Cries in the Night: Chapter 29 & 30

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 29

At Monticello General, Julia was still seated at James’s bedside.

“I think you should go home and get some rest,” he told her.

“I’m fine Julia,” responded.  “If I leave here, it would be go to the law office or to work on your campaign.”

“I don’t know what I did to deserve you,” James stated.  “But you need to take care of yourself.  We can’t afford to have both of us sick right now.”

“Would you please just go get some rest?”  James pleaded.  “Do it for me.”

“I don’t know if I can rest before we find out who did this to you and how,” Julia said.

“Let the police do their job,” James told her.  “I’m am better now.”

Julia just stared at him.  “It’s hard for me to say no to you.”

“Good,” James replied.

“But I will be back this afternoon to check on you,” Julia stated as she kissed him goodbye.

As Julia exited the room, she was surprised to find her father outside.

“Daddy what are you doing here?”  She asked.  “I hope you haven’t been out here all night.”

“No,” Draper responded.  “There’s someone I want you to meet.”

“Who’s that?”  Julia inquired.

As Draper spoke to her, retired Chief of Police Deborah Saxon emerged from around the corner.

“I don’t know if you two have met before,” Draper started to say.  “But this is Deborah Saxon.  She’s is going to be your bodyguard.”

“I’m here to make sure nothing happens to you until they catch the guy who is behind all this,” Deborah informed her.

Down the hall, there stood a petite red headed woman.  She was the same woman Victor had seen at the Unicorn earlier in the week.  She stared at James’s room, and she listened to their conversation.

 

At Dr. Samuel’s office, a nervous Nikki paced up and down the examination room waiting for Dr. Samuel to return.

As the door opened Nikki starting speaking out before he was even in the door.  “Let’s have it.  How far along am I?”

“You’re not pregnant,” Dr. Samuel informed her.

Nikki’s face lit up in delight as she sat down.  “You don’t how relieved I am,” Nikki said.

Nikki happiness was short lived when she realized that she still didn’t know what was wrong.  “Is it my anemia?”  She asked.

“I don’t think so,” Dr. Samuel replied.

“Then what is it?” Nikki questioned.

“There is an increase in hcG in your system, which is why you received the false positive on the pregnancy test,” Dr. Samuel explained.  “I won’t be sure what is causing that until I run some more tests.  How are you feeling besides that?”

“Nothing too much out of the ordinary,” Nikki replied.  “A little bit more fatigue but I have felt that way since I’ve had the anemia.”

“Anything else?”  Dr. Samuel inquired.

“Not much of an appetite, I guess,” Nikki responded.  “Or if I do eat, I end up throwing up.”

Dr. Samuel sat there and listened to her.  “I don’t want to alarm you, but we must take this seriously.”

 

Across town, April and Nancy were getting out of Nancy’s car.

“You didn’t say much on the way over here,” Nancy stated.

“I just can’t stop thinking about what is going on with Julia,” April told her.  “James seems to be getting better, but we don’t know who is behind this.”

“So I guess that means you didn’t dream last night?”  Nancy inquired.

“I wish I can say that,” April responded as she sat down by a tombstone.  She moved some weeds out of the way.  She could see the name on it now-“Margo Huntington Dorn”.  “If I could do it over again, I would not have had her buried with the last name Dorn.”  April swas referring to her birth mother, Margo Huntington.

margotmbst

“Eliot definitely was not a candidate for husband of the year,” Nancy mentioned.  “But what was your dream last night.”

April stood up and looked around the cemetery.  “I dreamed about Draper’s funeral again.  Well, actually after the funeral.  I was standing by his grave with my daughters.  I could see things a little more clearly now.  You and Mike were there.  And I needed to come here to confirm something.”

“What’s that?”  Nancy questioned her.

“I hadn’t been here in years,” April said.  “It’s no wonder I did not recognize it.  But this is where Draper’s grave is located in m y dream.”

“Oh my,” Nancy exclaimed.

“Do you know what that means?”  April asked.

“What?”  Nancy responded.

“It means Draper is going to die here while we are in Monticello,” April informed her.

 

At the police shooting range, Chris and Mae entered the building.

“I don’t have to be here,” Mae stated.  “I should be with Matthew.”

“Matthew will be fine looking into Curtis Reardon’s murder for a while without you,” Chris told her.  “Now let’s see how you do at target practice.”

Mae went into one of the booths, and put on earphones.  She picked up her gun and loaded it.  “Watch,” she told Chris who was in the next booth.

Mae fired at the target.  She hit all her shots in the center of the target.  “See I told you I don’t need to be here,” Mae told Chris.

Chris never responded but fired at her out target.  “We can always use practice,” she said to Mae.  “But this isn’t why I brought you here.”

“Then why am I here?”  Mae asked.

“Grab your gun, and let’s go into the next room” Chris instructed her.

As they entered the other room.  It appeared to be the same.  It had individual booths for officers to shoot at targets.

“What’s so different about being in here?”  Mae inquired.

“Take a closer look,” Chris replied.  “These targets are different.  Suspects who are firing on police don’t typically stand still.  Do they?  These targets are attached to a wire so they can swing around, “walk, jog or run” and move back and forth.  And you need to look closely at them.  They are not all criminals.”

Mae took a deep breath.  She now realized why Chris brought her here.

“Now let’s see how you do,” Chris stated.

 

At WMON, a frustrated Angela was sitting at Martin’s desk in his office when Martin entered.

“Where have you been?”  She asked him.

“I do have a job here,” Martin replied.

“We’ll James Swift is apparently doing better,” Angela informed him.  “Now can we go interview your source?”

Martin paused a moment.  “We can I just need to call her,” he started to say.  “But we may want to hold off on airing it for a couple days.  Like I told you, we don’t want the public to turn on you by thinking you are kicking a sick man while he is down.”

“Well, what am I supposed to do, while little Miss perfect Jody Travis is working on her next big story?”  Angela asked him.

“What is she doing?”  Martin questioned.

“Her next segment on “Monticello’s Most Wanted” on Alicia Van Dine,” Angela replied.

“She’s wasting her time on that,” Martin proclaimed.  “The Whitneys don’t want her to do it anyway.”

“Why do you say that?”  Angela asked him.  “Because you didn’t think of it first?  And they are re-airing the segment on Detective Stoner’s murder again tonight.  So, I’ll probably have to cut my segment short on the broadcast tonight for them to have time to re-air it.”

“Why do they keep wasting air time with that?”  Martin lamented.  “We will have to do something about that.  Just calm down, your time is coming.  I am going to make sure of that.  Besides, I thought you said you could use Jody’s reporting on Geri’s arrest to your advantage.  What are you planning?”

Angela smiled.  “I can use all this to my advantage,” she stated as she left the office.

 

At the law office, Didi and Katherine were going through files when Calvin and Guthrie arrived.

“It’s nice to see you,” Didi said to Calvin.

“I wish it were under better circumstances,” Calvin stated.  “Are you alright?  You looked tired.”

“It was just a long day yesterday,” Didi replied.

“Have you’ll uncovered anything?”  Guthrie asked.

“In regards, to someone who might want to harm Mr. Swift or Ms. Scott, no,” Katherine responded.  “From all the files we have read.  I haven’t come across anyone who might have a motive.”

“I don’t think Julia has been working here long enough to make any enemies,” Didi mentioned as she drank from her glass of water.

“That’s why we will be also visiting the District Attorney’s office as well,” Guthrie informed them.

“And from I have read, I don’t think Mr. Swift ever ended on bad terms with any of his clients,” Katherine added.

“That’s one of the reason I am sure that this is all about Julia,” Calvin mentioned.

 

Back at Monitcello General, Raven was exiting James’s room.  “Remember only people on that list are allowed to see him,” she said to the police stationed outside James’s room.

“I am aware of that,” the man answered.  “That’s why I am here.  That’s my job.”

“I will back shortly, I am just going down to the cafeteria,” Raven informed him.

As Raven entered the elevator, the petite red head from before walked toward James’s room.

From the other end of the hall, William and Bryan walked toward James’s room and tried to enter.

“You can’t enter unless you are on this list,” the police man stated.

“Don’t you know who I am?”  William asked as he sounded offended.

“It’s okay I’m Bryan Church and this is my father William,” Bryan said to the guard trying to calm his father down.  “We are running James’s campaign for District Attorney.”

“I see your names here on the list,” the police man told them.  “Now let’s see some picture identification.”

William still wasn’t happy.

“That’s alright, here you go,” Bryan said as he handed the guard his driver’s license and took William’s wallet from his pocket.”

“Is that enough?” An aggravated William asked the guard.

The petite red head turned around and began to walk the other way.  “Damn,” she whispered to herself.

 

Back at the Whitney mansion, an excited Gordon came running into Sky’s office.

“I heard from Norman Garrison,” he informed Sky.  “He wants to talk about the Towers so I set up a meeting at the detective agency for this afternoon.”

“Cancel it,” Sky told him.

“What?”  A confused Gordon asked.

“I thought you wanted to find out all we could about him, since the Golden Eagle Corporation beat you on that last business deal,” Gordon stated.

“I do,” Sky responded.  “Reschedule it for tomorrow.  I want to go the hospital to see James.  Besides, I don’t want him to think we are too desperate to sell.  I don’t want rumors going around about Whitney International.”

“Stay close to the house today,” Sky told him.  “I don’t want your mother to worry or you could come to the hospital with me.”

Geri walked into the office as Sky left to go upstairs.

“Poor Gordon, you can’t catch a break,” Geri stated.   “James is still his favorite no matter what.”

“That’s not true,” Gordon responded.

“Well, if you are not going anywhere today, you can work on my case,” Geri said.  “Find out what else you can on Katherine.  I really don’t know what Adam sees in her.”

“Why can’t you just leave her alone?”  Gordon asked her.

“If you are so keen on her, then this is your chance to prove that she isn’t hiding anything,” Geri told him.  “Besides you can console her when I take Adam away from her.”

“There you are,” Robert stated as he entered the study.  “I thought you were still upstairs, Ms. Whitney.  Are you ready to go to work?  You are running late.”

“Work?”  A shocked Geri questioned him.

“Yes, your sister Charlotte said you were supposed to be at the foundation first this morning,” Robert informed her.  “She also gave me a copy of your schedule.”

“Great,” Geri replied.  “Just great.”

 

At Dr. Samuel’s office, Nikki was leaving in a state of shock when she saw Matthew in the hallway outside.

“What are you doing here?”  She asked.

“I…” Matthew tried to say.  “Well, I overheard you last night that you were seeing Dr. Samuel today, and you didn’t seem too happy about it.  So I thought you might need some support.”

“You were eavesdropping last night, and you are spying on me today,” Nikki exclaimed.  “I can’t believe you.”

“No, that’s not the case,” Matthew insisted.  “I was on my way to an investigation, and I wanted to see if you were alright.”

“Oh please, Matthew stop with your lies,” Nikki stated as walked toward the elevator.

“I just want to make sure you are alright,” Matthew insisted.

Nikki just paused for a second, and then broke down in tears in Matthew’s arms.

“I don’t know if I will ever be alright,” she cried.

 

At the shooting range, Mae stared at Chris and then picked up her gun.  “Watch me,” she told Chris.

She fired at the targets on the range.  Then when they started to move she hesitated.  In her head she saw her former partner whose picture she had in her apartment.  She heard him calling out to her.  “Madison, Madison.”

“What are you waiting for?”  Chris asked her.

Mae paused for a few moments.  Chris was watching her which added to the pressure.  She tried to make eye contact with the targets but didn’t fire.  She recalled the domestic violence call that she and Larry had answered.  Larry went to the back door while she knocked on the front door.  She knocked repeatedly but there was no answer.  She knocked the door in, and drew her gun as she entered the house.

“What are you waiting for?”  Chris repeated which stopped Mae from remembering.

“Just give me a second,” Mae told her.

“You won’t have a second to spare in real life,” Chris stated.

Mae started firing at the targets again.  Her aim was not as good as it was on the other range.  She hit one last target then she stopped.  She put her gun down and just froze.

“I see you noticed what you just did,” Chris stated.  “You shot an innocent person.”

“Damn you,” Mae yelled at her.

“I’m not trying to make you mad at me,” Chris informed her.  “I’m trying to help you.  We have to make life or death decisions every day.  I want to make sure you are prepared and ready.”

“So I don’t lose another partner,” Mae whispered to herself.  “Do you have any idea how guilty I feel about that?  Not a day goes by that I don’t think about him or what I did.”

“I understand it well,” Chris stated.  “I lost a partner as well.  But I know you can work through it and move on like I did.  Let Dr. Hughes help you.”

“Alright you made your point,” Mae said.

 

At Monticello General, William and Bryan left James’s room as the short red head watched them.

“He looks great,” William told Bryan.  “Set up an interview with Jody Travis at WMON so the public can see how well he is doing.”

“Shouldn’t we talk to his doctor or the police about that first?”  Bryan asked.

“That’s not what I told you to do,” William responded.

After they left a nurse walked up to the door.

“I’m here to check on Mr. Swift’s IV,” she told the guard.

“Sure, go right on in,” the guard at the door responded.

“Now that’s an idea,” the red-headed woman whispered to herself.

 

At the Whitney mansion, a bored Gordon sat on the sofa flipping the channels on the remote control to the television.

“I can’t stay inside her all day, I will go crazy,” he said to himself.  “I don’t know what my mother is worried about.  Because unlike James I can protect myself.”

He placed the remote down on the end table as his cell phone rang.

“Whitney Investigations,” he said as he answered it.

“Ah, is this Gordon Whitney?” the voice on the other end asked.

“Yes, it is,” Gordon replied as he realized who the voice on the other end of the line was.  “Mr. Garrison is that you?”  Gordon asked.

“Yes, I was calling to confirm my appointment with your father and you this afternoon,” Norman informed him.

Gordon paused for a second.  He remembered what Sky told him about canceling the appointment.   “Well, you see…” he started to say before he changed his mind.  “Yes, we will meet you at Noon.   But instead of my dad’s office we will be meeting at my Detective Agency in the Whitney Towers.”

“Great, I will see you then,” Norman stated as he hung up the phone.

“I can do this on my own, dad, you will see,” Gordon said to himself.

 

At WMON Jody sat at her desk typing at her computer when Angela came and sat down next to her which surprised Jody.

“Is something wrong?”  Jody asked.

“We need to talk,” Angela told her.

“About what?”  Jody inquired.

“I think you might want to go somewhere more private,” Angela stated.

“Why?”  A confused Jody questioned her.

Angela got up and walked to the ladies’ rest room.

Jody hesitated then got up and followed her into it.

“We’re alone,” Angela stated as she sat down in front of the mirror.

“What is this about?”  Jody asked.

“It’s about Raven Whitney,” Angela informed her.

“What?”  A shocked Jody exclaimed.

“Yes, we have become such good friends,” Angela said.  “She really is a remarkable woman.

“And?”  Jody inquired.

“She was really upset that you reported on Geri’s arrest last night,” Angela told lied.  “And she wasn’t too happy either when I told her that you decided to do that Monticello’s Most Wanted segment on Alicia Van Dine despite what she said.”

“What?”  Jody asked.

“You heard me,” Angela told her.  “She is really upset with you.  She thought about telling everyone your secret.”

“What!”  Jody exclaimed.

“That’s right,” Angela said.   “But I calmed things over with her for you.”

“What are you talking about?”  Jody inquired.

“Jody, don’t play dumb with me, I know what you have been hiding,” Angela lied again.  “But I managed to calm Mrs. Whitney down.  She’s agreed to keep your secret as long as you step down from the anchor desk.”

“You’ve got to be kidding,” Jody shouted.

“I wouldn’t kid about something like that,” Angela stated.

‘You’re bluffing!” Jody exclaimed.  “Just get out of her.  Get out!”

“As you wish,” Angela said as she exited with a smirk on her face.

Jody sat down at the mirror and started to cry.  “She has to be lying.  She just has to be.”

 

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 30

In his office, Adam was going through his voice mail messages.  Katherine called to update him on James.  Jody had called to remind him that they had a lunch date that day after the noon newscast.

“I almost forget about that with all the excitement going on around here,” he said to himself.

Beth had left a message next to check up on him.  She also asked him to talk to Miles.  The last call was a hang up.  He looked at the number, and saw that it was Miles’s cell phone number.

“Now what could he possibly want to tell me,” Adam wondered.

Adam recalled when he was packing for his move to Monitcello.  April and Beth were following behind him to make sure he didn’t forget anything.

“You’ll are driving me crazy,” he said.

“We just want to sure you take everything you need,” April told him.

“I am an adult now; I think I can handle that on my own,” Adam responded.

“Yes, you have grown up so fast,” April stated.

“And we are all so proud of,” Beth said.

“I think he knows that,” April mentioned.  “Besides the fact that he has a new car sitting in the driveway.”

“I don’t know how I am supposed to get that to Monitcello,” Adam said.

“And we are all going to miss you,” Beth told him.

“I know Julia is excited to see you,” April mentioned.  “And when was the last time you saw your cousin Nikki?”

“It’s been a good while,” he replied.  “And it’s going to be weird to see where my parents lived.”

April and Beth stood there in silence.

“You know, I meant Adam and Nicole,” he stated.  “I bet people there have a lot of stories they could tell me about them.  I didn’t mean to upset you Beth by saying that.”

“That’s okay,” Beth responded.  “You father is downstairs in his study, he wants to see you before you leave.”

“I will,” Adam told her.  “If you two could leave me alone to finish packing.”

April and Beth left the room as Adam zipped up his suitcase and took a look around the room.  “I guess I should get this over with.”  He left the room and went down the stairs.  He could hear everyone talking in Miles’s study.

“Can you believe we have another doctor in the family?”  April asked.

“I’m so proud of him; he has overcome so much to get to where he is,” Beth stated.

‘Yes, he did,” Miles agreed.  “We all have.”

“It’s all in the past,” Beth said.

“Yes,” Miles sighed.

“He still blames me,” Adam yelled as he passed by the study.  “He’s never going to forgive me for them losing the baby.”  Adam ran to the kitchen, grabbed the car keys, and left the house.

 

At the foundation, Geri and Robert arrived to find Charlotte on the phone with Lyle watching her.

“You’re not too late today,” Charlotte stated as she hung up the phone.

“I have her schedule, and I will see to it that she is here on time,” Robert said.

“Thanks,” Charlotte told him.

“Just great,” Geri complained.

“Do you think you can finish this mail out today?”  Charlotte asked her.  “And try to answer the phone.  I’m having lunch with someone to plan a fundraiser.”

“You couldn’t have Lyle do that?”  Geri inquired.

“That’s not what he is here for,” Charlotte reminded her.

“Fundraiser for what?”  Geri asked.

“The missionaries in Uganda,” Charlotte answered her.

“Uganda?”  Geri questioned her.  “Isn’t that where Andrew is at?”

“So what if it is,” Charlotte said.

“Andrew isn’t that your ex-husband?”  Lyle inquired.

“One of them,” Geri responded.

“One of them?”  Robert questioned.   “How many has there been?”

“Three so far,” Geri answered him.

“That’s enough,” Charlotte stated.  “Can you get to work now?”

“Yes, he was a missionary,” Geri mentioned.  “Charlotte thought that’s what she wanted to do.  She lasted out there less than a month.  Are you trying get him back?”

“Enough,” Charlotte repeated.  “You might not understand it, but most people don’t have ulterior motives when they do something.”

Geri just gave her a glance as she sat down at one of the desks.

“Lyle and I will be back in a couple hours,” Charlotte informed her.  “I may go check on James at the hospital before I come back.  But I also might have to go dress shopping too.  I might need to buy a nice dress for the fundraiser.  Something to match Aunt Geraldine’s pearls.”

Charlotte smiled at her as she left.

“What was that about?”  Lyle asked.

“She is just trying to get on my nerves,” Geri replied as she kicked the trash can and knocked it over.

Robert knelt down to pick up everything that had fallen out.  “If that is all it is, you shouldn’t let her get to you like that.”

“Easier said than do,” Geri stated.

“What’s this?”  Robert asked as he picked up a stick off the floor.

Geri looked at it.  “It’s a pregnancy test,” she responded.  “And it’s positive.”

“Charlotte’s pregnant?”  Robert questioned.

“Not Charlotte, but I know who it has to belong to,” Geri informed him.

 

At the coffee shop Matthew brought Nikki a bottle of water.  “You need to calm down and relax.   You are worrying me the way you are acting,” he told her.

“Thanks,” Nikki replied.  “You are being so kind, and I don’t deserve it.  This should be one of the best times of my life, and I can’t enjoy it.

“What do you mean?”  Matthew asked her.

“I got accepted to Julliard,” Nikki informed him.

“That’s wonderful,” Matthew said.  “That was always your dream.”

“Yes, but unfortunately Calvin doesn’t understand that,” Nikki stated.  “I don’t think he understands how important this is to me.”

“Then shame on him for that,” Matthew told her.  “What are you going to do?”

“Calvin had me so mad, and I had to let them know as soon as possible, so I told them this morning that I was definitely going to attend.” Nikki informed him.

“Congratulations,” Matthew said.

“It’s not that easy, and please don’t tell anyone yet,” Nikki pleaded with him.

“What else is going on?”  Matthew inquired.

“Something is wrong with my health,” she informed him.  “Dr. Samuel ran some tests this morning, and now I have to wait and see.”

“Is it your anemia?”  He asked.

“He’s not sure,” Nikki replied as she started to cry.

Matthew came and put his hands around her.  “Don’t worry you will get through this.  I will make sure of that.”

 

At the law office, everyone was surprised when Julia arrived with Deborah.

“Ms. Scott, what are you doing here?”  Katherine asked.

“We do have a law office and a campaign to run,” she responded.

“You need your rest, I bet you were at the hospital all night with Mr. Swift,” Katherine said.

“I’m okay,” Julia replied.  “I need to keep myself busy.  And I’m going back to check up on James later.”

“I’m Deborah Saxon by the way,” Deborah said introducing herself to Katherine.

“I’m sorry,” Julia stated.  “I forgot to introduce you two.  She is going to be protecting me.  Like a bodyguard.”

“Bodyguard?”  William Church questioned as he entered the office with Bryan.

“Yes,” Deborah replied.  “Until we can find out who is behind all this and put a stop do it.”

“Well, try not to get in the way of James’s campaign,” William stated like he didn’t care what Deborah had to say.

“Please forgive him,” Bryan told Deborah.  “My dad has kind of a one track mind when he is managing a campaign.”

William totally ignored what Bryan had said.

“So what are you two doing here?”  Deborah asked Calvin and Guthrie who were standing off to the side.

“We are trying to find out who did this to James,” Calvin answered.

“Katherine has been kind enough to go through all of James’s files to help us find someone with a motive,” Guthrie informed her.

“Any luck?”  Deborah asked him.

“None so far unfortunately,” Guthrie answered.  “But there are still a lot of files to go through.  And we also are going to look into Julia’s cases as the District Attorney’s office.”

While Guthrie was speaking, Didi entered the office breathing heavy.

“What’s wrong?”  Calvin asked her.

“I’m nauseous,” she replied.  “I started feeling bad last night.”

“Nauseous?”  Julia repeated.  “And the breathing heavy that’s what the doctor at the ER said we the early signs of James’s Tetrahydrolozine poisoning.”

Everyone in the office froze for a second after Julia said that.

“Mom I need to get you to the hospital,” Calvin exclaimed.

“Are you sure?”  Didi asked.  “I don’t think it’s that bad.”

“We’d rather be over reacting than not do anything at all,” Guthrie stated.  “You can take her, and I will stay here.”

 

At WMON, Jody exited the ladies room to find Jeremy waiting for her.

“Do you want to tell me what is going on?”  He asked her.

“What do you mean?”  Jody replied.

“Angela is sitting at the news desk,” Jeremy informed her.  “She says you told her that she could do the noon newscast.”

“What?”  A shocked Jody responded.

“That’s what I thought,” Jeremy told.  “She out of her mind.  You couldn’t have possibly told her that.”

Jody paused for a second and recalled everything she and Angela talked about in the bathroom about Raven.  Did Angela know what she was talking about?  Jody took a deep breath and went to the news desk.

“Angela I believe you are sitting in my chair,” she announced nervously but sternly.  “Can you please move?”

“Are you sure you want me to do that?”  Angela asked her and just stared at her.

Jody paused for a second.  “Yes, and now please move,” Jody shouted louder.

Angela quickly exited the desk and went to the corner where Martin was.

“What happened?”  Martin asked her.

“She tougher than she looks,” Angela responded.  “The bitch called my bluff.”

 

 

At the District Attorney’s office, Victor was looking though a folder on his desk when Laurie entered.

“You’ve been in here all day, are you ever coming out?”  Laurie asked him.

“When I figure something out,” Victor responded as he dropped the folder he was looking at on his desk.

“What’s that?”  Laurie inquired.

“The employment folder on Nathan,” Victor answered her.

“What?”  Laurie questioned.  “Do you still think he is behind everything happening to Julia?”

“He could be,” Victor answered her.  “He is definitely hiding something either way.  And I can’t afford to take any chances.  I already lost Julia to James Swift and I am not going to lose the District Attorney’s office as well.”

“I heard James is doing better,” Laurie mentioned.

“I know,” Victor replied.  “He needs to get better quicker so I can start attacking him the in the campaign.  I’m running out of time.”

“Are you worried about losing the race,” Laurie asked.

“I try not to think about it, but honestly if I had to choose between the D.A.’s race and Julia, I would choose her,” Victor stated.

“You need to let her know how you feel,” Laurie told him.

“I try,” Victor said.  “That’s why I am determined to find out who is harassing her and put a stop to it.  I want to show her how much she means to me.”

“And you are sure that person is Nathan?”  Laurie asked.   “Is there anyone else that it could be?”

Victor thought for a second.  Then his face lit up like a light bulb.

“What is it?”  Laurie inquired.

“There is someone else here that could be doing this to her,” Victor informed her.  “I have to let Julia know.”

 

Back at the law office, everyone was still going through files when the phone rang.  Katherine answered it and handed the phone to Julia.  “It’s District Attorney Dallas, he says it’s important.”

“Hello,” Julia stated as she answered the phone.

“Julia, I am sorry to disturb you with James still being in the hospital but I think this is important,” he mentioned.

“What is it?”  She asked.

“In your list of suspects, did you ever consider James’s ex Suzanne Ross?”  Victor inquired.

“Yes, we did,” Julia replied.  “But we didn’t take her too seriously since she is the one that broke up with James, and she left town.”

“But she is in town,” James informed her.

“What?”  Julia questioned.

“She is back in town,” James repeated.  “I saw her at the Unicorn the other night.”

Juilia took a second to process what Victor was telling her.  “Thanks for letting me know.  The police are here and I will let them know now.”

“Wait,” Guthrie shouted before Julia hung up the phone.  “Let me talk to him first.”

Julia handed him the phone.   “Mr. Dallas this is Detective Guthrie with the Monticello P.D.,” Guthrie told him.

“Yes, how can I help you?” Victor asked him.

“My partner and I were supposed to come over to talk to you about this case this afternoon,” Guthrie said.

“That’s right we have been expecting you,” Victor stated.

“Well, we might not be able to get there until later this afternoon or I may end up going there by myself,” Guthrie told him.

“Is there a problem?”  Victor inquired.  “My partner Detective Stoner had to take his mother to the hospital so I am not sure how long he will be.”

“Just let us now,” Victor responded.  “And we are always here to help.  I hope Detective Stoner’s mother is doing well.”

The door to Victor’s office was open and Nathan was passing by when Victor said ‘detective Stoner’s mother’.  He paused to listen.

“What was that about?”  Laurie asked.

“Detective Stoner’s mother has apparently taken ill and he brought her to the hospital so the police might now make it here this afternoon,” Victor informed her.

After hearing that, Nathan hurried back to his desk.  He grabbed his jacket and left the office without saying a word.

“You see,” Victor told Laurie.  “He is acting strange and definitely hiding something.”

 

Back at the law office, Julia was informing everyone that Suzanne was back in Monitcello.

“Do you think she could be capable of this?”  Guthrie asked her.

“I really didn’t know her that well,” Julia answered him.  “But at this point I would suspect anyone and everyone.”

“What can you tell us about her?”  Deborah inquired.

“We have this,” Katherine announced as she pulled the boxed out the closet with Suzanne’s name on it.  “This is all the stuff she left behind when she left.”

Deborah opened the box and pulled out a picture.  It was of James and a woman.  “Is this here?”

“Let me see,” Julia replied.

Deborah handed her the picture and Julia looked at it.  “Yes that is her,” Julia informed them.  It was of James and the petite red head from the hospital.

 

At Monitcello General, a nurse walked to the guard at James’s door.  “I need to check his IV again,” she told the guard.

“Go right ahead,” he replied.

“Thank you,” the short petite red head stated.  It was Suzanne in a nurse’s uniform.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

