Cries in the Night: Chapter 23 & 24

Chapter 23

Everyone was in panic mode at WMON, as James had passed out during his live interview with Jody.  Jody herself was hysterical.

“Cut to commercial,” Jeremy yelled.

“Jamey, oh my God,” Raven screamed as she ran to the set followed by Julia, William and Bryan.

Martin looked at Angela.  “Did you do this?”  He questioned her as he too ran to the set.

Bryan looked at the unconscious James and asked, “Is he dead?”

“No!”  Raven exclaimed as she hit Bryan for asking the question.

“Someone call an ambulance,” Jeremy ordered.

“Everyone move back, and give him room to breathe,” William demanded.

Jody stood by Jeremy.  “I can’t go back on right now.”

“Who’s in the control room?”  Jeremy screamed.  “We need to fill the air time until the end of the newscast with something.”

“No we don’t,” Angela responded giving a nudge to Martin.

“That’s right we don’t,” Martin agreed.  “Angela is ready to go on after the commercial.”

From Jeremy’s expression, you could tell that he was not happy with the suggestion.  “Okay,” he reluctantly responded.

Angela approached the news desk.  She had a smile on her face but since her back was to almost everyone, William was the only one who saw it.

Despite everything going on with James, William took notice of the interaction between Angela and Martin, and Jeremy.

“I might able to use this,” he whispered to himself.

Bryan heard what his dad said and stared in disbelief.  “Are you more worried about them than James?”

“Oh course not,” William snapped at Bryan.

 

At Julia’s apartment, Mike asked Draper again, “Who are you expecting?”

“An old friend,” Draper answered as there was a knock at the door.

A shocked Mike opened the door to find Deborah Saxon on the other side.

“What a nice surprise, I wasn’t expecting you to be here too,” Deborah stated.

“Thanks for coming,” Draper told her.

“I’m not sure what I can do to help,” Deborah said.  “I’m the retired Chief of Police now.”

“Someone’s harassing my daughter,” Draper cried out.

“I know,” Deborah replied.  “The police are looking into it.”

“What can I do?”  Draper asked her.  “What are your feeling on this?”

“It is an interesting stalker case,” Deborah told him.  “If the person behind the anonymous gifts being sent to her is the same person sending the letters. It’s really unusual.”

“How so?”  Mike inquired.

“The letters are harassing, but the gifts are pleasant,” Deborah explained.

“And then there is the stalking,” Draper reminded her.

Deborah paused for a second.  “They are not exactly sure she is being stalked.”

“Do you think that she is making it up?”  Draper questioned her.

“No one has ever seen anyone following her,” Deborah told him.  “So they are being cautious.”

“Cautious!”  Draper repeated.   “Until she is attacked?”

“No,” Deborah responded.  “They won’t let anything happen to her.  Trust me, after the things I went through with Nola Madison.  I won’t let anyone anything happen.  But she hasn’t been threatened.  Which is a good thing.  The notes are like what a child would do.”

“So what do you think about him?”  Mike asked her.

“It’s a strange case,” Deborah informed.  “Like I said, if the same person is behind the gifts and the letters, it’s like he’s toying with her. Or…”  Deborah stopped speaking.

“Or what?”  Draper questioned her.

“We could be dealing with a split personality,” she announced.

“So what do I do?”  Draper inquired.

“You let the police do their job,” Deborah told him.  “And it won’t hurt to have someone with   her at all times, especially at night.”

“She can stay our place with you and April as long as you want,” Mike stated.

“Thanks,” Draper replied.

“It’s not a problem,” Mike said.

“That’s not the only thing going on,” Draper informed Deborah.

“What else is there?”  Deborah inquired.

 

In a closed courtroom, Geri, Didi, Nathan, and Sky met with Judge Newcombe.

The session went just as Didi had hoped.

The Judge asked Geri if she agreed to all the terms they had discussed including an increase in her community service.

“Yes, your honor,” Geri stated though she sounded disappointed.

“One more thing,” Judge Newcombe started to say sternly.

It made Geri stand up straight.

“I am getting tired of your antics,” he informed Geri.  “The next time I see you in my courtroom it better be to tell me that you completed your community service.”

“Yes sir,” Geri responded.

As Judge Newcombe exited the courtroom, Geri uttered to herself, “I just need to find out what that bitch Katherine is hiding.”

“What?”  Sky asked unable to make out what she saw saying.

“Nothing daddy,” Geri responded.  “I won’t be any trouble.  You will see.”

Sky then turned to Didi and said, “I really can’t express how grateful we are.  To both of you,” he added as he looked at Nathan.

“You’re welcome,” Didi replied.

As they exited the courtroom, Julius Newcombe was there.

“How did it go?”  He inquired.

Nathan was not pleased.

“It went well,” Didi responded.  “Thanks for talking to him.”

“I was glad to help you,” Julius told her.  “Now if you excuse me, I am going to take me son to lunch.”

As he left, Nathan stared at him.

“Would you stop that,” Didi told him.   “He’s just a friend.”

Geri’s ears perked up as she listened to the exchange between the two.

“We need to get going,” Sky stated.

“We do?”  Geri asked.

“Yes, you are staying with me, and we are headed over to Whitney Investigations,” he informed.  “Thanks again.”

As they left, Didi turned to Nathan.  “He’s just a friend,” she repeated.

“As long as he knows that,” Nathan stated.

“Just remember I am not going to put up with your childish insecurities,” Didi told him.

“It’s not childish,” Nathan said.  “So are we seeing each tonight?  We never discussed how we are moving forward.”

 

As Sky and Geri walked down the hall, he turned on his cell phone to see that he had a message from Raven.

“What’s that?”  Geri asked pointing up to a television on the wall with showing a replay of James passing out on the news.

Sky looked up in shock.  “What is going on?”  He asked.

“Some guy collapsed during an on air interview,” a passerby informed him.

 

At the Monticello PD, Mae entered the squad room to find Chris at Matthew’s desk.

“Did I miss something?”  She asked them.

“I found out that the former member of the Gallahads I.Q. Wilson is dead,” Matthew told her.

“So where does that leave us on our investigation?”  She asked.

“We still are trying to track down former gang members, Gina Daniels and “Lucky” with the Italian last name,” Mathew stated.

“Are we sure this isn’t a waste of time?”  Mae questioned.  “Do we think either of them could lead to someone who was involved in a separate street gang in Monitcello all those years ago?”

Chris wasn’t pleased with the question.  “You won’t know until you find them,” she answered and retreated to her office.

“What’s wrong with her?”  Mae asked.

“This is a very personal case for her, Calvin was her partner,” Matthew explained.

“I know that,” Mae responded.  “This is a cold case.  It seems like we are grasping at straws here.”

“I think she blames herself for his death,” Matthew informed Mae.  “And she is determined to find this guy leaving no stone unturned.”

As Matthew said that Mae flashback to earlier in Dr. Hughes’s office when she stated that she had killed her former partner.   She flashed back to the present. “How do we proceed now?  Do we talk to Darcy Decker again?”

“Or we could go through all the information you gathered from the gang task force that you gathered on the Gallahads,” Matthew suggested.  “You never know.  A fresh pair of eyes.”

“I can tell there is nothing there,” Mae stated.  “It’s not like the Gallahads kept a family tree or had a recording secretary.”

Matthew walked over to Mae’s desk and picked up the folder she had on the Gallahads.

“I told you…” she started to say but stopped herself.  “Arrest records!”

“What?”  Matthew asked.

“Arrest records,” she repeated.  “We can go through all the police reports back then to see if anyone was affiliated with the Gallahads.”

“That’s a great idea,” Chris said as she re-joined the two.

“They were searched in the past,” Matthew informed her.  “But back then it was trying to find someone with a connection to Louis Van Dine.  They were all dead ends and not a “Tommy” among them.  This would be a different search.  We could get something.  I really think we could.”

“Okay,” Mae stated as she sat down at her desk and hit the keyboard on her computer.

“That won’t help you,” Chris told her.

“Why?”  Mae asked.

“Most of the arrest records from back then aren’t on computer,” Chris explained.  “They are all boxed up in the basement.  You will have to go through them by hand.”

 

At the foundation, Nikki hung up the phone on her desk.

“Dr. Samuel doesn’t have any appointments available but they are going to call me back and try to squeeze me in as soon as possible,” she informed Charlotte.

“I still think that you should tell Calvin,” Charlotte stated.

“I don’t want to go through this again,” Nikki told her.  “Let me find out for sure first.  Besides don’t we have work to do.”  Nikki turned away from Charlotte and faced the monitor on her computer

“All right,” Charlotte replied and went to her desk.

Nikki had her email up on her computer screen.  She saw that she had an email from Julliard.  She looked at Charlotte and started to say something but stopped.  She click and opened the email.  It read “congratulations on being accepted.”  Nikki sat back at her desk and just stared at it.

There was quiet in the office until Charlotte’s cellphone began to ring.  She picked it up and looked at the name.   “I wonder what my mom wants.”

 

At the D.A.’s office, Laurie was at her desk calling Beth as she watched Victor in his office.  She could tell he was still mad about her for telling the police about the yellow stationary in the office.

“He’s mad at me because I told the police that we have the same stationary here as the one used for the letters sent to Julia,” Laurie informed Beth.

“And what did you tell him?”  Beth asked.

“Nothing,” Laurie responded.  “He never gave me the chance.”

“Well as your employer and son, you march into that office and make him listen to you,” Beth told her.

“I don’t know if I can do that,” Laurie stated.

“Yes, you can,” Beth said.  “You have been fighting to have a relationship with him don’t stop now.”

“You’re right,” Laurie told her.  “You always know the right that to say to me.”

“And I don’t want to hear back from you until you spoken to him,” Beth stated.

“Yes, ma’am,” Laurie responded with a laugh.  “First laugh I had today.”

“I’m preparing a late supper for Miles, so I will talk to you later,” Beth informed her as she hung up the phone.

As Beth walked to the kitchen stopped by the bottom of the stairs.  She flashed back to all those years ago laying at the foot of the stairs after tripping over Adam’s toy plane.

“Miles!” she yelled.  “Miles!”  “Oh my God!”    She saw Adam at the top of the stairs looking down at her.  “Adam, get your father.  Hurry!”

 

Chapter 24

At the D.A.’s office, Laurie stood up and walked over to Victor’s office.  Before she could knock on the door, Victor opened it.

“Not now,” he said as he saw her standing there.

“Yes, now,” Laurie told him as walked past him and forced her way into the office.

“Mom…” Victor started to say but Laurie cut him off.

“Now, you listen to me, Laurie began.  “You are supposed to an officer of the court.  Isn’t it your job to see justice through?”

Victor tried to speak again but Laurie would not let him.

“Aren’t you supposed to help a police investigation, and not hinder it?”  Laurie asked him.  “The office has the same stationary paper as the letters to Julia.  The police had to know that.  You should have told that yourself.  Does that mean I think you are sending the letters to Julia?  No!

Victor put his hand up to say something but Laurie stopped him yet again.

“I’m almost finished,” she said.  “I thought you still love Julia?”

“I do!”  Victor responded.  “What does that have to do with anything?”

“Do you think someone here might be sending those letters to Julia?”  She questioned him.  “And the police might not find him without knowing about stationery here.”

Victor just sat there and looked at her.  “You’re right,” he finally said.  “I never thought about that.”  He got up and walked around the office.

“By the way, why were you late this morning?”  Laurie asked.

“It was nothing,” Victor responded.  “I had a late night out last night at the Unicorn.”  Victor recalled in his mind being at the Unicorn and talking to the bar tender.  Victor asked about the petite red head had seen in there the other night.  But the bar tender told him had not seen her.

“Is she a wanted criminal?”  The bar tender inquired.

“No,” Victor answered.  “I need to help me with something.  We can both help each other out.”

When Laurie began to talk it brought Victor out of his flash back.  “I’m going to get back to work now,” Laurie told him as started to leave.

Victor was looking out the window as he saw Nathan arrive outside in the parking lot.  “Do you really think someone in the office could really be sending those letters to Julia?”  He asked Laurie.

 

At the Karr house, Nancy was entering her living room carrying a cup of coffee for the waiting April.

“I’m sorry I couldn’t tell you why Julia and Victor broke up,” Nancy stated.  “Honestly Victor hasn’t told us anything.  I could speculate but I don’t want to do that.  You really need to ask her.”

“I plan to,” April informed her.  “It’s so hard not to worry about her.   With her being here and us being in London.”

“Have you’ll ever talked about moving back?”  Nancy asked.

“We never really thought about it even until Julia moved her,” April answered her.  “I just can’t help worrying with all this going on, and now it seems she has rebounded with James Swift.”

“And how do you feel about that?”  Nancy inquired.

“I’m not sure,” April responded.  April turned to look at Nancy.  “So what do you think about all these dreams that I have been having?”

“I don’t know if I can offer any insight,” Nancy answered.  “But I remember everything that happened all those years ago.  So I wouldn’t take them lightly.”

“Thank you,” April told her.  “At first I kept dreaming about Draper.  I keep feeling that I was going to lose him.   Now I keep seeing Julia.  I’m worried about something is going to happen to her.”

“What else is in the dreams?”  Nancy inquired.

April explained to Nancy all her dreams.  She told her about the large room where she was looking for Draper.  She recalled the funeral and the graveyard.  “And now, I know someone is watching Julia.”

“You need to calm down,” Nancy said as she could tell April was getting herself upset.

“It’s hard not to,” April replied.  Then April’s face lit up and her mood changed.

“What is it?”  Nancy asked.

“I just remembered something,” April responded.

“What is it?”  Nancy inquired.

Before April could respond her cell phone rang.  She picked up off the end table to see that Julia was calling her.

avlcsnap-2015-05-05-09h27m31s105

At Monticello General, Sky, Geri, and Gordon arrived to see a crowd of everyone from the studio in the waiting room.

“What is going?”  He asked Raven.

“We don’t know,” Raven answered as she ran to him and put her arms around him.  “They haven’t told us anything yet.  He just collapsed.  I know he’s been looking so bad lately.”

Lyle walked up to them.  “I hate to bring this up now, but Mrs. Whitney, now that Mr. Whitney is here, is all right that I leave?”  He asked.  “Remember I have to go to the airport.”

“Yes, that is fine,” Raven replied.

“Airport?”  Sky questioned.

“I’ll explain later,” Raven told him.

As Lyle was leaving April arrived.  Julia who was being consoled by Bryan, ran over to her and fell into her arms.  “Oh mom,” she cried.

“What happened?”  April inquired.

“We are still not sure?”  Julia answered.

With Julia no longer by him, Bryan went over to his father who was sitting by himself in the corner.

“You’ve been pretty quiet since we arrived her,” Bryan said to him.

“There’s nothing much we can do here except let the doctors do their job,” William told him.  “Have you written a statement for the press?”

“What?”  Bryan asked.

“A press release,” William repeated.

“I haven’t had time to think about it,” Bryan informed him.

“Well, hurry up,” William ordered him.  “We are missing a golden opportunity here.   We are going to get so many sympathy votes from this.”  William pulled a small bottle out of his pocket.

Bryan looked at his father shocked that he would mentioned that.

“You know how the game goes,” William told him.  “Now get to work.”

“You didn’t have anything to do with this did you?”  Bryan questioned him as William ignored him and while trying to put eye drops in his eyes.

“Damn, it’s empty,” William stated.

“Here, use mine,” Bryan said handing him a vial.  “And you didn’t answer my question.  Did you have anything to do with this?

Across the room in the other corner, Jody and Jeremy were waiting for news.

“We really need to get back to studio,” Jeremy told her.  “Are you better now?  I really wish you would let someone check you out.”

“I’m calm now,” Jody stated.  “And I don’t need to see anyone.”

“You really had me worried with that reaction you had at the studio,” Jeremy explained.

“It just brought back memories,” Jody started to say.  “It reminded me of when my sister Nicole died.  She died on the air during the newscast.  That was right before you came to Monticello.”

As Jody was saying that, Adam walked into the room.  He was shocked by what Jody had said.

“Oh Adam, I can explain,” Jody told him.

“It’s okay,” he replied.  “I know how she died.  I can never forget that day.”

 

Across from them, Geri got up and walked toward Adam.

“How horrible that must have been,” she stated.

“I can’t even begin to describe it,” he replied.

“Well if you ever need someone to talk to I’m right here,” Geri responded.

“Well, thanks,” Adam replied though he didn’t seem to take her serious.

Geri then turned and smiled at Gordon as she sat down.

 

“Oh, the office,” Julia exclaimed.  “I should call and let Katherine know what is happening.”

“Do you have to worry about that right now?”  April asked.

“I can do that,” Gordon jumped up saying.

“No, that’s okay, I will do it,” Adam told him.

Gordon sat back down neither he or Geri were happy about that.  Gordon got back up and walked over to Sky.

“Do still want me to call the Monticello News and inform them that the Towers are for sale?”  He asked Sky.

“Yes,” Sky responded.

“What?” A confused Raven exclaimed.

“They are not really for sale,” Sky explained.  “Gordon got this great plan.  If he thinks the Towers are for sale, then Golden Eagle’s attorney Norman Garrison should come out of hiding.”

“Who’s that?”  Raven inquired.

“I’ll explain it all later,” Sky told her.

“Explain what?”  Charlotte inquired as she entered the room.

“It’s not important right now,” Sky answered.

“How is James?”  Charlotte asked.

“We are still waiting to hear from the doctor,” Raven informed her.

“Is Nikki with you?”  Jody asked.

“No, she stayed at the Foundation,” Charlotte replied.  “She may be come by later.”  Charlotte then turned to see Adam on the phone.

“Katherine, I’ll let know as soon as we know more,” Adam told her as he hung up the phone.

“You were talking to Katherine,” said Charlotte.  “She’s such a sweet person.  You two make a cut couple.”

“Thanks,” Adam replied.

Charlotte then turned to Geri and smiled.

 

At the law office, Katherine looked at Calvin and said, “I really don’t like lying to her.”

“We are not lying,” Guthrie stated as he held up a letter in a yellow envelop.

“She’s has enough to worry about,” Calvin told her.  “We will let her know later.”

“You did the right thing by calling us first,” Guthrie said.

“Do you have any idea who is behind this?”  Didi inquired.

“We really can’t discuss that,” Guthrie informed them.  “But we are interviewing suspects.”

Calvin who was wearing gloves carefully opened the envelope.  It contained a sheet of yellow stationary.  As he unfolded it, he could tell what it read.  It said “I am watching you” on it.  It was written in letters cut out from magazines and newspapers just like the other notes.

 

At the airport, Lyle kept looking at his watch, and pacing back and forth by the baggage carousel.

“I’m right here,” a voiced shouted from behind.

“What took you so long?”  Lyle asked.

“Calm down, big brother, I was just talking to a woman I met on the plane,” he answered.

“Robert,” Lyle started to say.  ‘Mrs. Whitney doesn’t like to be kept waiting.”

“So tell me about what she wants me to do,” Robert questioned him.

 

Across town, Draper, Mike and Deborah were all leaving Julia’s apartment.

Draper took his cell phone out of his pocket.  “I forgot I turned it off,” he stated at he turned it back on.

“Are we headed back to the house or is there somewhere you want to go?”  Mike asked.

“Let me see what April wants,” Draper replied.  “I have four missed calls from her.

“I hope everything is okay,” Deborah said.

“What’s going on out there?”  Mike questioned as they got near the entrance of the building.  There was crowd or people by the door.

When they opened the door they could see a police car on the corner.

“What is going on?”  Mike repeated.

“They found a man’s body in the dumpster behind the building,” a voice in the crowd answered.

 

Back at Monticello General, everyone took notice when the doctor entered the waiting room.

“What is it?”  Raven asked.

“His blood pressure is extremely high,” he informed them.  “He is still getting tremors off and on.  And he is still having problems breathing.  He says his vision is blurry as well and he has had a headache for days.”

“What is causing this?”  Julia asked.

“I’m not sure,” the doctor answered.  “But I ordered a complete blood and tox screen.”

“Can I see him?”  Julia questioned him.

“Just for a few minutes,” the doctor responded.

“How serious is it?”  Raven inquired.

“He hasn’t passed out again since he got here,” the doctor stated.  “So that is a good sign.  But until we find out what is causing this…”  The doctor paused before he finished.  “I can’t make any promises on his condition.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

