Cries in the Night: Chapter 41

 

At WMON, Angela entered Martin’s office to find him buttoning his shirt.

“Did I interrupt you?”  Angela asked sarcastically.

“I was just checking to see if I might get a scar from the surgery,” Martin replied.  “I appreciate the concern.”

Angela laughed at his comment.  “What did you have done anyway?”

“It was just a little minor surgery, nothing to worry about,” he answered her.  “Did you need something?  Or can I do something for you?” Martin asked but from his manner you could tell he was making sexual over tones.

“That’s not why I came here,” Angela told him.  “It is almost time for the Noon newscast, and Jody is nowhere to be found.  Nevins is at the desk by himself.  Do you know what is going on?”

“No,” Martin responded.  “But let me go find out what is going on?”

They exited the office and went toward the news desk.  Anchorman Nevins was seated there looking over some copy.

“Where is Jody?”  Martin asked him as he got closer to him.

“She called and said that she is not going to make it,” Nevins informed him.

“Then Angela should be doing the newscast with you at least,” Martin told him.

“Jeremy said for me to do it alone,” Nevins explained to him.

“Well, Mr. Rhodes is not the only news producer here anymore,” Martin stated.  “And I…”  Nevins cut Martin off before he could finish what he was saying.

“You call and discuss it with him,” Nevins said.   “I don’t have time to deal with this right now.  The telecast is going to be short, and I need to find something to fill in the time.  And I can’t use one of Monticello’s Most Wanted Segments because they have been deleted from the server.”

Martin and Angela both stared at each other as he spoke.  Each of them had accused the other of deleting the Monticello Most Wanted segments.

“I will see what Jeremy has to say,” Martin said to Nevins but as he picked up his cell phone, he noticed Angela was already off to the side on the phone.  Martin ran over to her.  “What are you doing?”  He asked her.

“I’m handling it,” Angela informed him.  “It’s about time Jody knows there are going to be some changes around here.”

Across town, Jody and Jeremy were leaving Dr. Samuel’s office.

“How do we go about finding Preacher?”  Jody asked him.  Jody was referring to her ex-boyfriend, Preacher Emerson who was Nikki’s biological father.

“We are going to have hire a private detective,” Jeremy answered her.

“We did that before, and it did not help us,” Jody reminded him.  “They couldn’t track down after I found out I was pregnant.  And then again, when we tried to find him after Del and Geraldine died.”

“That was a long time ago,” Jeremy stated.  “Times have changed.  There wasn’t even an internet back then.”

“What if we can’t find him?”  Jody asked as her phone rang.

“Don’t think like that?”  Jeremy responded as Jody looked at her phone.

“It’s the station,” she told Jeremy as she answered the phone.

“I don’t know why they are calling us,” Jeremy wondered.  “I already called Nevins and told him that we were not going to make the Noon newscast.  He should be doing it by himself.”

“This is Jody,” Jody said as she answered her phone.

“And this is Angela,” Angela informed her as she heard Jody’s voice.

“Angela,” a shocked Jody exclaimed.  “What do you want?”

“I discovered that you are not going to make it back for the Noon newscast,” Angela informed her.  “I should be the one doing it, and not Nevins.  Or at least I should be doing it with him.”

“What does she want?” Jeremy inquired.

“Angela, I really don’t have time for this right now,” Jody replied as she took the phone away from her ear, and covered the receiver with her hand.  “She wants to do the Noon newscast,” Jody whispered to Jeremy.

“What?”  Jeremy questioned her loudly.   “Give me the phone.”

“Okay, but calm down,” Jody told him as she handed him the phone.

“Angela, this is Jeremy Rhodes,” Jeremy started to say.   “Now you listen to me.”

“No, you listen to me,” Angela replied.  “You are going to tell everyone that I will be doing the Noon newscast.”

“And why would I do that?”  Jeremy asked with a laugh.

“Because if you don’t, I am going to go tell Nikki that you are not her biological father,” Angela told him.

Jeremy paused for a second because he was in shock at what Angela said.  “How did you find out?”

Angela paused for a second as she decided how to respond.  “Raven Whitney told me,” Angela lied.

“What?”  A shocked Jeremy stated.

“So what it is going to be, time is running out,” Angela said.

Jeremy paused for a second and then made a fist.  He punched the column that he was standing against.

“What is going on?”  Jody asked him.

“Give me a second to handle this,” he whispered to Jody.

Jody was not sure what to make of his response.

“Give the phone to Nevins, and I will tell him to let you do the newscast with him,” Jeremy reluctantly told Angela.

“I thought you would see things my way,” Angela said with a smile.

“What is going on?”  Jody questioned him.

“I have to let her do the newscast with Nevins,” Jeremy informed Jody.

“Why?”  Jody inquired.

“Because she knows I am not Nikki’s biological father,” Jeremy explained to Jody.

“How could she know that?”  Jody asked him.

“Apparently Raven Whitney told her,” Jeremy said repeating the lie Angela told him.

Whitneyfoundatuiuonm

At the foundation, Lyle sat at a desk stuffing envelopes as a distracted Charlotte stared at her computer.

“What are you thinking about?”  Lyle asked her.  “Like I have to ask.”

“I was just wondering what Norman was doing in the building this morning,” Charlotte responded.

“He is a lawyer,” Lyle reminded her.   “He was probably seeing a client.”

“You are probably right,” Charlotte said.  “I do appreciate you stuffing those mailings for me.  I am really short-handed when Nikki is not here.”

“Do you mean Geri isn’t any help?”  Lyle asked with a laugh.

“Where is she?”  Charlotte asked.  “I don’t know.  You would think with Robert keeping tabs on her that she wouldn’t be this late.”

“Robert isn’t like me, but I can see where they are,” Lyle told her as he felt in his pocket for his phone.  When he didn’t feel the phone, he got out of his chair and picked up his jacket.  He went through his pockets but it wasn’t there either.  “What did I do with my phone?”

“I can call you,” Charlotte told him as she picked up her phone and began to dial his number.

Lyle looked around the office.

“It’s ringing,” she informed Lyle.

“I don’t hear it,” Lyle stated.  “I wonder if it is in the car.”

 

At the Whitney mansion, Raven was sitting on the sofa flipping the channels on the remote control for the television.  “Apologize to Jody, I think not,” she mumbled to herself.  She was referring to the fact that Sky wanted her to tell Jody she was sorry for threatening to tell Nikki that Jeremy was not her biological father.

Lyle’s phone began to ring from under the sofa.  It had fallen out of his pocket earlier when he had his scuffle with Broomhilda.

“What’s that?”  Raven asked herself as she got off the sofa.  She bent down under the sofa and saw the ringing phone.  “Now who do you belong to?”  When she picked it up, she saw Charlotte’s name on the caller ID.  “Charlotte is that you?”  She asked as she answered.

Charlotte was shocked to hear her mom answer the phone.  “Mom is that you?”

Lyle panicked when he realized Charlotte was taking to Raven.

“Yes,” Raven responded.

“I see you found Lyle’s phone,” Charlotte told her.

“Oh so that is who it belongs to,” Raven stated.   “It was under the couch in the living room.”

“My mom has it at the mansion,” Charlotte whispered to Lyle.

A look of fear covered Lyle’s face as he heard the words.  He recalled the baby picture he had on the phone.  The picture his father had told him to delete.  The same picture he had found in Sky’s study.  The same picture both Sky and Gunther told him to forget about ever seeing.  Lyle grabbed the phone out of Charlotte’s hand in a hurry.

“Excuse me,” Charlotte exclaimed.

“Mrs. Whitney, I appreciate you finding my phone,” Lyle told her.

“Your welcome,” Raven responded.

“But please just don’t do anything with it until I come and get it,” Lyle said to her.

“Alright,” a confused Raven replied.

A puzzled Charlotte stared at Lyle as he hung up the phone.  :”What was all that about?”

“I really need to get my phone back immediately,” Lyle stated.

“Why?”  Charlotte inquired.  “Don’t tell me you have naked pictures of yourself on there.   Though I don’t think my mother would care about it.”

“I wish it was that,” Lyle responded.

“What?”  A confused Charlotte questioned him.

“I need to go get my phone,” Lyle said.

“Well, you are supposed to be protecting me,” Charlotte reminded him.  “And I have a lunch date with potential donors.  And Geri isn’t even here yet.  You will have to wait until after lunch.”

“I don’t think I can,” Lyle said to himself.

 

At the mansion, Raven still had Lyle’s phone in her hand. “He was acting a little too strange.  I wonder why.”  Raven put the phone down on the end table, and picked up the remote for the television.

She paused for a second and stared at the phone.  She put the remote down and picked up the phone again.  “You shouldn’t be doing this,” she whispered to herself.

 

Back at the foundation, Charlotte answered the ringing foundation phone.  “No, I am sorry, Nikki is not here today.”  She said to the person on the phone.  “Can I take a message?”  Charlotte hung up the phone without a response.

“Who was that?”  Lyle asked.

“Someone that wanted to talk to Nikki,” she answered.  “He didn’t leave his name and the number was private, but I recognized the voice.

“And who was it?”  Lyle inquired.

“Her ex-boyfriend Matthew Gantz,” Charlotte informed him.  “I hope Nikki knows what she is doing.”

As Charlotte had finished speaking, Geri and Robert arrived in the office.

“What about Matthew?”  Geri asked after she heard Charlotte mention his name.

“Nothing that pertains to you,” Charlotte responded.  “It is about time you got here.  What took you so long?”

“I do also have other important things to do,” Geri said to her.  “You are not the only one.”

Robert laughed.  “Andre called her.  He had new designs in at the department store, and she had to be the first to see them.”

“No one is talking to you,” Geri told Robert.

Robert gave her an ugly look.

“What’s the big deal?  Where is Nikki?” Geri asked.    “Isn’t she supposed to be your assistant?”

“She is not here today,” Charlotte informed her.  “And you are going to make me late for lunch with potential donors.”

“Whatever?”  Geri whispered to herself as she sat down at Nikki’s desk.  “When this bet is over, I will be free of this place.”

“Do you think you can handle things until I get back?”  Charlotte asked her.

“Of course, stop treating me like a child,” Geri told her.

“Then stop acting like one,” Robert stated.

Geri turned to face him.  She started to say something but Charlotte started speaking first.

“We really need to leave,” Charlotte said to Lyle.

Lyle got up to leave, and Charlotte followed him.

“We really should stop at the mansion first,” Lyle told her.

“I’m sorry we don’t have time,” Charlotte stated.

 

At the Monticello PD, Chris walked into the squad room, and stood in front of the murder board while Calvin, and Mae sorted through old case files on their desks.

“This is what we should be doing- real police work,” Calvin noted.

“What do you mean?”  Mae questioned him.

“Instead of wasting our time downtown staking out pickpockets and muggers,” Calvin explained remembering the stake out when he saw Nikki go for her audition for Julliard.

“What are you thinking?”  Matthew asked his mother.

“First, this is our first priority,” Chris stated as she pointed at the murder board.  “I know you want to go through those case files to see if you can find someone from the Gallahads to link to your father’s murder.”

“And I thought you did to?”  Calvin questioned her.

“Of course I do,” Chris responded.  “But that is a cold case.  “We need to focus on Curtis Reardon’s murder.  Who killed him?  Who poisoned James and Didi?  And who is sending the letters to Julia?”

“We are also looking for information on William Church,” Calvin reminded her.  “The older clerk with the pointed ears said he had a criminal record as a juvenile.”

“He did have funny ears,” Guthrie laughed to himself.  “Poor guy.”

“But I don’t know why we you’ll are looking through all that,” Matthew stated.  “That clerk said William Church had a sealed Juvenile record.  If it is sealed, we are not going to find out anything in these files.”

“I still don’t think he could be behind all this,” Guthrie mentioned.  “Even if he had a record, I don’t think he is the one that could be stalking Julia.  From what I have seen of him, he just doesn’t seem like the type.  Besides we can just ask him about the rumor.”

“But he is kind of a local legend,” Matthew noted.  “His reputation is spotless.  I think someone over the years would have said something about him.”

“That’s all true,” Chris told them.  “So what is our next step.”

“Guthrie and I haven’t spoken to Nathan Gannon yet, but we will do that today,” Calvin stated.

“I don’ think that is a good idea,” Chris told him.

“What?”  A confused Calvin questioned her.

“I think you know why,” Chris answered him referring to the fact that they had just found out that Nathan was his mother, Didi’s boyfriend.”

“Yes, you probably shouldn’t be interviewing your mother’s boyfriend,” Matthew mentioned.

Mae gave Matthew a nudge on his arm.  :”That wasn’t nice.  You didn’t need to say that.”

“So let Gantz and Madison interview him,” Chris said.  “But in light of recent revelations, I don’t think he is our man.”

“And we got nowhere with the eye drops we took from his office,” Guthrie added.  “Forensics said it would be virtually impossible to tell what particular vile the poison in the water cooler came from.  There is nothing distinct about it.”

“So where does that leave us for suspects?”  Mae inquired.

“That’s a good question,” Chris responded.

“We can talk to Nathan after lunch,” Matthew said to Mae.  “I have a lunch date.  I will meet you back here after it.”

Chris looked at Matthew.  From her expression, Matthew could tell she was interested in who he was going to lunch with but he was not going to answer her.  Chris then looked at Mae.  “If you don’t have plans, would you like to go to lunch with me?”

“Sure,” Mae replied.

“I have plans as well,” Calvin informed Guthrie.  “But we can meet up after your lunch with your mom. “

That will be fine,” Guthrie said.

“So mom is in town?”  Chris asked Guthrie as she heard the conversation between the two.

“Yes,” Guthrie replied.

“Did she come in town by herself?”  Chris asked him.

 

At the District Attorney’s office, Nathan, Laurie and Suzanne were all busy at their desks.

“It’s funny, some of the same people in these files, I also made files for when I worked in James’s law office,” Suzanne mentioned but didn’t get a response.

Laurie appeared to be looking for something and Nathan seemed preoccupied.

“How long did you work for him?”  Laurie asked as she still looked around her desk for something.

“About a year,” Suzanne replied.  “I met him when I moved here from Wellington,” Suzanne stated.

Nathan ignored the conversation.  He looked at his phone but didn’t pick it up.

“I actually started out as a client, but he ended up hiring me, and he was a great boss,” Suzanne said referring to James.

“That’s nice,” Laurie said though she was not really paying attention to Suzanne.

Suzanne finally took notice of what Laurie was doing.  “Are you looking for something?”

“Yes,” Laurie replied.  “I had phone list of constituents that Victor wanted to call to try and bring out the vote.  But I can’t find it.  I know I left it on my desk last night.”

“Are you sure you didn’t take it home with you?”  Suzanne questioned.  As she was speaking, Suzanne remembered in her mind taking the phone list off Laurie’s desk the previous night, and then throwing in the trash outside the building

 

In his office, Victor slammed a newspaper down on his desk.

“What is it?”  His mother Laurie asked as she entered the office.

“Dam, latest polls still show James ahead,” Victor responded.

“I’m sorry,” Laurie told him.

“There’s nothing I can do about it,” Victor said.  “Everyone is feeling sorry for him because he’s sick.  He’s picking up all the sympathy votes.”

“But your new ad might change all that,” Laurie mentioned.

“If it doesn’t, I can kiss this office goodbye,” Victor lamented.

“You mustn’t think like that,” Laurie told him.

“I’m just trying to be realistic,” he responded.  “Anyway, I need to get back to work.  Can you send Suzanne in here?”

“Sure,” Laurie replied as she left the office.

Victor kept staring at the headline in the paper-“Swift leads in polls for D.A.”  He didn’t notice when Suzanne entered the office.

“Mr. Swift, you wanted to see me,” Suzanne finally said breaking the silence.

“Yes,” James replied.  “We need to talk about your relationship with James.”

Suzanne froze for a second.  She recalled how she had called William Church to inform him of Victor’s new campaign ad that he was going to run.  And how she had thrown away the phone list.  She feared Victor had found out about what she had done.

“I can explain,” Suzanne started to say before Victor cut her off.

“There is nothing to explain,” Victor told her.  “I know you still love him, that’s why I have a surprise for you.”

“Surprise?”  A confused Suzanne asked as she realized he did not know about what she had been doing to help James’s campaign.

“Yes,” Victor responded.  “I still have some pull with the Monticello P.D.  And know that they have cleared you as a suspect in James’s poisoning, they have agreed to let you see him.”

“They have?”  A shocked Suzanne repeated what he said.

“Yes,” Victor told her.  “They are going to let you visit him in the hospital today after work.”

“I don’t know what to say,” Suzanne stated.  “I don’t know how to thank you.”

“There is nothing to say,” Victor said to her.  “You hold both of our futures in your hands.  Let this be the first step in you getting James back.”

Suzanne just smiled at the comment.

Outside the office, Laurie just stared at them.  “Those two are obviously plotting,” she whispered to herself.   “I hope it doesn’t backfire on them.”

Nathan still sat at his desk not paying attention to anything.

“Is everything alright?”  Laurie finally asked him.

“I’m sorry,” Nathan replied.  “I’ve been a little distracted today.  Didi and I had a bad fight last night.  And she isn’t speaking to me today.”

“I’m sorry,” Laurie told him.  “Do you want to talk about it?

“Calvin found out about Didi and me last night,” Nathan started to explain.  “He came over when I was there last night.  And I didn’t think Didi was going to tell him about us, and I got tired of keeping it a secret.  Well, it didn’t go over well with him.”

“I’m sure he was shocked,” Laurie stated.

“That would be an understatement,” Nathan replied.

“He is going to need time to get used to you being with his mother,” Laurie said.

“I know that, but I hope Didi realizes that too,” Nathan stated.  “She made me leave last night, and she is not answering my calls today.”

“Give her time to calm down,” Laurie told him.

“But whether she likes it or not, I’m going over to see her after work,” Nathan informed Laurie.  ‘She shouldn’t be alone anyway.  She just got released from the hospital yesterday.”

 

Across town, Charlotte and Lyle were walking into the restaurant for her lunch date with the potential donors to the foundation.

“I really need to get my phone back,” Lyle told her.

“You will be fine without it until after lunch,” Charlotte said to him.  “I don’t know why you are so worried about it.”

“Oh Mrs. Whitney, I have a message for you,” the maître d said to Charlotte as they walked up to him.

“Yes,” Charlotte said.

“The Snyders called, they said they were having problems trying to reach you but they had to cancel your lunch today,” the maître d informed her.  “Something came up and they were not able come to Monitcello today.”

“That’s just great,” Charlotte whispered to herself.

“Now we can go get my phone,” Lyle said to her.

“Will you still be joining us?”  The maître d asked her.

“I don’t think so,” Charlotte responded as she caught sight of a couple in the restaurant.  The man had brown hair and glasses.  It was Norman Garrison, and he was having lunch with a dark haired woman.  Charlotte froze when she saw them.

Lyle realized who had caught her attention.  “It is probably just a client,” he said to her.  “We should be going.”

Charlotte didn’t move.  She turned to the maître d.  “Excuse me, do you see that couple over there?”  She pointed to Norman and the woman.

The maître d turned and looked at the table.  “Oh yes, the Garrisons.  They are always a polite couple.”  As he had finished speaking the phone rang.  “If you w would excuse me,” he said to Charlotte as he picked up the phone.

Charlotte turned away from him and started to leave.  “That bastard, he is married.”

“It never stopped you before,” Lyle whispered to himself.

 

At the foundation, Geri was consumed by some entertainment news on her computer screen that she didn’t notice Calvin as he entered.

Robert walked up to the front of the office when he saw Calvin enter.

“Someone is here,” Robert told Geri.

Geri heard what he said but still took her time prying herself away from the computer screen before she looked up to see who it was.  “Oh,” she finally said.  “It’s you.”

“I want to see Nikki,” he told her.

“She’s not here,” Geri replied.

“I know she is avoiding me,” Calvin stated.  “Where is she?”

“I don’t know,” Geri responded.

“I know she is avoiding me,” Calvin repeated.  “Is she out to lunch with Charlotte?”

“No,” Geri replied.    “Charlotte is out to lunch but Nikki is not with her.”

“Do they have you lying for her?”  Calvin inquired.

“I have better things to worry about than you and Nikki,” Geri told him.

“Nikki is not with Charlotte,” Robert stated.  “She apparently didn’t come into work today.”

“Oh,” Calvin said.

“Now, can you stop bothering me?”  Geri asked.

“I’m sorry,” Calvin told her as he took a seat.  “I just have a lot going on right now, and Nikki is not helping things.  I didn’t mean to take it out on you.”

“Thank you,” Geri stated as she turned her attention back to her computer screen.

“Like he was really bothering you,” Robert whispered to himself.

“I’m sorry,” Calvin repeated as he stood back up to leave.  “I know she is hiding something.  And she’s not answering my calls.  I feel like she is pulling away from me.   And hasn’t told me anything else about Juliaird.  She is driving me crazy.”

Geri basically ignored him as she was reading the article on her computer screen.

Robert walked to the back of the office.  “He sounds pathetic,” he uttered to himself.

Geri turned away from the computer screen to see Calvin leaving with his head down.  Then she turned to look at the trash can by the desk.  Nikki’s pregnancy test was still in it.  She looked at it, and then she looked at Calvin.  She started to say something, “Calvin”.

“Yes,” Calvin responded.

But then Geri remembered what Charlotte told her.  “Not to tell Calvin anything.”  “Ah nothing.”

Calvin turned to leave again.

Geri stood up and looked at him, and then looked at the trash can.  Then her eyes lit up light a light bulb as she got an idea.  She kicked the trash can, and it fell over toward Calvin.

Calvin turned to look, as did Robert who was now seated in the back at Charlotte’s desk.

“I’m sorry, I don’t know what came over me,” Geri stated.  “I accidently kicked it.”

Robert laughed at her words.  “She is up to something.”

“I hurt my knee,” Geri feigned.  “Can you please pick that up for me?  It’s actually Nikki’s trash can.  I’d like to have everything by her desk nice and orderly whenever she comes back to work.”

“Can’t you get it yourself?”  Calvin asked.

“I’m sorry I really hurt my knee,” Geri lied as she sat down and rubbed her knee.

“Whatever,” Calvin said as he walked over to pick up the trash can.

“Oh, could you see if I mistakenly dropped my keys in there?”  Geri inquired.

“I don’t know what kind of game you are playing,..” Calvin started to say as he looked in the trash can.  He stopped himself when he saw the box for the pregnancy test.

“Are they in there?”  Geri questioned him.

“Ah, no,” Calvin replied.  “You said that this was Nikki’s trashcan.”

“Yes,” Geri answered.

Calvin put the trash can down by the desk.  “Thanks,” he said as he started to leave.  He was obviously in shock by what the sight of the pregnancy test.”

As he left, Robert came walking back up to where Geri was.  “Did he see what I think he saw?”

“Yes,” Geri replied.  “And I think he had a right to know that Nikki is pregnant.  And I kept my promise to Charlotte, I didn’t tell him anything.”

“Normally, I don’t agree with you messing with other people lives, but this time I think you are right,” Robert said. “She should have told him already about the baby.”

Leave a Reply

