Cries in the Night: Chapter 39

At Didi’s apartment, Calvin was confused when Guthrie answered Didi’s front door and discovered Julius Newcombe there.  He could still hear the water running in her bathroom.  He had assumed Julius was the one in the bathroom.

“If he is at the door, then who is in the bathroom?”  Calvin asked again as he turned to look toward Didi’s bedroom again.

“Let me explain,” Didi stated.  She turned to Julius.  “I am doing much better.  Thank you for checking up on me.  But you could you please come back later?”

“Sure,” Julius responded.  “You know where I am if you need anything.”

After Julius left, Didi sat down on the sofa and took a deep breath.

“You said you had a special friend here didn’t you?”  Calvin asked repeating what Didi had said to them.  “Who is it?”

Before Didi could answer, Guthrie’s cell phone rang, Calvin and Didi turned to look at him.

Guthrie picked up his phone and looked at the ID.  “It’s my mom,” he announced.  “I can talk to her later.”  Guthrie turned the phone off, and then put the phone back in his pocked.  “So who is it?”

“It’s a special friend,” Didi repeated.

In the bathroom, Nathan had become aware of all the talking outside, and he turned off the water.  He was listening by Didi’s bedroom door.  “So are you going to tell him?”  He whispered to himself.

“So who is this special friend?”  Calvin asked.

“No one you need to meet right now,” Didi told him.

“You’ve been poisoned,” Calvin stated.  “Everyone in your life is important to this investigation right now.’

“He’s right, Mrs. Stoner,” Guthrie stated.

“He has nothing to do with this,” Didi said.

“She’s still not going to tell him,” Nathan mumbled to himself.

“Can we really talk about this later, Calvin?”  Didi asked.

“Why don’t you want to tell me?”  Calvin inquired.

“Yes, why don’t you want to tell him?”  Nathan questioned her as he emerged from the bedroom wearing one of Didi’s robes.

Calvin and Guthrie stood there in shock.

“Nathan!”  Didi exclaimed.

“Mr. Gannon?”  Calvin asked confused.  “We have been looking for you.  What are you doing here?”

“Ah, Calvin,” Guthrie started to say.  “Don’t you get it?”

“I’m your mother’s boyfriend,” Nathan announced.

Calvin just stood there, and didn’t say anything.

“I’ve been trying to find the right time to tell you,” Didi finally said.  “Can you give us some privacy?”  She asked Guthrie.

“Yes, I can,” he replied.  “I will wait out in the car.  I can call my mom back.”

“And you too,” an angry Didi said to Nathan.

“What?”  Nathan asked.

“You had to make a scene like this?”  She inquired.  “Would you get dressed and please leave?”

“But Didi?”  Nathan responded.

“You heard her,” Calvin yelled.

“Calvin please,” Didi started to say but Calvin cut her off.

“No, that is okay,” he started to say as he looked at Didi in her eyes.  “I will leave.”

“Calvin,” Didi called out as he left the apartment.

Calvin stopped at the door, and turned to face Nathan.  “Mr. Gannon, I will be in touch with you tomorrow.  We still need to speak with you.  You are a still in suspect in everything that has been happening to Julia Scott.”

“Calvin,” Didi yelled.  But he just closed the door and left.  She then turned to Nathan.  “You couldn’t wait to let me tell him my own way.  Could you?”

“But Didi,” Nathan tried to explain but Didi cut him off.

“I want you to leave,” she informed him.

“You shouldn’t be by yourself tonight,” Nathan protested.

“I don’t care,” Didi told him.  “Get your things and get out.”

 

At Delmonico’s, everyone was still in shock from the revelation that Damon was Katherine’s stepfather and not her birth father.

“I don’t know what you are doing here, but would you please leave?”  Katherine asked.

“Why would you invite me, and then ask me to leave?”  Damon inquired.

“There is no way, I would have ever invited you,” Katherine told him.  They were unaware that the invitation to join Katherine for dinner had come from Geri.

“That is no way to talk to your father,” Damon taunted her.

“You are not my father,” Katherine stated.  “Now, stop saying that.”

“Enough of that,” Adam said to Damon.  “I don’t know what you want, but you are not welcome here.  You need to leave or I will have you thrown out.”

“Is that what you really want?”  Damon asked.

“Of course,” the obviously upset Katherine responded.

“As you wish,” Damon said as he prepared to leave.  “But you haven’t heard the last from me.”

“Yes, she has,” Adam told him.  “Leave her alone or I will get a restraining order if I have to.”

“Her knight in shining armor,” Robert whispered to Geri as they heard the exchange from the bar.

“Stop it,” Geri said to him.

“Why couldn’t you just leave her alone?”  Gordon asked Geri.

Geri just made an angry face at him.

Back at the table, Katherine tried to compose herself.  “I’m sorry Adam, I don’t know how he found me here.  There is no way I would have ever invited him here.”

“It’s not your fault,” Adam told her.

“Just let me explain?”  Katherine asked him.

“You don’t have to?”  Adam responded.

“Just let me?’  Katherine asked again.

“Okay,” Adam replied.

“That man was my stepfather for about 2 years,” Katherine informed Adam.  “I was a teen ager, when my mother met him.  He seemed like an answer to a prayer.  He told my mom that he wanted to marry her and adopt me.  But everything changed when they got married.”  Kathrine paused for a moment.

“You don’t have to go on,” Adam told her.

“I want to,” Katherine stated.  “I needed to get all this out.”

“Okay,” Adam said.

“After they were married, he became a different person,” Katherine informed him.  “He became a bum.  He couldn’t hold job.  He would drink.”

“I know all about alcoholic step fathers,” Adam stated.

“It was worse that than that,” Katherine said.  “When he would drink, he became verbally and physically abusive.”

“I’m so sorry,” Adam told her.

“After a couple years, my mom saved money, we were going to leave,” Katherine stated.  “She even got a job in Capitol City.”

“What happened?”  Adam asked.

“Somehow he must have found out about it,” Katherine said.  “The day before we were going to leave he emptied out the bank account and left.  We were free of him but he left us with nothing.”  Katherine started to cry.

Adam went over to her, and sat next to her and hugged her.

“And that was last time I saw him until the other day,” Katherine informed.  “It was like a stroke of bad luck that I ran into him at the coffee shop the other day.  I think he has been hanging out there hoping to see me again.  And I don’t know how he found out that I was here.”

“You don’t have to worry about any of that anymore,” Adam stated.  “I will protect you.”

Robert let out a soft giggle as her heard that.  “Well, you just succeeded in drawing them closer together.”

Geri didn’t say a word but it was obvious she was angry.

“You need to give it up,” Gordon told her.  “You are running out of time.  You are not going to win the bet.”

“That’s not true,” she to Gordon.  “I did here her on the phone at the hospital.  She was supposed to meet someone else that night.  And who did she go to Mayfield to see.  She is seeing someone else, and I am going to prove it.”

avlcsnap-2015-05-05-09h27m31s105

At Monticello General, Julia and Deborah were visiting James.  They had informed him of the latest letter that Julia had received which read-Stay away from James Swift or he is dead.

“I’m glad that didn’t stop you from coming to see me,” James stated.

“I had to make sure that you are alright,” Julia told him.

“I’m getting stronger every day,” James informed them.  “I should be out of here in a couple days the doctor said.”

“That is getting too close to Election Day, Mr. Church won’t like that,” Julia stated.

“Why?”  James asked.

“He has been wanting you to do another interview on WMON to show that you are alright,” Julia explained.  “He doesn’t want voters to think that there is something wrong with you.”

“That man is all business,” Deborah stated.

“That is true,” Julia agreed.

“I guess that is why he is the best,” James said.

“Yes,” Deborah told him.  “But I don’t think he realizes how serious all of this is.”

“Which brings up something else,” Julia began to say.  “Could you give us some privacy?”  She asked Deborah.

“That’s not a problem,” Deborah told her.  “I will just go out in the hallway with the guard.”

After Deborah was out of the room, James looked at Julia.  “So what is up?”

“Deborah showed me the gun,” Julia informed him.

“I wanted her too,” James told her.  “I know how to use it, and I want you to learn too.”
“Deborah’s job is to protect me, and I am not comfortable with a gun,” Julia stated.  “Especially since my mom and Katherine saw it and they both freaked out.”

“How did that happen?”  James inquired.

“It’s a long story,” Julia stated.  “And that’s not important.  But my mom is very worried about it.  She had a dream with the gun and me in it.”

“What?”  A confused James asked.

“That’s not important right now,” Julia said.  “But for right now.  Deborah is carrying the gun with her.  That gives her two guns.  It was the only way I could calm my mom down.”

“She was really that upset about it?”  James asked.

“Yes,” Julia replied.

“Well, Deborah can carry it until I get out of here,” James told her.

“So you intend to keep it on you at all times?”  Julia questioned him.

“Until this guy is caught, yes, I do,” James replied.

Outside Deborah was talking to the guard.

“So I understand you will be going with him when he is released,” Deborah stated.

“Yes,” the guard replied.  “I will be part of the nonstop police protection we will have on him until this lunatic is caught.”

“Once you get to the mansion, you will discover that Mrs. Whitney has hired bodyguards from practically the whole family,” Deborah informed him.”

“Does she really think they are all in danger?”  The guard asked.

“I’m starting to think she is hiding something,” Deborah answered.  “I can’t ask her what because I am one of her least favorite people.”

Around the corner a shadowy figure was listening to the conversation and silently pounding his fist against the wall.  He was not happy.

 

The next morning Lyle and Charlotte were in the kitchen at the Whitney mansion preparing to leave for the foundation.

“You are looking cheerful this morning,” Lyle noted.  “I guess that has to do with seeing Mr. Garrison last night.”

Charlotte didn’t say anything but just smiled.

“Are we going back to Ryan’s Pub tonight or are you finally going to call him?”  Lyle asked.

“I haven’t decided,” Charlotte told him.

“And eventually you are going to have to tell him who you are,” Lyle stated.  “He almost found out last night when he heard us talking.”

“Yes, he heard me say I was worrying that he had found out,” Charlotte said.  “Of course, I told him what I meant by him finding out was that I had been married.  Not that I was a Whitney.”

“That’s all you told him?”  Lyle questioned her.  “You didn’t tell him how many times you have been married?”

“Not now,” Charlotte responded as she opened the door between the living room and the kitchen.

A tall women dressed in black was in the living room.  She was walking around looking at the place.  She looked confused and didn’t seem to be American.

Lyle pulled Charlotte back into the kitchen.  “Do you know who that is?”

“No,” Charlotte responded.

“Stay here and let me find out,” Lyle told her.

Lyle entered the living room as the women dug for something in her pocket.  Her back was to him so she didn’t see him.

“Oh my, she may have gun,” Lyle whispered to himself as he ran across the room and tackled the woman to the ground.

But before Lyle knew it, the woman had flipped him over and had him pinned to the ground.

“Charlotte, run,” Lyle yelled.

“Fräulein Whitney,” the women shouted with a German accent.  “Fräulein Whitney.”

Raven came running into the room from the study followed by Sky.  Charlotte entered from the kitchen.

“Oh Lyle, I see you have met Broomhilda,” Raven stated.  “She is going to be Gordon’s bodyguard.”

“Oh, I didn’t know,” Lye said as he tried to break free from Brommhilda’s hold.”

Robert walked down the stairs laughing at what he saw.

“I’m sorry,” Lyle started to say.  “All I saw was a strange woman in the living room that I didn’t recognize.  Then she reached for something in her pocket so I panicked.”

Broomhilda reached in her pocket and pulled out a tube of chapstick.  “Don’t you people use lip balm in this country?”

“You’ll were not around earlier when we introduced her to the Scotts and Deborah,” Sky informed Charlotte and Lyle.

“And I still haven’t met who I am protecting,” Broomhilda stated.

“Yes, Gordon and Geri are apparently still sleeping,” Robert informed them.

“Well, we need to get to the foundation,” Lyle said to Charlotte changing the subject.

“Yes, we do,” Charlotte agreed as she headed for the door.  “Let me know how James is doing.”

“I will,” Raven responded.

As Charlotte opened the door, there was a messenger at the door.  “I have a delivery for a Gordon Whitney of Whitney Investigations,” he announced.

“I can take that,” Sky told the messenger as Charlotte and Lyle walked passed him.

Under the sofa in the living room, Lyle’s cell phone was sticking out.  It had fallen out of his pocket during his scuffle with Broomhilda.

 

Across town, Mae was meeting with Dr. Hughes.

“I have been very impressed with you the last couple days,” Dr. Hughes informed her.  “You were even early today.  That’s a big change from when I first saw you.”

“Thank you,” Mae responded.

“Are you ready to continue?”  Dr. Hughes asked.  “You said you would talk about Larry’s death today.”

“Yes,” Mae replied.  “It’s about time.”

“Begin when you are ready,” Dr, Hughes told her.

“Like I said before, we were in the garage of the house where we had answered the domestic violence call,” Mae started to say.   “The husband had killed the wife.  He was holding my partner Larry at gun point.”

“I remember,” Dr. Hughes told her.  “He told you that he wanted to get in the car and leave.  And then he fired the warning shot into the ceiling.”

“Yes,” Mae replied.  “He had gotten angry when I told him that I couldn’t let him leave.  I still had my gun on him.”

“How was Larry during all of this?”  Dr. Hughes inquired.

“He didn’t say much,” Mae replied.  “He said something like I’m sorry he got me by surprise.  But the guy wouldn’t let him say much more.  But I remember Larry’s eyes, he was scared.”

“Then what happened?”  Dr. Hughes questioned her.

“I tried to go by the police play book,” Mae answered.  “I told him that I couldn’t let him leave.  That no one else needed to get hurt.”

“And what was his reaction to that?”  Dr. Hughes asked.

“It made him madder,” Mae told her.  “I was waiting for back up but they were taking for ever to get there.  He pressed a button to open the garage door.  He was determined to leave.”

“And then?”  Dr. Hughes inquired.

“I told him to freeze because he was moving toward his car, and that is when it happened,” Mae told her as she fought back tears.  “He shot Larry in the head.  With no warning.  Why did he do it?  Back up then pulled up almost immediately right after in the drive way.”  Mae started to cry.

Dr. Hughes handed her some tissue.

“Why didn’t I take the guy out?”  Mae questioned herself.  “I had a shot at him.  If I had done that, Larry would still be alive.”

“You don’t know that for sure,” Dr. Hughes told her.  “You are a cop, and you are required to make split second decisions.”

“And I made the wrong one,” Mae stated.

“You were cleared of wrong doing,” Dr. Hughes reminded her.

“But it still doesn’t change the way I feel, and the way other officers on the force feel,” Mae told her.  “I knew they blamed me for Larry dying.”

“And I guess that is one of the reason you decided to come to Monticello?”  Dr. Hughes asked.

“Yes,” Mae replied.

“And I don’t know if you realize it or not, but you made progress today,” Dr. Hughes said.  “A lot of progress.”

“How so?”  Mae inquired.

“First off, you talked about it,” Dr. Hughes responded.  “Second, you did not say you killed him.  Those were the exact words you used when you were in my office the first day.”

“I remember,” Mae told her.

“So you know no longer feel like you killed Larry?”  Dr. Hughes questioned her.

“No,” Mae replied.  “But I still feel responsible.  If not partially so.”

 

At the District Attorney’s office, Victor sat at this desk looking at the newspaper, and he was not happy.  The poll in the paper had James leading him in the race for District Attorney.  “It’s hard to attack a sick man while he is down,” Victor mumbled to himself.

“What’s that?”  Suzanne asked as she entered the office.

“It’s frustrating,” Victor told her.  “James entered this race at the last minute, and I do not know what to do.  He’s hired the best campaign manager there ever was-William Church.  The man came out of retirement for this.  I didn’t even have time to hire a campaign manager.  I didn’t think that I would need one.”

“You can’t be so hard on yourself,” Laurie said to him as she entered the office.

“It’s hard not to,” Victor told her.  “But I have an as starting to run a television ad today.”

“You are?”  Laurie inquired.

“Yes,” Victor told her.  “It’s just a commercial emphasizing my experience.  It doesn’t attack James or even mention him.  I hope that helps.”

“I’m sure it will,” Laurie told him.

“I hope so,” Victor stated.

“Can you excuse me?”  Suzanne asked as she left the office.  “I am still familiarizing myself on current case files.”

“Yes, please go ahead,” Victor told her.

As she left the office, Victor looked at Laurie.  “So what do you think of her so far?”

“She does know her stuff,” Laurie responded.

“She should,” James stated.  “She worked in James’s law office.”

“Is that the only reason you hired her?”  Laurie inquired.

From the look on his face you could tell that Victor was not happy with the question.  “She is going to pick up a lot of the office work, so you can spend more time on my campaign.  We are in the final stretch.  I need you to focus on it.”

Before Laurie could respond both of them were taken by surprise when Nathan arrived.

“Well, look who finally decided to come to work,” Victor said.

“Did the police talk to him?”  Laurie asked.

“I don’t know,” Victor responded.  “But let’s find out.  Get him in here.”

Laurie left the office, and returned with Nathan following her.

“I know I have a lot of explaining to do,” Nathan told them.

“I will leave you two alone,” Laurie said.

“No, that’s alright you can stay,” Nathan stated.  “I’m not keeping any more secrets.  I’m here to explain the way I have been acting.”

“And why is that?”  Victor asked.

“I have been worried about Didi,” Nathan told them.  “I went to the hospital to see her after I found out that she was poisoned like James.”

“Why were you so concerned?”  Laurie asked.

“Yes, why were you?”  Victor inquired.

“Because she is my girlfriend,” Nathan informed.

Victor and Laurie’s faces lit up in shock.

“Girlfriend?”  Victor responded.

“I like to think it is more serious than that,” Nathan told them.  “We were involved when we were both in Capitol City, and we just recently got back together.”

“Well, good for you two,” Laurie stated.

“Thank you,” Nathan responded.  “We have been keeping a low profile since we hadn’t had a chance to tell her son.  But now that he knows we don’t have to do that.”

“So Calvin knows?”  Victor inquired.

“Yes,” Nathan replied.  “He found out last night.”

“And how did take the news?”  Victor asked.

“Well..”  Nathan tried to respond but was having problems trying to think of what to say.

“That’s okay,” Laurie stated cutting him off.  “We are happy for you both.”

 

Out in the hall, Suzanne entered the Ladies Room, and locked the door behind her.

She picked up her cell phone and dialed a number.

“Swift and Associates,” Katherine said as she answered the phone on the other end at the law office.

“Could I speak to Mr. Church?”  Suzanne asked.

“Just a moment,” Katherine responded.

“This is William Church, who is this?”  William asked as he picked up the receiver.

“A friend,” Suzanne responded.  “I just thought you might want to know that Victor Dallas is going to start running a new campaign ad today.  It is touting his experience.  It’s is not going to mention James at all though.”

“Well, thank you for that information,” William told her.

“It’s my pleasure,’ Suzanne told him.  “It is the least I can do to help James’s campaign.”

 

Leave a Reply

