asked as he and Nancy went over to her.

“Another dream,” April answered.  “Every time I go to sleep, another terrible dream.”

“What was it?”  Nancy inquired.

“It was about Julia and the gun again,” April informed.  “Except this time, I saw it more clearly.  The gun was aimed at Julia when it went off.”

“Oh my,” Nancy said as she hugged April.  As she hugged April she turned to look at Mike.  It was obvious the two were unsure how to console April.

 

Across town, Gordon and Broomhilda had put out the last of the yard signs as they got back into his car.

“I hope James’s appreciates all the time, I have put into this for him,” Gordon stated.

“I’m sure he does,” Broomhilda told him.

“I really need to find more detective work,” he said to her as his phone rang.  As he picked it up, he saw Geri’s name on the caller ID.  “Hello,” he said enthusiastically as he answered.

“I hope that is not the way you talk to all of your clients,” Geri responded.

“What do you want?”  Gordon asked.  “I’m tired it’s been a long day.”

“I just want to make sure you are following Katherine tonight,” Geri answered him.

“I really don’t have time to follow her and Adam tonight,” Gordon replied.

“She’s not going to be with Adam tonight,” Geri stated.  “That’s is why you are going to follow her.  I know she is cheating on him.”

“How do you know that?”  Gordon asked.  He didn’t reveal that he heard Katherine earlier in the day say that she was not going to be with Adam that night.

“I have my sources,” Geri responded.  “And that is something you should have found out on your own.  I am paying you after all.”

“She tricked his secretary at the hospital into revealing Adam’s schedule to her again,” Robert yelled in the background.

“Enough,” Geri hollered back at Robert.  “Now you get over the law office and follow Katherine as she leaves work,” Geri ordered him.  “Of course, you don’t have to, and then I could tell Daddy how you messed up his meeting with Norman Garrison.”

“Alright,” Gordon let out with a sigh.

“That’s more like it,” Geri told him.  “And while you do that, I have my own plans for Adam.”  As Geri hung up the phone, she was standing in the hallway outside Adam’s office at the hospital.

 

Back at Mike and Nancy’s house Victor and Laurie had arrived.

“I’m glad you decided to come,” Laurie said to Victor who was sending a text on his phone.  “I know you grandparents really love these family dinners.”

“Um ha,” Victor mumbled not paying attention to Laurie.

“Is something wrong?”  Laurie asked.

Victor finished sending his text.  It was a message to Suzanne that read, “Make this meeting with James count.”  He then put his phone in his pocket.  “Besides the election,” he said finally answering Laurie’s question.

“You mustn’t think that way, there is still time,” Laurie said to him as she entered the door to the house.

“Unless my new strategy pays off, I will be out of the D.A.’s office,” Victor told her.

“New strategy?”  Laurie asked.  “Are you referring to the new ad?”

“And do you know what was wrong with Nathan today?”  Victor asked ignoring Laurie’s question.  “I need to have him focused.”

“He had a fight with Didi last night,” Laurie informed him.  “He was upset.  He was going to go see her tonight.  I hope they can work things out.  So what is the new strategy?”

Before Victor could respond to her comment, the two of them noticed Mike and Nancy comforting the obvious upset April.

“What happened?”  Laurie questioned them.

“I really don’t want to get into that now,” April responded as she wiped the tears from her eyes.

“Mrs. Scott, are you sure?”  Victor inquired.

“Yes,” April responded.  “I haven’t seen you since…”April stopped herself midsentence.

“You mean since Julia broke up with me,” Victor said finishing it for her.

“I’m sorry,” April stated.

“It’s alright, I hope to change all that,” Victor told her.  “Are you sure everything is okay with you?”

“Yes,” April said.

“Why don’t we turn the TV on,” Mike said.  “Dinner is warming up.  Would you like to join us, April?”

“Why thank you,” April responded as Nancy turned on the television.

The news was on the screen.  Jody was reporting on a traffic accident.

“We just missed all the traffic caused by that on our way here,” Laurie noted.

“I don’t know if I really want to watch the news right now,” Victor told them.

“Now for our next story, Angela Rhomer has an exclusive interview,” Jody started to say.  She paused for a moment because she hadn’t seen the story before the broadcast.

On the set, Angela just smiled.  “I wish I could see the Whitneys faces now,” she whispered to herself.

Jody continued reading from the teleprompter which lead to Angela interview with Sabrina Shaw from the hotel.  In the story Sabrina repeated what she had told Angela.  She was a call girl from the Garden of Eden escorts and that James had been hiring her since Charlotte’s trial.

Jody was noticeably shocked by the revelation on the television screen.

“Oh my God” April exclaimed in the living room.  “I wonder if Julia is seeing this.”

“Now this is a real game changer,” Victor said as he smiled off to the side as Laurie stared at him.

Leave a Reply

