Cries in the Night: Chapters 33 & 34

Cries in the Night: Chapter 33

 

At Monticello General, the guard opened the door into James room, as he and Chris entered with guns drawn.

Raven, Sky, and Mae stood off to the side as everyone around the floor began to take notice of what was happening.

“He has to be all right!” Raven cried to Sky.

“He will be,” Sky responded.

“Get away from him,” Chris yelled as she saw Suzanne standing on side of James’s bed.

“What is going on?” The shocked Suzanne asked.

“Move away from him,” Chris repeated.

“You don’t understand,” Suzanne started to say before Chris cut her off.

“No, you don’t understand,” Chris yelled. “I’m not going to repeat myself again. Move away from him.”

“Fine,” Suzanne said reluctantly.

“Are you okay, Mr. Swift?” The guard asked. “Did she hurt you?”

“I didn’t do anything?” Suzanne responded.

“I’m not talking to you,” the guard shouted.

“Yes,” James finally answered. “I’m fine. We were just talking.”

“See, there is nothing to be alarmed about,” Suzanne stated.

“That’s what you think,” the guard replied.

“You have a lot of explaining to do,” Chris told her. “For starters why did you sneak into James’s hospital room in a nurse’s uniform?”

“I can explain all that,” Suzanne said.

“Not now,” Chris stated. “Madison,” she yelled as Mae came running into the room.

“Yes, chief,” Mae responded as she entered.

“Cuff Ms. Ross, and take her into custody,” Chris commanded.

“What?” A shocked Suzanne questioned.

“I don’t think you need to do that,” James stated.

“Please let us do our job,” Chris told him as they led Suzanne out of James’s room. “I’ll be back to talk with you shortly.”

“Is it finally over?” Raven asked as she saw them take Suzanne out the room.

“Just let us do our job right now,” Mae told her.

“I need to see him,” Raven stated.

“We should probably let the doctor check him out first,” Sky said.

“Yes, you should,” Chris responded. “But he seems like he is doing well.”

“I didn’t do anything to him!” Suzanne yelled.

“Quiet,” Mae ordered her.

“Let me through,” a voice yelled from the crowd that had assembled in the hall way. Matthew appeared as the crowd dispersed to let him pass.

“Where have you been?” Chris asked him.

Matthew paused for a second. “I had a personal errand,” Mathew told her not wanting to let her know that he was with Nikki.

 

Downstairs in the ER, someone had informed Calvin that an arrest had been made in James’s room.

“I should go see what is going on, but I don’t want to leave you alone here,” Calvin said to Didi.

“I’ll be okay,” Didi told him. “The doctors are watching me. Go do your job.”

Calvin just stood there for a second hesitating.

“Go do you job,” Didi repeated.

“Fine,” Calvin said as he got up and gave his mother a kiss as he left the room.

He grabbed one of the ER doctors as he exited the room.

“I need to get back to work,” Calvin informed the doctor. “But I want to have someone stay with my mother until I am able to be with her. Is that okay?”

“That shouldn’t be a problem,” the doctor responded. “Who is it?”

“Her boyfriend,” Calvin informed the doctor. “I just need to find his number.” Calvin paused and thought for a second. “I should be able to get a message to Judge Newcombe who could get in touch with father, Julius.”

 

Back upstairs, Chris was preparing to talk to James as the doctor left the room.

“How is he?” Raven asked.

“Her ‘visit’ didn’t seem to affect him,” the doctor responded. “I still believe he is going to pull through this.”

“That’s wonderful news,” Sky stated.

“I need to see him,” Raven said.

“Not yet,” Chris told her. “Let me question him about Suzanne first. I promise I won’t be long.”

“Can’t we be in there for that?” Raven asked him.

Chris hesitated but finally responded. “Okay, but just let me ask my questions.”

As the three entered, a nurse was replacing James’s IV.

“How are you?” Raven asked him.

“I’m doing better,” James replied.

“If it is not too much trouble, can I ask you a few questions?” Chris inquired.

“Sure,” James answered.

“What did Ms. Ross do when she entered the room?” Chris asked.

“Nothing really,” James told her.

“Nothing?” Raven repeated.

Chris gave Raven a negative look.

“Please continue,” Sky said to Chris. “We will be silent.”

Chris turned back to face James.

“This is very important. Did she try to do anything?” Chris inquired.

“No, she didn’t,” James answered. “She just wanted to talk. She told me she missed me, and that she made a mistake breaking up with me.”

“And nothing else?” Chris questioned.

“She didn’t have any more time before you barged in,” James said.

“Did she give you any indication that she could be behind all this?” Chris asked.

“This?” A confused James repeated. “You mean my getting sick, and Julia’s letters? No. It can’t be her.”

“It has to be!” Raven shouted. “Who else could it be?”

“Mrs. Whitney, please,” Chris yelled.

“I’m sorry,” an aggravated Raven replied before Sky could respond for her.

“They are questioning her downtown, and we will see if they find out anything else,” Chris informed them. “She did sneak into your hospital room. But that is all we have on her right now.”

“I’m telling you I was involved her,” James started to say. “At one point, I wanted to marry her. This is not her.”

“If it is not her, and we will find out, then that brings us back to square one,” Chris stated.

“Just great,” Raven whispered.

“Do you have any other suspects?” James inquired.

“My detectives were at your law office today,” Chris informed him. “Your staff was going through your old case files to see if they could find anyone that would want to harm you or Julia. They are doing the same thing at the D.A.’s office. But we haven’t found a viable suspect yet.”

“Just great,” Raven repeated.

“I need to back to headquarters, but I will keep you updated,” Chris stated as the doctor entered.

“I’m sorry Mr. Swift really needs his rest; could you’ll leave him alone for a while?” he asked.

“I was just leaving,” Chris told him.

“And I have business I need to take care of with Gordon,” Sky stated.

“I’m leaving but I will be back,” Raven informed him. “I need to get the mansion ready.”

“For what?” James inquired.

“Everyone is staying at the mansion until we find out who is behind this,” Raven answered him. “Everyone-your siblings, Julia, her parents. And I’ve hired bodyguards.”

“And Julia has one too,” Sky mentioned.

“That’s right,” Raven said. “I will have to have extra room ready.”

“Who is her bodyguard?” James asked.

“I don’t know,” Raven replied. “Someone her father found. The police are going to continue to protect you though I also wanted to hire you a bodyguard as well.  I haven’t been able to hire one for you but maybe her bodyguard could protect the two of you since you are always together?”

 

At the law office, a forensics team arrived to remove the water cooler from James’s office.

Guthrie walked over to Deborah who was seated to the side.

“We know someone who had access to this law office had to be the one who poisoned the water cooler,” Guthrie said to her.

“I would say you are correct,” Deborah replied.

“That means I should question the people in the office now about it, they are all potential suspects,” Guthrie stated.

Yes,” Deborah shook her head agreeing with him.

“Since Calvin isn’t here, I don’t think the chief would have any problem with you questioning the suspects with me,” Guthrie told her.

“No, I don’t think she would,” Deborah responded as she stood up from her chair.

As Deborah and Guthrie moved toward everyone in the office, there was a thump outside the door.

“Are you expecting anyone else?” Guthrie asked the forensics team as Katherine walked to the door to the office.

As she opened the door, she saw a water bottle on the ground. “It must have been the water delivery man. And he is early.”

“He normally drops the bottle off when the office is closed,” Julia replied. “I think he does it so he doesn’t have to carry the bottle into the office.”

“Is he still out there?” Deborah asked.

“I don’t see him,” Katherine replied.

“I need to find him,” Guthrie stated as he left the office. “We need to talk to him.”

“If he leaves the bottle by the door, then anyone with access to the hallway could have poisoned it,” Deborah whispered to herself. “And that just increased our suspect pool.”

“We really have no use for the water bottle since CSI team are taking the water cooler,” Julia stated. “But we shouldn’t leave it out in the hallway.” Julia got up and walked toward the hallway.

“You don’t have to move it,” Bryan said as she stood up realizing that Julia was going to move the bottle herself. He took off his jacket and laid it down on a chair. Then he unbuttoned his sleeves and rolled them up a little bit. “Where would you like me to put it?”

Deborah took notice as Bryan was unbuttoning his sleeves. She could tell he had a tattoo on his wrist but she couldn’t quite make it out. She kept her eye on him as he retrieved the bottle and then put it on the floor in the office in the corner.

“See no problem,” Bryan said.

“Bryan,” Deborah began to say.

“Yes,” Bryan responded.

“I need to ask you something,” Deborah informed.

“What is it?” Bryan inquired.

“Can I see that tattoo on your wrist?”

“What?” Bryan asked shocked.

William just shook his head back and forth. “Idiot,” he whispered to himself.

“It’s nothing,” Bryan replied.

Before he could say anything see, Deborah grabbed his wrist and held it up where everyone could clearly see the tattoo on it.

“The squiggly G in the circle,” Deborah said. “That’s the symbol for the Gallahads. The Monticello P.D. is going to have some questions for you.”

 

 

In London, Beth turned off the television set that was showing the scene of an accident.

She was recalling before Adam left for Monticello that he had taken off in the new car Miles and Beth had bought him for graduation.

Adam was upset by something Miles had said. “He shouldn’t be behind the wheel when he is upset like that,” Miles kept repeating.

Miles, Beth, and April were outside the house when a policeman arrived. The officer informed them that there was an accident.

“Oh my God, Adam!” Beth exclaimed.

“Is he fine?” April inquired.

“He was very lucky,” the officer told them. “His car is probably totaled but he and everyone involved were able to walk away from it.”

“Thank God,” Beth stated.

“What happened?” Miles questioned.

“He apparently ran a stop sign,” the officer answered him. “He’s being checked out at the hospital but like I said I think everyone is going to okay.”

“That kid, sooner or later his luck is going to run out!” Miles shouted.

“Miles!” Beth shouted. “Not now. We need to go to him.”

Beth picked up her cell phone as stopped remembering. She dialed Adam’s number but he didn’t answer.   “I’m not surprised you didn’t answer,” she whispered to herself.

As walked to the kitchen, she heard Miles pull into the driveway. She looked out the window, and saw him exiting the car with a bag from a take-out restaurant she recognized.   “It’s time you two put all of this behind you,” she stated. “And I’m going to do something about it.”

 

 

At the Whitney mansion, Gordon arrived and slammed the front door.

“Where have you been?” Robert asked who was sitting on the living room couch.

“What business is it of yours?” Gordon questioned.

“We are trying to keep your family safe,” Robert responded. “You should not have been leaving the mansion unless you are with your father.”

“You got to love my bodyguard,” Geri told Gordon as she entered the other room with a drink.

“Isn’t it a little early to be drinking, even for you?” Gordon asked.

“It can never be too early,” Geri responded. “I had to deal with Nikki at the foundation this morning. Then Robert has me home in the middle of the day. I should be out shopping or something.”

“I told you we need to change up your daily routine,” Robert said. “In case someone is watching you, we don’t want to make you an easy target.”

“You’re worried about Geri being easy?” Gordon laughed.

“Enough!” Geri shouted.

“Sorry,” Gordon replied. “But I needed a good laugh today.

“What’s eating you anyway?” Geri inquired of Gordon.

Before Gordon responded, he nodded to Robert.

“Can you give us some privacy?” Geri asked Robert.

“Fine, I will go in the other room, but I won’t be that far away, so don’t try to leave the mansion,” Robert told her.

As Robert left the room, Geri turned to Gordon. “So what is wrong?”

Gordon sighed. “I screwed up big time.” Gordon informed Geri about Sky’s plan to find our more information on the Golden Eagle Corporation and Norman Garrison. He told her how he met with Norman by himself against Sky’s orders, and how things didn’t do according to plan.”

“Uh-oh,” Geri uttered.

“Dad is going to kill me when he finds out,” Gordon stated.

“Who says he needs to find out?” Geri mentioned.

“What do you mean?” Gordon questioned her. “I don’t know how long I can keep lying before he finds out. He’s called me twice in the last hour. James must be doing better for him to remember about me.”

“You’re a detective,” Geri said. “You need to lure Norman Garrison out of hiding and this time follow him to find out what his secrets are. You know like you are supposed to be doing with Katherine?”

“I’m sorry, I have been side tracked,” Gordon apologized. “Besides I refuse to believe that sweet girl has any deep dark secrets.”

“Don’t forget the conversation I overheard at the hospital,” Geri reminded him. “She was going to see someone else that night. She is obviously cheating on Adam.”

“You don’t know that,” Gordon told her.

“Well, I am going to find out,” Geri informed him. “Before my gig at the Unicorn tonight, I am going to follow her.”

“Oh brother,” Gordon mumbled. “Remember what happened the last time you followed her.” Gordon was referring to Geri getting arrested when she followed Kathrine to Mayfield.

“If you are so keen on her, why don’t you just ask her out?” Geri asked him. “It would solve a lot of problems for me.”

“I told you I have more important things to worry about,” Gordon reminded her. “What do I do about Norman Garrison?”

“We need to figure out a way to lure him out of hiding again,” Geri responded.

Across the room, the kitchen door was slightly ajar. Robert was behind it listening to their every word.

“Those stupid Whitney kids,” he chuckled.

 

At the Monticello PD, Matthew and Mae were outside an interrogation room waiting to question Suzanne.

“Are you ready to do this?” Matthew asked Mae.

“Would it be fine if you did this with Stoner?” Mae questioned him.

“What?” Matthew replied. “Why?”

“I have to do something else,” Mae responded.

“What could be more important?” Matthew inquired.

“It’s personal,” Mae answered. “Like your personal errand this morning that I’m sure had something to do with Nikki.”

“How did you know?” He asked.

“You just told me,” Mae stated.

Matthew was silent.

“I will get Stoner for you,” Mae told him as she walked away from him.

Calvin was at his desk talking on the phone.

“Thanks, Julius, I really appreciate it,” he said as he hung up the phone.

“How is your mom?” Mae asked.

“Good,” Calvin replied. “She is not as bad off as James was. She should recover quickly the doctor thinks.”

“That’s wonderful news,” Mae responded. “I need to ask you a favor.”

“Sure,” Calvin responded.

“Could you question Ms. Ross with Gantz for me?” she asked him.

“What?” A shocked Calvin replied. “Did Matthew agree to this?”

“He won’t have a problem with this,” Mae told him.

“Then sure,” Calvin said. “I don’t have a problem with that.”

“Thanks,” Mae responded.

Calvin began to walk to the interrogation room but then turned around and walked back to Mae.

“I just want you to know that I spoke to the guard at the hospital and I know what happened,” he stated.

Mae started to talk but Calvin cut her off.

“It’s fine,” he said. “I just want you to know that if you ever want to talk about it that I am here for you. No judgments.”

“Thanks,” Mae told him.

“Now let me go see what Ms. Ross is hiding,” Calvin said as he walked toward the interrogation room.

After Calvin was out of her sight, Mae went to Chris’s office, and knocked on the door. There was no answer.

“Chief, are you here?” She asked as she opened the door. Mae looked around the room. “Good, she isn’t back yet.” Mae closed the door behind her.

 

In the interrogation room, Matthew and Calvin were butting heads about who was leading the questioning.

“I keep telling you that I know nothing about who is harassing Julia,” Suzanne told them. “And I would never hurt James.”

“Then why did you sneak into his hospital room disguised as a nurse?” Matthew asked.

“I wanted to see him,” Suzanne replied. “Is that a crime? We used to be a couple you know.”

Calvin motioned to Matthew and the two went out the room.

“We are not making progress with her,” Calvin stated.

“And we have nothing to hold her on,” Matthew added. “We can’t link her to anything, and no judge would give us a search warrant for her place.

“Well we actually agree on something,” Calvin said. “Now what do we do?”

“We are going to have to let her go,” Matthew told him. “And realize she just might not be the one behind all this.”

Calvin wasn’t happy about what Mathew said but he reluctantly agreed. “Let’s give it one more shot.”

The two men returned to the interrogation room.

“Just like old times,” Suzanne said. “I was surprised to find out you two weren’t partners on the force any more. What happened?”

“We’ll ask the questions,” an upset Matthew told her.

“So you say that had nothing to do with any of this,” Calvin stated.

“That is correct,” Suzanne replied.

“Then how about you prove it to us?” Calvin asked her.

“How?” Suzanne inquired.

“Would you sign this consent form to allow us to search your place?” Calvin asked her.

“It shouldn’t be a problem if you have nothing to hide,” Matthew added.

“Sure,” Suzanne answered.

“What?” A shocked Matthew and Calvin responded.

“I said sure,” Suzanne repeated. “I told you I have nothing to hide. If I was hiding something do you think I would allow you to question me without an attorney present? I used to work in a law office. How stupid do you think I am?”

Calvin and Matthew both were silent. They were still shocked that Suzanne had agreed to the search of her place.

Suzanne pulled the consent form out of Calvin’s hand. “Hand me a pen, and I will sign it now.”

After Suzanne signed the consent form, Calvin and Matthew left the interrogation room.

“She just may be innocent in all this,” Calvin said.

“I know,” Matthew stated. “Mae and I were supposed to go over to the D.A.’s office today, and see if Victor can give us any more suspects. But if we need to search Suzanne’s place, perhaps we should go there instead. A woman’s intuition may be helpful in searching a woman’s place.”

“That’s not a bad idea,” Calvin told him. “I’ll see what is keeping Guthrie and get him to meet me at the D.A.’s office.

 

At WMON, Jody had just finished the newscast and went to the control room.

“What happened to the replay of Monticello’s Most Wanted?” She asked Jeremy.

“It’s gone,” Jeremy informed here.

“What do you mean?” Jody questioned him.

“It’s been erased from the server,” Jeremy informed. “It’s like someone deleted all trace it. We still have the raw footage. We can re-edit it but the actual program is gone without a trace.”

“Who would do such a thing?” Jody asked aloud as she noticed Angela and Martin off to the side.

Angela saw Jody looking at her. “We need to leave,” she told Martin who was on the phone. “Jody must think I did this to her.”

“Hold on a sec,” he said to her. “This is my source. We can interview her tomorrow.”

“Can I speak to you privately?” Jody asked Angela.

Angela paused for a moment, then finally nodded her head. “I’ll be back shortly,” Angela told Martin as she walked to the Ladies’ Room.

Jody saw where she was headed and followed her but was stopped by Adam who had just arrived at the studio.

“Sorry, I’m running a little late,” Adam told her. “I hope you are still hungry.”

“We can leave for lunch in a second,” Jody said. “I have to talk to someone first.”

“Okay,” Adam replied as he took a seat. He pulled his cell phone out of his pocket, and he saw that he had a message from Beth. “I’m sorry, Beth, but I am not ready to talk about Miles or anything,” he said to himself.

Jody entered the ladies room to find Angela sitting in front of the mirror pretending to touch up her hair.

“I don’t know what you hope to accomplish by deleting my segment on Monticello’s Most Wanted,” Jody started to say but Angela cut her off.

“I don’t know what you are talking about,” Angela told her. “I don’t need to do stuff like that. I have my own ideas and stories. And you have more important things to worry about.”

“What is that supposed to mean?” Jody asked her.

“Raven Whitney is furious with you,” Angela lied. “You are going to lose everything.”

“You’re bluffing!” Jody yelled.

“I don’t have to bluff,” Angela screamed. “She got tired of you ignoring her and not taking her calls or doing what she asked. She knows she can’t trust me. You lost it all: your career, your family.” Angela moved toward the door. As she opened it, Jeremy, who had heard all the screaming was standing their waiting.

“What is going on?” He asked.

“Would you like for me to tell him?” Angela asked with a sneer. “Or should he wait to hear from Raven herself.”

“What are you talking about?” Jeremy inquired.

“Your wife has been keeping secrets, but it’s all coming out now, and there is nothing she can do about it,” Angela told him as she walked passed.

“Jody, what is she talking about?” Jeremy asked his wife she as walked toward the door. “I know you have been hiding something from me so what is it. I want to know now.”

Jody tried to speak but her words started to slur a little bit. She started to tremble and breath heavy. She grabbed her chest.

“Oh no, not again,” a cameraman yelled from behind Jeremy.

“What did you do to her?” Martin asked Angela as he walked up to her.

“Nothing, we had an argument, and I was bluffing. If I knew that is all it would take to kill her, I would have done it a lot sooner.”

 

 

 

Cries in the Night: Chapter 34

 

At the law office, Deborah and Guthrie were trying to talk to Bryan after discovering that he had a tattoo that was the symbol of the gang-the Gallahads.

“It’s from a long time ago,” Bryan informed them. “It’s part of my past, that I don’t like to talk about.”

“Obviously,” Guthrie stated.

“When he was younger, he got involved with a bad crowd,” William said. “But it was only briefly, and he doesn’t hang with any of people kids any more. Besides what does this have to do with anything?”

“I’m sure you are both aware of the unsolved murder of detective Calvin Stoner?” Deborah asked them.

“Of course, I saw the story on Monticello’s Most Wanted,” Bryan told them. “Wait, you can’t believe I had anything to do with that? That happened before I was even born.”

“We have been trying to track down former members of the Gallahads, particularly someone named Tommy,” Guthrie said.

“Did you actually think I could help you locate anyone from that gang from back then?” Bryan questioned them. “I wouldn’t even know where to find people that belonged to it when I was in it. Do you think they kept membership logs are something? And I sure I don’t know any one named Tommy.”

“You are wasting our time,” William stated. “We have a campaign to run here. Bryan was hardly involved with that gang. He knows no criminal record. He was just going through a rebellious phase back them.”

“I’m sure you are right,” Deborah said. “But it is one hell of a coincidence to have a former member of the Gallahads in our midst.” Deborah just stared at him for a second.

“Well, I need to go meet Calvin at the D. A.’s office,” Guthrie stated. “Forensics doesn’t need me here. And you are keeping an eye on Julia, so I will be leaving.”

“I will walk out with you,” Deborah told him as she followed him out of the office.

“I’m sure he can’t help us with Calvin’s murder,” Guthrie said. “But that tattoo just made me look at him in whole new light.”

“Me too,” Deborah agreed. “Who knows what other secrets he could have.”

“By the way, the water delivery man was a dead end,” Guthrie informed. “I’ll verify his story but he says there is no regular water delivery guy for the law office. But he confirmed that the bottle is normally left outside the office.”

“And that increases our suspect pool as to who could have tampered with it,” Deborah said.

“I know,” Guthrie said. “I’m going see if I can get a security tape from the hallway outside the office.”

“But you shouldn’t rule anybody out from the office,” Deborah told him.

“I’m not,” Guthrie said. “In light of Bryan’s past, I’m going to look more into his background and his father as well as Katherine before I talk to all of them.”

“That’s a good plan,” Deborah said. “But my gut tells me that you need to hurry. This guy has been escalating his behavior. You need to stop him before someone else gets hurt or even killed.”

“I know,” Guthrie agreed.

 

At the foundation, Charlotte and Nikki were stuffing envelopes while Lyle watched them.

“You know you could help us,” Charlotte suggested.

“That’s not what I am being paid to do,” Lyle answered as he circled the place with his eyes.

“I really don’t think someone is after me,” Charlotte told him. “I think my mom is being over protective. James and Julia are the ones that need to be protected.”

“I may agree with you on that, but I am just doing my job,” Lyle told her.

“Geri is the one who should be back here doing this,” Nikki said. “But who knows what she is up to right now.”

Charlotte could tell Nikki was worried.

“Could you give us a minute?” Charlotte aske Lyle.

“Fine, I will go out in the hallway for a moment,” Lyle said as he left them alone.

“Are you worried that Geri is going to say something to Calvin?” Charlotte inquired.

“She knows I was with Matthew,” Nikki answered her. “She threatened to tell Calvin if I didn’t put a good word in with Adam for her.   Like I don’t have enough to worry about right now.”

“She won’t,” Charlotte responded.

“How can you be so sure?” Nikki inquired.

Charlotte picked up her phone and typed a text. It said-If you tell Calvin anything about Nikki the bet is off.

“What are you doing?” Nikki asked.

“I’m taking care of Geri,” Charlotte answered her.

Charlotte’s phone beeped to signal she had a message. Geri had responded-Okay.

“What is it?” Nikki questioned her.

“Problem solved,” Charlotte replied.

“Are you sure?” Nikki asked.

“Then let’s let her say it so you can hear it,” Charlotte said as dialed Geri’s number.

“What are you doing?” Nikki inquired.

“Relax,” Charlotte told her as Geri answered the phone. “I have you on speaker phone Geri. I just want Nikki to hear it from your own lips that you aren’t going to tell Calvin anything about anything.”

There was a pause on the phone.

Nikki started to get nervous.

“I won’t tell him anything,” Geri reluctantly said. “But I am still going to win the bet.”

When Charlotte heard the word bet so quickly ended the call.

“What bet?” A confused Nikki asked.

“It’s something stupid, nothing for you to be alarmed about,” Charlotte replied. “Now that mom wants us all staying at the mansion, we are betting over who she is going to ask to leave first,” Charlotte lied.

“Oh,” Nikki responded not sure who if she believed her or not.

“You can come back in, Lyle,” Charlotte shouted before Nikki could ask any more questions.

“Is everything okay now?” Lyle questioned them.

“Yes,” Charlotte replied. “Back to stuffing these envelopes, and I have a fund raiser to plan.”

“I almost forgot,” Lyle said as he took out his phone.

“Forgot what?” Charlotte asked.

“I found one of your baby pictures on the floor the other day, and I snapped a picture of it,” Lyle informed her as he handed her his phone. Lyle had taken a picture of the photo he found on the floor of the study before he gave it back to Sky.

Charlotte took the phone and looked at it. “Cute baby, but that’s not me,” she told him.

“Are you sure?” Lyle asked.

“I think I know what I looked like as a baby,” Charlotte stated. “That child has an almost full head of hair. All of us Whitney kids were born with bald heads. Why did you think it was me?”

“I found it on the floor of the mansion, I just assumed it was you,” Lyle lied not wanting to tell her that Sky told him that the picture was of Charlotte.

“I’m sure my mother will know who it is,” Charlotte said.

“It’s not that important,” Lyle told her.

“I’d like to know who it is,” Charlotte responded. “Where did you find it exactly?”

Lyle was scared and he wasn’t sure how to respond to Charlotte. But before he could answer, Nikki’s phone rang.

“It’s Dr. Samuel’s office,” she announced. She looked at Lyle and started to say something but Lyle cut her off.

“I’ll go back out into the hallway,” he said as he walked out the door.

“Thanks!” Charlotte shouted to him. Charlotte turned her focus to Nikki. Nikki wasn’t saying much on the phone so she couldn’t decide if it was good news or bad news.”

“Okay, I will see you in the morning,” Nikki told him as she hung up the phone.

“What is it?” Charlotte asked.

“He doesn’t know yet,” Nikki answered as she started to cry. “He should have some results in the morning so he wants to see me then.”

Charlotte put her arms around her. “It’s going to be fine. You will make it through this. If you want, I will go with you in the morning.”

“Thanks,” Nikki replied as her phone rang. “Oh great,” she said as she looked at the name.

“Who is it?” Charlotte inquired.

“Calvin,” Nikki replied. “You don’t think Geri told him anything do you?”

 

At the D.A.’s office, Guthrie arrived to find Calvin walking in right ahead of him.

Calvin was putting his phone back in his pocket.

“Any news?” Guthrie asked.

“No,” Calvin replied. “I was just trying to reach Nikki. I know she is dodging my calls.”

As they entered, Victor invited them into his office.

“Do you have any news?” He asked them.

They had informed him that James appeared to be doing better, and that they had caught Suzanne sneaking into James’s hospital room.

“So she is behind all this?” Victor asked them.

“Off the record,” Calvin began to say. “I don’t think so.”

“But have you been going through Julia’s case files here?” Guthrie asked.

“Yes, anything I could do to help,” Victor answered.

“Did you find anything?” Guthrie inquired.

Victor picked up his phone on his desk, and punched a button. “Mom could you come in here for a moment?” He put the phone down. “My mom has been helping out in the office. She has looking through Julia’s old case files. I figured a fresh pair of eyes would be good.”

The door to the office opened, and Laurie entered. “Is there something I can do for you?”

“I understand that you have been going through Ms. Scott’s old case files,” Guthrie started to say. “Is there anyone in there that threatened her?”

“Someone that you think could be behind all this?” Calvin asked.

“No one that I have come across yet,” Laurie replied. “And I don’t won’t to implicate someone who is innocent.”

As Laurie was speaking there was a knock on the door. She opened it to find Nathan on the other side.

Nathan was shocked to see Calvin in the office.

“Do you want something?” Victor asked him.

“I have that plea deal in the car burglaries you wanted to look at,” Nathan informed him.

“Leave it, and I will take a look at it,” Victor told him.

“Detective Stoner, how is your mother?” Nathan asked him. “I thought you would be with her.”

“I was,” Calvin replied. “But she I doing okay. Do you know my mother?”

“Yes,” Nathan responded. “We use to work together in Capitol City.”

“I see,” Calvin replied. “Can you excuse us?”

“Sure,” Nathan replied as he left the office and closed the door.

Guthrie and Calvin just looked at each other as he left.

“Is something wrong?” Laurie inquired.

“Could you leave us alone with Victor?” Calvin asked her.

“She can stay,” Victor told them. “If you want to talk about Nathan she should be here. We both know he is hiding something.”

Laurie looked at the office window to see Nathan leaving. “Where is he headed again?”

“I don’t know,” Victor responded. “Another one of his disappearing acts. Do you suspect him?”

“Anything I say stays here,” Calvin said to them.

“You have our word,” Victor told them.

“The chief informed us that Nathan showed up at the hospital earlier,” Guthrie informed them.

“So that is where he disappeared to,” Laurie mentioned.

“What was he doing there?” Victor asked them.

“Sometimes killers like to check on the status of their victims personally,” Guthrie informed them.

“So do you think it is him?” Laurie questioned them.

“He is a suspect,” Calvin told them. “He told the chief he knew my mom too. He could have gone to check up on her. If they are friends, he didn’t intend to hurt her. He could have gone to make sure you she is okay, and he may have even felt guilty that she got caught in the crossfire.”

“I have been keeping a close eye on him,” Victor informed them. “If he is the one doing this to Julia, I am going to find out.”

“I’m going to start keeping a close eye on him as well,” Calvin informed. “I want to see what my mom says about him.”

 

Back at WMON, Jeremy waited outside the Ladies Room as Adam checked out Jody.

“Are you sure you don’t want me to call an ambulance?” Jeremy asked through the door.

“No!” Jody yelled in response.

“She hasn’t been poisoned like James,” Adam informed him as he exited the Ladies Room.

“Then what is it?” Jeremy inquired.

“I’ll let her tell you,” Adam told him. “I’m going to leave. I don’t think Jody and I are going to lunch today.”

As Jeremy entered the room, Jody was sitting in front of the mirror with holding her head in her hands.

“Are you finally going to tell me what is going to tell me what is going on?” Jeremy asked her.

“Yes,” Jody sighed.

“What happened?” Jeremy questioned.

Jody looked at Jeremy. “I had an anxiety attack.”

“Anxiety attack?” Jeremy repeated. “I knew you should have gone see Dr. Samuels sooner. This could have been prevented if you had gone on medication earlier.”
“I did see him sooner,” Jody informed him. “I’ve been on anxiety medicine since the Lombard murders.”

“Since then?” A shocked Jeremy asked her. “Why so long ago? And why didn’t you tell me? This medicine can’t be helping you.   What brought on this attack? You aren’t telling me everything.”

“Would you calm down?” Jody shouted. “I am trying to tell you everything.”

“So what happened?” Jeremy inquired.

“It started when Charlotte Lombard was arrested for murder,” Jody told him.

“What did?” Jeremy asked.

Jody paused for a second. Then she finally said, “Raven Whitney started threatening and blackmailing me.”

“What!” A shocked Jeremy exclaimed. “Why would she? That doesn’t sound like her.”

“You don’t know here like I did,” Jody continued. “There are two sides to her. When I was going out with Gavin, she refused to believe her husband was a murderer. She made our lives hell.”

“But why would she do all this, and now?” Jeremy inquired.

“She wanted to protect Charlotte,” Jody answered him. “She wanted to make sure the press was on her side. She’s very protective of her kids. And now with the campaign, she wants the same favors for James. And she doesn’t want us to do anything on Alicia Van Dine.”

“I can’t believe that she would any of this,” Jeremy stated. “Our daughters have been best friends their whole lives.

“I told you I haven’t seen her act like this since before I knew you,” Jody said.

“And what about Angela?” Jeremy inquired. “What does she have to do with this?”

“She apparently has been talking to Raven,” Jody answered him. “She has been trying to use it to her advantage. I can see now she is after the anchor chair, but I don’t think Raven told her anything about the black mail.”

“What blackmail,” Jeremy asked. “What could she possibly be blackmailing you with? What could cause you to get so worked up that you would have an anxiety attack?”

Jody stood up and walked away from Jeremy. She was silent.

“You told me everything else,” Jeremy mentioned. “Don’t stop now.”

Jody turned and faced her husband. “She threatened to tell Nikki the truth.”

Jeremy’s eyes opened wide when she said that. He shook his head back and forth. “She wouldn’t dare.” Jeremy got up and began to leave.

“Where are you headed?” Jody yelled.

“I’m going to have a man to man talk with Sky Whitney,” he replied.

 

At the Karr house, April and Draper were finishing packing up their stuff in the bedroom.

“I am going to go downstairs and talk to Nancy before we leave,” she informed Draper.

“And I am going to call Julia and Deborah and tell them that they can meet us at the mansion,” Draper stated.

“Deborah is going to be staying at the mansion as well?” April asked him.

“Of course, she is Julia’s bodyguard,” Draper answered her. “Where else would she be?”

“Did you tell Raven that?” April inquired.

“No, should I have?” Draper responded.

“You know Raven will not be too happy about that,” April said as she left the room.

When April entered the living room, Nancy was hanging up the phone. Nancy seemed aggravated.

“Draper and I will be leaving soon for the mansion,” April informed Nancy as she entered the room. “I hope you are not upset with us for not staying here.”

“Of course not,” Nancy replied. “I understand why you are doing this. I just hope all of this is over soon.”

“If that is not it, they why do you seem upset,” April asked her.

“It’s my publisher,” Nancy responded. “This is turning into more than just a re-printing of my book on Geraldine.”

“How so?” April inquired.

“He wants me to add more than just an epilogue about her death,” Nancy answered. “He wants me to add other things as well.

“Like what?” April questioned her.

“More about her relationships with Kevin and Logan, and how they died,” Nancy told her. “And more on Raven. He wants more on the modern Whitneys because it would sell better.”

“I don’t think Raven would like that too much,” April stated.

“I know,” Nancy agreed. “I’m not sure what to do. But enough of that. I never got a chance to ask you today how did you sleep last night?   Have you talked to Beth?”

April stood up and walked around the room. “I called Beth, but she said she was busy. She promised she would call back soon. And…Well I had another new dream last night. It wasn’t like the others.”

“How so?” Draper inquired as he entered the living room with Mike.

“Do you really want to know?” She asked Draper.

“It wasn’t like any of the other dreams,” April repeated. “I just kept dreaming of two different images.”

“What were they?” Mike questioned her.

“One was Julia,” April answered him. “It was just images of her face mostly. She was happy. She was cheerful. Then it changed.”

“Changed how?” Draper asked.

“All of a sudden, her demeanor changed,” April told them. “She became frightened. She was scared. And that is when I saw the second image.”

“What was the second image?” Nancy inquired.

April stood silent for a second and looked at everyone in the room. “It was a gun,” she finally said.

 

Outside the law office, Gordon, Geri and Robert were all crammed into Gordon’s car.

“I can’t believe you have me following this girl,” Gordon stated referring to Katherine.

“Me too,” Robert agreed.

“Gordon, you are a detective, it’s what you do,” Geri replied. “If you don’t like it you can go back to the mansion, and deal with dad.”

“No, that’s okay,” Gordon replied not wanting to tell Sky about his meeting with Norman Garrison. “The only way they let me out of the mansion is if I agreed to say with you and Robert. I thought you were the guest DJ at the Unicorn tonight?”

“I am,” Geri replied. “We will be headed there later.”

“And Robert, you are working for me, you have to do what I tell you,” Geri stated.

“No, I don’t,” Robert told her. “I work for your parents. So don’t push my buttons. I do have to keep them updated on you.”

“Just great,” Geri replied.

“So what do you hope to find out anyway?” Robert asked as Katherine exited the building and got into a cab.

“Follow her,” Geri ordered Gordon who put the car in gear. “I’m am going to prove she isn’t this little miss innocent that she is claiming to be,” she told Robert. “I know she is cheating Adam. I heard her on the phone.”

“And if she is?” Robert inquired.

Geri wasn’t sure how to respond to that. “Just do the job you were hired to do.”

They followed the cab until it stopped outside a coffee shop, where Katherine exited that cab.

“Let’s go see what see what is up to,” Geri told them.

“Probably going get a Grand Latte,” Robert replied with a laugh.

“And make sure she doesn’t see us,” Geri ordered them.

“I am a detective,” Gordon reminded her sarcastically. “I think I can handle that.”

They stood outside the window and watched Katherine as she stood in line.

“She doesn’t seem to be meeting anyone,” Gordon noted.

“And she has the cab out her waiting for her,” Robert added.

“Would you two just be quiet and keep an eye out,” Geri told them.

“What a waste of time,” Gordon said.

The three watched as Katherine was waiting in line and then finally got her order. She then turned to leave.

“See I told you, nothing,” Gordon stated.

“Would you be quiet, and move over here so she can’t see us,” Geri said as she motioned for the men to move around the corner from the entrance.

“A big waste of time,” Gordon repeated.

Katherine exited the coffee shop and started to walk to the cab before she heard someone shout her name.

“Katherine,” a man’s voice yelled.

Geri took notice. “Where is that coming from?” She asked.

Katherine looked around the people outside. A tall older grey-haired gentleman emerged from the crowd.

“What are you doing here?” A shocked Katherine inquired. Katherine was not too pleased to see him.

“Is that any way to greet your father?” The man asked.

“Father!” Geri repeated as he eyes lit up when she heard the man say that.

“I told you to leave me alone,” Katherine stated as got into the cab and left.

As the cab left, Geri turned to face Gordon and Robert.

“The lying little tramp,” Geri told them.

“What do you mean?” Robert asked.

“Oh, you don’t know her story,” Geri began to say. “She claims her father abandoned her mother when she found out that she was pregnant.”

“That’s sad,” Robert stated.

“But that doesn’t look like the case to me,” Geri told them as she peered around the corner. “Of course if you did the job, I hired you to do, you should have found that out already.”

“Now…” Gordon started to say before Geri cut him off.

“I’m sure you just let your personal feelings get in the way,” Geri said as she started to move.

“Where are you going?” Robert asked her. “We are going to follow her father. I want to make sure he gets to meet Adam. Then Adam can see the liar that she is.”

 

Back at the law office, William and Bryan were getting into Bryan’s car to leave for the day.

“You stupid idiot,” William yelled at him.

“What?” Bryan exclaimed.

“Why did you have to act so macho and roll up your sleeves?” William asked.

“I was just trying to be helpful,” Bryan responded.

“Just plain stupid,” William repeated.

“I don’t know what you are worried about,” Bryan said to him. “You heard me. I didn’t tell them anything that would make them suspicious.”

“You should have kept your mouth shut, and let me do the talking,” William stated.

“Would you just let it go,” Bryan exclaimed. “It’s not like I told them I was a legacy member of the Gallahads.” Bryan then grabbed his father’s hand and tried to pull up his sleeve.

“Would you stop it!” William screamed at him.

“You are not as strong as you were when I was little,” Bryan told him as he was able to unbutton William’s cuff and pull up his sleeve.

“Stop it,” William repeated.

Once he pulled up the sleeve on William’s shirt, a tattoo was exposed on his wrist. The tattoo with the squiggly letter G in a circle. The same symbol for the gang the Gallahads.

“It’s not like I told them that my father was a member of the Gallahads, thus making me a legacy,” Bryan told him.

“Stop it,” William kept saying.

“They are looking for a member of the Gallahads named Tommy,” Bryan stated. “It’s not like I told them my father William Thomas Church who was a member of the Gallahads.

gtattoo

Leave a Reply

