Cries in the Night: Chapter 40

Matthew sat at his desk at the Monticello Police Department as he sent Nikki a text- “Please let me know how it went at the doctor” “I wish she would let me know what is going on,” he whispered to himself.  As Calvin and Guthrie entered the office, he put his phone back in his pocket.

“Did you find out what your mother wanted last night?”  Calvin asked him.

“Yes,” Guthrie replied.  “She is coming in town tomorrow.”

“That’s a nice surprise, I assume” Chris stated as she entered.

“Yes, it was,” Guthrie responded.

“I know Madison is not here yet, but let’s see where we stand on everything,” Chris stated.  “I just got off the phone with Curtis Reardon’s wife.  She keeps calling every day for an update.  I wish there was more I could tell her.”

“I’m convinced it is the same person who poisoned James and is sending the letters to Julia,’ Guthrie stated.  “I don’t know why though but I am sure it is the same person.”

“I think we are all in agreement on that,” Chris told him. “So where are we in the investigation?”

“I went through everyone from the law office’s background- Katherine, William, and Bryan, and I couldn’t find anything damning on any of them,” Matthew informed her.  “I don’t think any of them is behind all this.”

“And they have been going through case files at the law office and the district attorney’s office but they haven’t singled anybody out yet that looks like a suspect,” Guthrie stated.

“Are we in agreement, that Suzanne Ross is no longer a suspect?”  Chris asked.

“Yes,” the three men responded.

“Well, what about Nathan Gannon?”  Chris asked.  “He went to law school with Julia.  And the two never got along.  Did you question him about the scene he caused in the emergency room when Calvin’s mother was there?”

Guthrie and Calvin just sat there quietly.

“Well?” Chris asked.

“Not exactly,” Guthrie finally replied.

“Why not?”  Chris asked.

“I am pretty sure he is not the one behind all this,” Calvin said reluctantly.

“Why?”  Chris asked.

Calvin didn’t respond.

“Guthrie do you have something to say?”  Chris inquired.

Guthrie was silent and looked at Calvin.  “Um, I think Stoner needs to be the one to explain.”

“What?” A confused Matthew questioned.

Calvin stood up from the chair he was sitting in and walked around the office.

“Would someone please answer me,” Chris stated.

“I don’t believe he is behind all this, and neither does my mother,” Calvin said.  “But we haven’t had a chance to talk to him yet.”

“Why?”  Chris asked.

Calvin paused for a second.  “Because he is my mother’s boyfriend.”

“Boyfriend?”  Matthew questioned with a smile on his face.

“Really?”  Chris inquired.

“Yes,” Calvin responded.

“How long have then been together?” She asked.

“I’m not sure,” Calvin told her.

“So your mother’s boyfriend is younger than you,” Matthew noted with a laugh.

“He is not younger than me,” Calvin stated.  “At least I don’t think he is.”

“Enough,” Chris interjected.  “That is not important.”  When Chris finished speaking a couple of men entered the office carrying boxes.

“We have some more of the old records, you requested,” one of the men announced.  “The arrest records that haven’t been computerized.”

“Are they to look for my father’s murder?”  Calvin asked.  “We are trying to find anyone affiliated with the street gang the Gallahads in the 1980s.”

“Not exactly,” Chris responded.   “I told you Calvin we have to put that on the back burner.  It’s a cold case.  This is just to see if there is anything on William Church’s background that precedes our computer files. Though we may come across something in regards to your father’s case at the same time.”

Calvin was obviously disappointed.

“William Church?”  One of the clerks carrying the boxes questioned.  He was an older gentleman with grey hair glasses and pointed ears.

“Yes,” Chris responded.

“That man is a legend in Monticello,” the man stated.  “But did you know the rumor about him?”

“Rumor?”  Matthew inquired.

“No,” Chris responded.

“Well, it is a rumor,” the man started to say.  “But they say he was a wild child.  He even has a juvenile record but he used his connections to have the records sealed.”

“A criminal record?”  Guthrie questioned.  “Mr. Church?”

“Really?”  Matthew asked.

“Yes, that is the rumor,” the man replied.

“But how do we find out if it is true?”  Calvin asked.  “And does this mean he could be behind all this?”

Nikki sat in bed as she talked on the phone with Charlotte.

“I’m sorry that I am not going to make it into the foundation today,” Nikki told her.

“That’s not a problem,” Charlotte responded as she and Lyle arrived at the outside the foundation.

“How are you feeling?”  Charlotte asked.  “You need to take care of yourself.”

“I spent the night throwing up,” Nikki responded.  “I don’t know if it is because I am getting sicker or that I am just worried because now I know what is going.  But I shouldn’t be worried.  Dr. Samuel said there is a cure.”

“Where are your parents?”  Charlotte asked.

“They are at the hospital,” Nikki replied.  “They are getting tested to see which one is a match for me.  I wanted to go but mom said that there was really nothing I could do there and that I should rest.”

“Hopefully, this will all soon be over with,” Charlotte stated.

“Yes,” Nikki responded.  “Then I can get back on with my life.”

“Have you spoken to Calvin,” Charlotte asked.

Nikki paused for a moment.  “I haven’t,” she finally responded.  “But I know I need to do that.”

“Call me later,” Charlotte told her.  “We just arrived at the foundation.

“Okay,” Nikki replied as she hung up the phone.  “I’m sorry I’m just not ready to deal with Calvin right now.”

As Charlotte and Lyle prepared to enter the building that housed the Foundation, they were shocked to see Norman Garrison exiting the building.

Charlotte stopped in her tracks and then immediately turned around began walking in the opposite direction.  Lyle followed her.

“What is he doing here?”  Charlotte asked him.

“I don’t know,” Lyle responded.

“Did he find out who I really am?”  Charlotte questioned.  “Maybe he did, and he came to see me.  Or maybe he did and he is mad.”

“You won’t find out now,” Lyle told her.

“Why?”  Charlotte inquired.

“He just jumped in that cab and left,” he responded.

In the cab, Norman picked up his phone and dialed a number.

“I just took a tour of another building,” he stated.  “I think it would make a good headquarters for the Golden Eagle Corporation.  And there is something else you might like.  I don’t know what you have against Sky Whitney but I know you are upset about not being able to buy the Towers from him.  But this building has the Geraldine Whitney Foundation in it.  It’s named after his aunt.  Well, for whatever reason, you think it would be located in the Towers but it’s not.  So how do you think Sky Whitney will feel when we buy this building and then cancel the lease on the Whitney Foundation?  Yeah, I thought that would make your day.”

At the Whitney mansion, Gordon was in shock after having meant his bodyguard, Broomhilda.

“I was fine sharing Robert with Geri,” Gordon told here.

“Nonsense,” Raven told him.  “Broomhilda will stay with you until whoever is behind this is caught.”

“You can trust me Herr Whitney,” Broomhilda said to Gordon.  “I used to by an Olympian.”

“I’m not a her,” Gordon told her.

“Not her, Herr,” Raven corrected him.  “It’s a German term it means like Mister.”

“Great,” Gordon responded.

An aggravated Sky entered from his study.  “Damn, damn, damn.”

“What’s wrong?”  Raven inquired.

“I was just on the phone with my accountant,” Sky informed her.  “Someone has been trying to buy all available Whitney International stock.”

“Why?”  Raven asked.

“They probably want to try a hostile takeover of Whitney International,” Sky explained.  “But there isn’t enough stock available for them to do this.  And hardly anyone is selling to them.  I have loyal stock holders.”

“Who is doing it?”  Raven inquired.

“It has to be whoever is behind the Golden Eagle Corporation,” Sky told her.  “They have it out for me, and I don’t know why.”

“And you haven’t found out anything else about them?”  Raven inquired.

“No,” Sky replied as he turned to Gordon.  “I assume you haven’t tracked down Norman Garrison?”

“No,” Gordon replied.

“I almost forgot there was a delivery for you,” Raven told Gordon as she went over and handed him the envelope the messenger dropped off.

Gordon looked at it, and put the envelope under his shoulder.  “This is some investigative work for a client.”

“So nothing to do with Norman Garrison?”  Sky asked.

“No, dad, I’m sorry,” Gordon replied.

“That’s all right,” Sky told him.

“Has anyone seen Geri this morning?”  Gordon asked.

  “Fräulein Whitney and Herr Wagner are in the room with the bar,” Broomhilda informed him.

“Thank you,” Gordon said as he walked toward the other room followed by Broomhilda.  “Just great,” he uttered as he saw Broomhilda follow him.

After Gordon had left the room, Sky looked at Raven.  “There is something else I wanted to talk to you about.”

“What’s that?”  Raven questioned him.

“I didn’t mention this in front of Jeremy, but I want you to apologize to Jody,” Sky told her.

“What?” A shocked Raven responded.

“You heard me, I want you to tell Jody you are sorry for threatening to tell Nikki that Jeremy is not her real father,” Sky stated.

“Why should I?” An angry Raven asked.  “I was just trying to help our children.  Charlotte was being crucified in the press.  And I felt helpless, that I couldn’t do anything.  You just sat around and did nothing, but I couldn’t.”

“That’s not true,” Sky stated.

“And look at the way that reporter from WMON, blindsided James in his interview,” Raven reminded him.

“I want you to apologize to Jody because it is the right thing to do,” Sky repeated.  “Our daughters have been best friends since birth.  You should want to make peace with her.”

“We’ll see,” an even angrier Raven told him as she left the room.

In the other room, Geri was at the bar picking up bottles.  “Do we have any gin in this place?”

“Starting early aren’t you?”  Robert asked.

“Or she hasn’t stopped since last night,” Gordon responded as he entered followed by Broomhilda.

“New flame?”  Geri asked as she saw Broomhilda.

Gordon gave her a nasty look.  “This is my bodyguard, Broomhilda.”

Geri laughed at his response.

“Anyway, a messenger dropped some information off about your case,” Gordon told her.

“What is it?”  Geri inquired.

“I haven’t looked at it yet,” Gordon told her as he sat down, and opened the envelope.  “And I expect you to pay me for it.”

“Of course,” Geri replied though she did not sound serious.

“Well, would you like at that,” Gordon said.

“What is it?”  An excited Geri questioned Gordon.

Gordon handed her the papers.  Geri took the papers and looked at them.  “Petition for adoption, Damon Corey…” Geri started to read and then stopped.  “So you know you found out she was adopted by her stepfather?”

“These things take time,” Gordon told her.

Geri flung the papers on the couch in the room.  “You couldn’t have found out yesterday and saved me a lot of trouble?”

Robert just sat down and laughed.

“Stop it!” Geri yelled at him.

Broomhilda was confused by all of it.

“I will try to explain it to you later,” Robert told her.

“So what are you going to do now?”  Geri asked Gordon.  “I’m running out of time, and I won’t lose this bet to Geri.”

“I’m sorry but she is just a sweet girl, you are going to have to believe that,” Gordon told her.  “There is no dirt to find on her.”

“Wrong,” Geri told him.  “I know what I heard her say on the phone in the hospital.  She was supposed to meet someone behind Adam’s back that night.  “And you are going to find out who?  By starting to follow her tonight.”

“Now, Geri…” Gordon started to say but she cut him off.

“You will unless you want to tell daddy what happened to his meeting with Norman Garrison,” Geri stated.

“What happened?”  Robert asked.

“None of your business,” Gordon told him.  “I will see what I can do, but I am not making any promises.”  He said to Geri.

Broomhilda looked confused by the whole exchange.

“There is never a dull moment with these Whitney kids,” Robert told her.

as-seen-on-wdsu-jpg

At WMON, Angela sat in front of a computer editing her interview with Sabrina when Martin entered the room.

“I was beginning to think that you were not going to come in today,” Angela said to him.

“I’m just taking it a little easy,” Martin said to her.  “I told you that it was just a little minor surgery.  I was hoping you would come over and take care of me last night after your interview with Ms. Shaw.  And show me some gratitude.”

Angela ignored his comment.  “You missed a very eventful day yesterday.  I can’t wait for this story to air.”

“You just need to wait a little while longer,” Martin told her.  “We don’t want to be accused of kicking a sick man while he is down.  And the election is close, this will be a nice October surprise of our own.”

“I wish I could see the look on Raven Whitney’s face when she sees it,” Angela told him.

“Why?”  Martin inquired.  “I thought you were trying to get into her good graces.”
“Not anymore,” Angela responded.  “I don’t need her any more.  And she will be sorry she didn’t tell me what I wanted to know.”

“Why?”  Martin asked her.  “What happened?”

“I found out on my own what she has on Jody,” Angela answered him.

“Oh do tell,” a giddy Martin inquired.

“I overheard Jeremy on the phone with Jody yesterday,” Angela began to tell him.  “And it turns out Ms. Travis must have been quite the party girl back in her day.”

“What are you talking about?”  Martin questioned her.

“It turns out that Jeremy is not Nikki’s biological father,” Angela informed him.  “And Nikki has no idea.

“Oh my,” Martin responded.

“I know can you believe it?”  Angela questioned rhetorically.  “I never bought her Miss Goody Two Shoes image.”

“Does she know that you know?”  Martin questioned her.

“No,” Angela responded.  “In fact, where is she today?”

At Dr. Samuel’s office, a nervous Jody sat in the office with Jeremy.

“Why did he want to see us?”  Jody asked him.  “It can’t be good news.  I mustn’t be a match for Nikki.”

“You don’t know that,” Jeremy responded.  “They could not have gotten the results yet.”

“I wonder how long this is going to take,” Jody told him.  “I want to get back to WMON.  I don’t trust Angela.  If I am not there in time for the newscast so you may try to take my place.”

“Don’t worry about that,” Jeremy stated.  “I think we have more important things to concern ourselves with.  Besides I told Nevins to do the news solo if we are not back in time.”

Before Jeremy had finished speaking the door to the office opened and Dr. Samuel entered.

“What is it?”  Jody inquired before he had even sat down.  “You didn’t get my results back yet did you?”

“No, we haven’t,” Dr. Samuel answered.  “But that will not matter.”

“Why not?”  Jeremy questioned him.

“Is Nikki too bad off?”  A distressed Jody inquired.

“No,” Dr. Samuel replied.  “Please let me explain.  I did not think about it before but you had mentioned that you were a bone marrow donor for your sister when you were younger.”

“Yes,” Jody replied.  “My sister Nicole.  Nikki’s namesake.”

“Well, the hospital has a bone marrow registry,” Dr. Samuel began to explain.  “Since you had donated to your sister, you were entered into the registry.”

“And?”  An anxious Jody asked him.

“I’m sorry you are not a match for Nikki,” he informed them.

“Dammit, I knew,” Jody exclaimed as she jumped out of her chair.

“Jody, you need to calm down,” Jeremy told her.

“Your husband is right,” Dr. Samuel agreed.  “Remember your anxiety.”

Jody sat down in the chair.  “So what do you do now?”

“Did you look in the registry to see if there is a match for Nikki?”  Jeremy questioned him.

“We are, but it doubtful that we will find one unless another relative is in it,” Dr. Samuel explained to them.

“Do you know what this means?”  Jody asked as she looked at Jeremy.

“Yes,” he replied.  “We need to find Nikki’s father.  We need to find Preacher.”  Jeremy was referring to Preacher Emerson, Jody’s boyfriend before Jeremy.

“And we are going to have to tell Nikki the truth,” An upset Jody told him.

At the law office, the campaign was in high gear as everyone was busy.

“I have a source that told me Victor is going on the offensive today,” William informed them.  “He is starting to run an advertisement touting his experience.”

“Should we be worried about that?”  Julia asked.

“No,” William responded.  “The last attempt by a desperate man.  Once we get James on TV for the public to see that is doing fine-we will sail over the finish line.”

“Are you going to go back into retirement once this campaign is over?”  Draper asked him.

“I really haven’t given it much thought,” William told him.  “It’s hard for me to stay out of the game long.  It’s in my blood.”  When William had finished speaking, he took a handkerchief out of his pocket and wiped the sweat off of his forehead.

“It is hot in here,” Bryan told him.  “You should take your jacket off.”  Bryan was taunting him because he knew William was wearing the jacket to conceal the tattoo on his wrist.  The squiggly letter G in the circle.  The symbol for the Gallahads.

“You are right,” William said to him as he stood and took off his jacket.

A look of disappointment was on Bryan’s face.  William had a long sleeve shirt on underneath.

“Is something wrong?”  William asked Bryan with a wink.

Bryan didn’t respond.

“Get back to work,” William said to him.

Everyone in the office seemed confused or didn’t know what to make of the interaction between the two.

“Will we be going back to the hospital after work today?”  Deborah asked Julia.

“Yes,” Julia replied.  “I don’t care what that mad man says he is not keeping me away from James.”  Julia was referring to the latest letter that she received from her stalker that read “Keep away from James Swift or he is dead.

Katherine sat on at her desk trying to sort something but she seemed distracted and wasn’t making much progress.

Julia took notice and walked over to her.  “Katherine, can you see me in Mr. Swift’s office for a moment?”

“Sure,” the nervous Katherine responded as she got up to follow Julia to James’s office.

“Please have a seat,” Julia told her as she closed the door behind them.

“I noticed you are really distracted today,” Julia started to say as she herself sat down.

“I’m so sorry, Ms. Scott,” Katherine started to say but Julia cut her off.

“That’s okay, I think I know what is going on,” Julia told her.  “I know how upset you got when you saw Mr. Swift’s gun in here yesterday.  But I just want you to know that it is not in the desk any more.  Ms. Saxon is carrying it with her.”

“Oh, thank you,” Katherine said to her.  “But that is not the real problem.”

“It’s not?”  Julia asked.  “Is there something I can help you with?”

Katherine paused for a moment.

“You don’t have to tell me if you don’t want to,” Julia stated.

“That’s okay,” Katherine finally replied.  “Adam and I got a surprise visitor last night at Delmonico’s last night.  My former stepfather found out I was there somehow.”

“Stepfather?”   Julia repeated.

“Yes,” Katherine replied.  Katherine told Julia story about how Damon was briefly married to her mother and how abusive he was.  “I don’t know how he tracked me down after all these years or what he wants.  Adam said I should get a restraining order against him.”

“We could help you with that,” Julia told her.  “We are a law office after all.

“Thank you,” Katherine responded as there was a knock at the door.

“Yes,” Julia replied as she got up to the door.

Julia opened the door to find Deborah on the other side.

“Adam is here for Katherine,” Deborah informed her.

“I almost forgot he was going to take me for a quick lunch,” Katherine stated as she got up from her chair.

“That sounds like you good idea,” Julia said.  “That should make you feel better.”

As the two woman exited the law office, they were shocked to see April with Adam.

“I hope you don’t mind but I invited my Aunt April to join us,” Adam said to Katherine.

“No, that is fine,” Katherine replied.

“He is introducing her to family they must be getting serious,” Bryan whispered to William.

William just ignored him and didn’t acknowledge the comment.

“I won’t keep her away too long,” Adam told Julia.

“You and Adam have been seeing so much of each other, I have been looking forward to getting to know you better,” April stated.

Katherine just blushed.

As Adam, April and Katherine prepared to leave the office, Adam turned to Draper.  “Would you like to join us, Uncle Draper?”

“No, that is okay, but thank you anyway,” Draper responded.  “I’m actually enjoying helping out in here.  It brings back a lot of memories from my old law office.”

“Okay, then I will talk to you later,” Adam responded.

“Oh, April, I keep forgetting to ask you,” Draper started to say.  “When are Miles and Beth arriving?”

“Miles and Beth?” A shocked Adam questioned.  “Are they coming to Monticello?”

Big News for Edge of Night Fans this week:

On Sunday, January 29, we will be watching the last episode of the Edge of Night on Sharon Gabet’s facebook  page.  https://www.facebook.com/sharonrose.gabet.5

The final show will be posted at 2pm EST/1pm CST and be followed by a podcast at 3pm EST/2pm CST with Sharon Gabet (Raven), Mariann Aalda (Didi) and Jennifer Joan Taylor (Chris).

Prior to that tributes to Mariann Aalda (Didi) and Jennifer Joan Taylor (Chris) will be posted around 1pm EST/12 Noon CST.

On Tuesday, January 31, 2017 Mariann Aalda (Didi) will be on Real Talk/Real People with Chat Daddy.   You can listen via iHeart Radio.

16298609_10209795811026865_1581172246213795715_n

On Sunday, January 29, we will be watching the last episode of the Edge of Night on Sharon Gabet’s facebook  page.  https://www.facebook.com/sharonrose.gabet.5

The final show will be posted at 2pm EST/1pm CST and be followed by a podcast at 3pm EST/2pm CST with Sharon Gabet (Raven), Mariann Aalda (Didi) and Jennifer Joan Taylor (Chris).

Prior to that tributes to Mariann Aalda (Didi) and Jennifer Joan Taylor (Chris) will be posted around 1pm EST/12 Noon CST.

Leave a Reply

