Cries in the Night: Chapters 27 & 28

Chapter 27: Cries in the Night

avlcsnap-2015-05-05-09h27m31s105

   In the waiting room of Monitcello General, everyone became silent as the doctor was speaking to Raven.

“What is it?”  Raven repeated.

“He has an extremely high level” of tetrahydrolozine in his blood,” the doctor informed him.

“What is that?”  Raven asked.

“Tetrahydrolozine is a vasoconstrictor,” the doctor replied.  “It shrinks the blood vessels.  That is what is causing his breathing problems, the tremors, and everything else.”

“So what does this mean?”  Julia questioned him.

“Well, normally we would see chronic nausea and vomiting, as well as blood pressure and breathing issues,” the doctor stated.

“And this isn’t normal?”  Raven inquired.

“No,” the doctor responded.  “He have received a large amount in a relatively short period of time.”

“How bad is it?”  Julia asked.  “And what can you do about it?”

“We are going to hook him up to a ventilator to help his breath,” the doctor explained.  “We are giving him fluids through an IV, and giving him medications but there isn’t much I else we can do.”

“What!”  Julia exclaimed.

“We have to let it pass through his system,” the doctor stated.  “And when it is out of his system he will be back to normal.”

“So all we have to do is wait for it to get out of his system,” Raven repeated.

“I wish it was that simple,” the doctor said.

“What are you telling us?”  Sky asked.

“Like I said he received such a high dosage in a short period of time,” the doctor repeated.  “If he makes it through the next 24 hours that is a good sign that he would recover.”

“If?”  Julia and Raven both shouted.

“So are you telling us the worst case scenario is that he could die?”  Sky questioned.

“Yes,” the doctor responded.  “Or he could slip into a coma.”

Julia collapsed into Draper’s arms.

“So how did this happen?”  Raven inquired.

“I was hoping you could tell me that,” the doctor stated.  “Tetrahydrolozine is the active ingredient in eye drops and nasal sprays.  There would be no reason for him to take it orally.”

When Calvin heard that he jumped to the front of the crowd.  “So are you telling us that you believe he was poisoned intentionally?”

“It would seem so,” the doctor stated.

“Oh my God, first Mr. Reardon, not this,” Julia stated.  “I need to see him.”

“Me too,” Raven said.

“Okay, I will let you go in two at a time,” the doctor replied.

“It looks like we have another case,” Guthrie told Calvin.

“Now we need to decide if they are all related,” Calvin responded.

“When he makes it through this, he is going to win in a landslide with all the sympathy votes,” William whispered to Bryan.  “Did you get that press release to WMON?”

Bryan looked at him in shock.  “Yes, but this changes everything.”

“We need to work on a new press release-immediately,” William informed him.

Bryan just stared at him.  He finally replied, “do you even care what is going on here?”

 

At WMON, Jody began the newscast by showing the clip of James passing out during his interview.  She then read the press release Bryan had sent to the station.

“Why are we still here?”  Angela asked as she stood to the side with Martin.

“Just wait,” he said.

Jody then began to read the news on the teleprompter.  “In a related story, Geraldine “Geri” Whitney was arrested last night.”  Jody paused after she said that.  That story had not been on the teleprompter earlier.

“What?”  a shocked Angela questioned Martin.  “You did this didn’t you?”

“Of course,” he replied.

“Why would you do that?”  She asked.  “I promised Raven Whitney that I would bury the story if she told me what she had on Jody Travis.”

“It’s news, it has to be reported,” Martin responded.  “And you can blame it on Jeremy and Jody.  And then didn’t you see how shocked she was when she read that.  A little more pressure on her, and she will be exiting that anchor chair.”

An upset Angela walked away from him.

 

At the law office, Didi was exiting the building as Nathan waited outside for her.

“Have you heard any news on James?”  Nathan asked her as she got into his car.

“No, I was just about to call and check up on him,” she replied.

“So where we you like to go to for dinner?”  Nathan inquired.

“I don’t feel much like eating,” Didi told him.  “I’m starting to feel bad, maybe you just better take me straight home.”

“To who’s home?”  he asked.

“Mine,” she responded.

 

Back at the hospital, Raven returned from seeing James and ran right into Sky’s arms.  “His lips and fingernails are turning blue.  I think he is getting worse.”

“I want to go see him now,” Charlotte stated.

Raven shook her head to let Charlotte know it was okay for her to go.

“Mr. and Mrs. Whitney,” Guthrie began to say.  “We really need to talk you two.”

“We need to find out who is behind this, and how it happened,” Calvin explained.

“Besides Alicia Van Dine, can you think of anyone else that has threatened your family or James?”  Guthrie inquired.

“I told you that I don’t think Alicia Van Dine is behind this,” Sky repeated.  “But James is an attorney, who knows how many enemies he could have made inside and outside of the courtroom.”

“That’s true,” Calvin stated.  “We will have to go through all his case files.”

“And how about his personal life?”  Guthrie inquired.

“Besides, Julia the only other person he had really been involved with was his former assistant Suzanne,” Sky answered.

“But she dumped him so she wouldn’t have any reason to do this,” Gordon added.

Sky stared disapprovingly at Gordon after the comment.

“And what about you two?”  Guthrie asked.  “Could anyone be trying to get to you through James?”

Sky and Raven paused a moment.  “I can’t think of anyone off hand,” Sky replied.

“Do you think this is related to Julia?”  Draper questioned.

“It could be,” Calvin responded.  “We are not ruling anything out.”

“We are going to have a guard posted by James’s room,” Guthrie informed them.

“And what about Julia?”  April asked.

“We will have someone providing her with protection as well,” Calvin informed them.

“I’ve taken care of that,” Draper stated.

“What?”  A confused April questioned.

“I have someone that is going to protect her,” Draper told him.

“And I have bodyguards for the children,” Raven announced.  “Lyle will be protecting Charlotte, and his brother Robert will be protecting Geri.  For now, Gordon will always be with you,” Raven told Sky.  “The police maybe protecting James, but I am not letting him out of my sight.”

“And what about me?”  Gordon asked.

“You are going to be working with your father until I can find someone to protect you,” Raven answered.

“I’m sure our sister is available,” Robert suggested.

“Tell me about her,” an excited Gordon inquired.

“Well, her name is Lindsay…” Robert started to say before Gordon cut him off.

“Enough said,” Gordon stated.  “One Lindsay was enough for a lifetime.”  Gordon was referring to his ex Lindsay Pace who murdered Charlotte’s husband among her victims.”

“Your sister’s name is Lindsay Wagner?”  April asked.

“Yes,” Robert replied.  “Is something wrong with that?”

“Where is Geri?”  Sky asked as he looked around the room changing the subject.”

“Gordon, do you know where she went?”  Sky questioned him.

“No, dad,” he replied.

“Well, you take Robert and go find her, before she gets into any more trouble,” Sky told them.

 

Julia returned from James’s room and ran into April’s arms.  “I want to stay here tonight,” she announced.  “I can’t leave him.”

“I’m sure that will be okay,” April told her.

“I want to stay here too,” Raven said.

“We will have police protection for him,” Calvin reminded them.

“That’s not the only reason I want to be there,” Raven replied.

William’s cell phone rang.  “I need to take this,” he stated.  “I will be right back.”

 

Katherine returned to the waiting room after her meeting with Adam.

“Has anything changed?”  She asked.

“No,” Julia replied.  “He’s holding his own.  He needs to make it through the night, and I know he will be okay.”

“Well, don’t worry about the office,” Katherine stated.  “Mrs. Stoner and I can take care of things tomorrow.  It’s the least I can do.”

“Thank you,” Julia replied.

“How’s Adam doing?”  Julia inquired.

“He’s okay,” Kathrine responded.  “We are going to get together tonight.  And he wishes you would not worry about him, and focus on yourself with all this going on around you.”

 

“Would you stop dragging me!” Geri screamed from outside the room as everyone turned.

She entered with Gordon and Robert.

“Where have you been?”  Raven asked.

“I was in the ladies’ room,” Geri replied as she looked at Katherine.  “Is that a crime?”

Katherine took notice of Geri’s answer and seemed a little uncomfortable remembering that she had been on her cell phone in the ladies’ room.   She told the person on the phone that she could not make it tonight.

“I need to get going, but please let me know if anything changes,” Katherine told Julia as she left.

 

“I can’t believe this,” William shouted as he re-entered the waiting room.

“What is it?”  Bryan asked.

“When were you going to tell me that your daughter got arrested last night?”  He inquired looking at Raven and Sky.  “It’s all over the news.”

“That witch broke her promise,” Raven whispered to herself.

“What did Geri do now?”   Calvin questioned.

“So you automatically assume it is me?”  Geri responded.

Everyone turned to look at her.

“It is,” she stated.  “But it doesn’t mean it’s always me.”

“I handled it,” Sky announced.

“Yes,” William said.  “That’s what I heard.  The press makes it seem like she got preferential treatment.”

“Now listen here,” Sky started to say but William cut him off.

“I will handle the fall out,” he informed them.  “Hopefully the sympathy for James’s illness will way out the negativity of her sweet plea deal.”

“Sweet?”  Geri questioned.  “I will have you know that it is not sweet.”

“That’s enough,” Raven exclaimed.  “Until all this over I want all of my children staying at the mansion.”

“What?”  Charlotte asked as she reentered the room.

“It’s for your own protection,” Raven told her.  “And Lyle will be serving as your bodyguard, and Robert will be Geri’s.”

“You got to be kidding me,” Charlotte said.

“I’m not,” Raven stated.

“You expect me to go everywhere with Robert Wagner?”  Geri asked.

“Until we know who is behind all this and the police can put a stop to it, yes,” Sky told her.

“Robert Wagner?”  Draper asked confused.

“Yes,” Robert replied.  “And this is my brother Lyle.”

“Lyle Wagner?”  April questioned.

“Yes,” Lyle responded.

Draper and April stared at each other confused.  They were not sure if the boys were serious or not about not realizing the irony of their names.

“Draper and April,” Raven started to say.  “You two are invited to stay at the mansion as well as Julia.”

“Thanks,” Draper replied.  “But I think tonight we will stay again at Mike and Nancy’s.”

 

 

 

Back at WMON, an angry Angela was with Martin in his office.

“You may have just ruined my chances from finding out what Raven Whitney has on Jody,” she stated.

“You don’t need to worry about that,” Martin said.

“Well, this source of yours better have one hell a story to get the focus back on me,” Angela mentioned.

“We may have to hold off on that story for a while,” Martin informed her.

“What?”  Angela asked.  “You’ve been pushing me to do the interview.”

“And we will get to it,” Martin responded.  “It’s just not a good idea to kick James Swift while he is down.  We don’t want the public to see you in a bad light.”

“That’s great,” Angela stated.  “Now what do I do?”

“Just hold on a little longer,” Martin told her.  “When James gets better, you can do the interview in a day or two.”

“So you know for sure that he is getting better?”  Angela asked.

“What does that mean?”  Martin inquired.

“You wouldn’t have had anything to do with that?”  Angela questioned.

“Why would I?”  Martin responded.  “I thought you might have from your excitement over Jody freaking out on the air.”

Angela ignored him as she overhead Jeremy and Jody outside.

“Where did that story about Geri’s arrest come from?”  Jody asked Jeremy.

“What do you mean?”  Jeremy asked.

“It wasn’t up there earlier when I was preparing for the broadcast,” Jody explained.

“It must have come in over the wire and someone added it in,” Jeremy suggested.

“It is news.  It is not the first time, you read something for the first time on the air.  So why are you so upset?”

“I’m not,” Jody replied.  “I need to freshen up,” Jody said as she left him to enter the bathroom.

Jeremy stared at her.  “She is not telling me something.”

Jody entered the bathroom and sat down at the mirror.  She looked at herself in the mirror and took a deep breath.  “How is Raven going to react to this?”

She opened her purse and started digging through it.  She picked up her prescription bottle and opened it.  She looked in the bottle after she took the lid off of it.  “That can’t be,” she whispered to herself.  The bottle was empty.

 

Back in Martin’s office, he asked Angela what she was thinking.

“I’ll still upset that you had Jody reported on Geri’s arrest,” Angela started to say but paused.

“But, you are starting to see things my way,” Martin stated.  “Perhaps you’d like to come over tonight.”

“I don’t think so,” Angela replied.

“Then what?”  Martin questioned her.

“I think I can use Jody reporting Geri Whitney’s arrest to my advantage,” she informed him.

 

 

 

 

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 28

In the waiting room at Monticello General, Nikki arrived surprised to see Calvin there.  The two exchanged unpleasant glances.  Charlotte grabbed Nikki’s hand and the two went off on their own.

“Is something wrong between you two?”  Julia asked Calvin noticing the way he and Nikki looked at each other.

“I don’t want to bother you with that right now,” Calvin told her.  “I want you to know that we are making your case our top priority.  We are going to find out who is behind all this.”

“And why?”  Guthrie added.  “And also we are going to figure out how James was poisoned.”

“We are going to head back to the station,” Calvin informed her.  “We are going to have a guard stationed outside James’s room all night.”

“And when you leave in the morning, we will have another one for you,” Guthrie told her.

“Thanks,” Julia said.  “Though I don’t think I will get much sleep.”

“You’re Calvin Stoner Jr.?” Draper asked.

“Yes,” Calvin replied.

“I knew your father,” Draper informed him.  “He was a good friend and cop.”

“Thanks,” Calvin responded.

“I understand that they reopened his murder case, are there any new leads?”  Draper inquired.

“Actually, yes,” Calvin answered.  “We believe that the man who killed him was part of a street gang the Gallahads.”

“How did you discover that?”  Julia asked.

“He had a tattoo on his wrist,” Calvin told her.  “The letter G enclosed in a circle.  It is a symbol for that gang.”

“Are you familiar with that gang?”  Calvin inquired.

“Not offhand,” Julia replied.  “But we did have a lot of gang members come through the D.A.’s office while I was there.  Victor would be the better person to ask.  But I don’t know how that would help locate someone from so long ago.”

“I was just asking,” Calvin stated.  “You never know where the next lead may come from.”

William and Bryan stood off to the side listening to the conversation.

 

Outside the waiting room, Nikki and Charlotte were talking amongst themselves.

“Did you hear from Dr. Samuel?”  Charlotte asked.

“I see him tomorrow,” Nikki told her.

“And you still don’t know what you want to do?”  Charlotte inquired.

“Do you have to ask with the way Calvin has been acting?”  Nikki responded.  “And now there is even more to consider.”

“What’s that?”  Charlotte questioned her.

“I got accepted to the program at Julliard,” Nikki informed her.

“So are you still waiting until after your doctor appointment to tell Calvin everything?”  Charlotte asked.

“No,” Nikki replied.  “I don’t know if I am going to tell him anything.”

At the end of the hallway, Matthew appeared.  “How’s James’s doing?”

 

Later that night, Adam and Katherine were eating dinner at a restaurant.

“You’ve hardly touched your food,” Katherine mentioned.

“I know,” Adam replied.  “I’m really not hungry.  I just didn’t want to be alone tonight.  All that is going on right now keeps bringing back so many memories.”

“You’re still thinking about your mom?”  Katherine asked.

“I always do but today got me started wondering what my life would have been like had she never died,” Adam responded.    “Or for that matter, my birth father.”

“And how would that have been?”  Katherine asked.

“Wonderful,” Adam answered.  “Beth wasn’t a bad stepmother but it’s been bad between Miles and me.”

“Why?”  Katherine inquired.

“He blames me for something that happened,” Adam responded.  “He says he doesn’t but I know he does.  And our relationship has never been the same since then.”

“What happened?”  Katherine asked.

“I don’t want to get into right now,” Adam replied.  Since he didn’t want to tell her about a pregnant Beth falling down the stairs and not being able to have children.

“That’s fine,” Katherine stated.

“Do you ever wonder about your father?”  Adam questioned her.

“No,” Katherine answered firmly.

“Do you know anything about him?”  Adam inquired.

“He abandoned my mother when she was pregnant with me,” Katherine reminded him.  “He left her for another woman.  That’s all I need to know.  I could care less about where he is or how he is.”

 

April and Draper returned to Mike and Nancy’s to find Nancy typing away on her computer working on updating her biography of Geraldine Whitney.

“You seem to be spending a lot of time on that,” April mentioned.  “Are you sure it’s just a reprint and not a whole new book?”

“I’m just adding an epilogue,” Nancy responded.  “Geraldine was still alive when it was published the first time.  Her death and the circumstances around it are an important part of her story.”

“I’m going to be headed to bed,” Draper announced.

“I’ll join you in a little bit,” April told him.  “I want to talk to Nancy first.”

“Okay,” Draper responded as he left the two woman.

“Is there any change in James’s condition since I last talked to you?”  Nancy asked.

“No,” April replied.  “We just need to wait through the night.  If he pulls through, then he should be okay.  Julia is staying with him.  I didn’t realize how serious it was getting between them.”

“So I guess you weren’t able to go check out what you mentioned earlier?” Nancy inquired referring that April had remembered something from one of her dreams.

“No,” April replied.  “But if James is better tomorrow I will be able to go there.  I’m just scared to go to sleep.  I’m frightened about what I will dream next.  And I want to know why this is happening again after all this time.”

Draper was in the hallway listening to the conversation.

 

Across town Didi was laying in her bed as Nathan came to bring her a wet towel.

“You don’t need to stay here,” Didi told him.

“You’re sick, and I want to take care of you,” Nathan responded.

“It’s not that bad,” Didi said.  “I’m just a little nauseous.”

“It’s not open for discussion,” James stated.  “Save your argument for the next time we face off in the courtroom.”

“Well, I appreciate it,” Didi replied.

“Besides with everything going on with James right now, we don’t want to take any chances,” he noted.  “And maybe that is not the only reason I wanted to stay.  We are a couple again.  Where else would I be?”

“I don’t know what I did to ever deserve you,” Didi told him.

“So I guess the next step is when do we start telling people, like your son,” Nathan stated.

 

Across town, Bryan was getting off the phone with his father.

“That’s right,” William said.  “I want you to have two press releases ready for tomorrow.  Depending on how James is going, we will know which one to use.”

“You’re crazy,” Bryan whispered to himself.

“What was that?”  William asked.

“Nothing,” Bryan responded.  “I was just recalling the conversation they were having at the hospital after the murder of Detective Stoner’s father.”

“Why would you concern yourself with that?”  William inquired.  “That doesn’t affect us.  Now get to work.”

Bryan hung up the phone, and walked into the bathroom.  He looked at himself in the mirror.  He took off his shirt, and then held up his wrist.  It had a tattoo of the letter G in a circle on it.

 

At Monticello General, Raven was returning to James’s room after talking with the police officer outside.  She saw Julia on side of James’s bed holding his hand.

“I love you,” Julia whispered to him.  “You are going to make it through this.  You just have to.”

“He will,” Raven stated as she sat down next to Julia.  “And he is so lucky to have you.”

Julia laid her head down on Raven’s shoulder as the two women watched James sleep.

 

At the Whitney mansion, Sky was in his study opening up the lock drawer.  When he looked inside he noticed that the photograph was gone.  He looked around on the floor and under the desk.

“Are you looking for this?”  Lyle asked appearing in the door way.  He was holding up a photograph of a baby.

“Where did you get that?”  Sky inquired.

“I picked up off the floor when I was in here with Mrs. Whitney,” Lyle replied.  “I assumed you didn’t want her to see it.”

“Give it to me,” Sky told him as Lyle handed it to him.

“Who is it?”  Lyle questioned him.

“It’s a baby picture of Charlotte,” Sky informed him.  “It was taken right after she was born.”

“Why wouldn’t you want Mrs. Whitney to see it?”  Lyle asked.

“I never said that,” Sky stated.  “And has your father told your brother Robert about anything regarding Alicia Van Dine?”

“No,” Lyle replied.  “I don’t even know anything.”

“Good,” Sky stated.  “Then let’s keep it that way.”

 

The next morning at the hospital James awoke to find Raven and Julia sleeping on both sides of his bed.

“Can you all leave me some room?”  He asked.

Julia awoke and looked at him.  “You look so much better this morning.”

“Mom,” he said as he nudged Raven to wake up.

“James!” She exclaimed.  “How are you feeling?”

“For the first time in a long time, I actually don’t feel nauseous,” he stated.

“That’s a good sign,” the doctor stated as he entered the room.

“What do you think?”  Raven asked him.

“Let me check his vitals and do some blood work,” the doctor started to say.

“And?”  Raven inquired.

“You made it through a difficult night, that is a very good sign,” the doctor told them.

“Now, can we find out who did this,” James stated.

 

At the Whitney mansion, Gordon was entering the front door after going to retrieve the morning paper when he ran into Sky.

“Have you heard anything from the hospital?”  He asked his father.

“I’m just getting ready to call and check up on James,” Sky answered him.

I just got the morning paper,” Gordon informed him.  “The front page is all about James passing out WMON yesterday.”

“I would expect it would be,” Sky said.

“But in the real estate section on the front page it reads ‘Whitney Towers Up For Sale’,” Gordon told him as he held up the page for him to see.  “Let’s see what Norman Garrison has to say about this.”

Sky took the paper from his hand and looked at him.  “Good job.  But right now my focus is on James.”

Somewhere in a hotel room, Norman Garrison was on the phone having the paper in his hand.

“It’s amazing,” he said into phone.  “After they turned down our offer to buy Whitney Towers, now there are suddenly up for sale.  I expect the Whitneys are up to something.  How do you want me to handle it?”

 

At the District Attorney’s office, Victor slammed the paper down on his desk after reading it.

“What is it?”  Laurie asked as she entered the room.

“That damn James Swift,” Victor answered.

“I heard is he okay?”  Laurie questioned him.

“I don’t know,” Victor responded.  “But he is going to pick up sympathy votes like crazy from this.”

“Victor, that is not a nice thing to say,” Laurie told him.

Victor paused a moment.  “I know,” he replied.  “They don’t say what is wrong.  I wonder if the same person sending the letters did this to him.”

“Did what?”  Laurie inquired.

“I’m not sure, but I’m sure the police will find out,” Victor responded as Nathan arrived at the office.

“Good morning,” Nathan stated as he walked by Victor’s office.

“You’re running late again,” Victor stated.

“I had to do something this morning,” Nathan answered.  “It was personal.”  Nathan recalled dropping Didi off at the law office.

“I thought you might have had a wild night last night,” Victor mentioned.

“No, just another boring night home alone,” Nathan responded.

Victor then closed the door to his office as Laurie was still inside.

“What is it?”  Laurie asked.

“He’s lying,” Victor said.

“How do you know?”  Laurie questioned him.

“Because I went to his place last night and this morning,” Victor informed her.  “He wasn’t home.  He’s up to something, and I am going to find out what is it.  Particularly if he is the one that has been harassing Julia.”

Laurie just stared at him.  “I hope you know what you are doing.”

 

At the Monticello PD, Chris was meeting in her office with Matthew, Calvin and Guthrie.

“Curtis Reardon’s murder and James Swift’s poisoning are our top priorities,” she informed them.

“What about my dad’s murder?”  Calvin asked.

“I’m sorry, but it’s a cold case,” Chris stated.  “It will have to be pushed aside right now.”

“Just great,” Calvin stated.

“Where is Mae at?”  Matthew asked.

“She had an appointment his morning,” Chris informed him.  “Then, I’m taking her somewhere with me this morning.  Then she can meet up with you later.  We need to determine if all of this is related to the letters that Julia Scott has been receiving.”

“My gut tells me they are,” Guthrie stated.

“I think so too,” Chris agreed.  “Stoner and Guthrie I want you to go to James Swift’s law office, and see if you can find someone with a motive.  We also need to find out how he was poisoned.”

“Will they let us go through their files?”  Calvin asked.

“I doubt it,” Chris replied.  “But they could go through the files while you are there, and you can tell them what to look for.”

“And me?”  Matthew inquired.

“You are going to work the Curtis Reardon murder,” Chris informed him.

 

In Dr. Hughes’s office, Mae sat silent.

“You haven’t said much today,” Dr. Hughes mentioned.  “You are not just required to come to these sessions.  I have to see that you are making progress.”

“I told you I am fine,” Mae stated.

“I keep trying to get you to talk about your partner and what happened, but you are being resistant,” Dr. Hughes said.  “That doesn’t sound like you are doing fine.”

Mae was silent.

“Last time you were here, you said you killed your partner,” Dr. Hughes reminded her.

“I know what I said,” Mae replied.

“Why did you choose those words?”  Dr. Hughes inquired.

Mae paused for a second.  “Because that is what happened.  I play it over and over again in my head.  It was a domestic violence call.  A wife had called to say that her husband was holding her against her will.  Laurence, Larry, my partner went to the back door.  I knocked on the front door.  And things were never the same again.”

“What happened?”  Dr. Hughes.

“You know,” Mae stated.  “It’s why I am here.”

“Tell me in your own words,” Dr. Hughes continued.

Mae was getting upset.  “Why can you and Chief Egan just leave me alone?    I am living with it,” Mae exclaimed.  “I can’t change what happened but I have dealt with it.   I wish you and Chief Egan would see that.”

“Chief Egan seems to have you more upset today,” Dr. Hughes inquired changing the subject.  “Why is that?”

“She told me yesterday that she wanted me to go somewhere with her this morning,” Mae informed her.

“Where?”  Dr. Hughes asked.

“She didn’t tell me,” Mae replied.  “But I looked on her calendar.  We are going to the police shooting range.  I assume she wants to test me.”

 

NOTE:  Due to the Thanksgiving Holiday Chapters 29 and 30 while be posted on Wednesday November 23 instead of Thursday.

Leave a Reply

