Cries in the Night: Chapters 13 & 14

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 13

 

Charlotte arrived outside the courthouse to all her family standing on the steps behind a podium.

“It’s about time you got here,” Raven stated.

“For once we are not waiting for Geri,” Gordon responded.

Geri gave him a knock in the shoulder for the comment.

“You had me worried,” Raven informed Charlotte.  “I was worried something might have happened to you.”

“Why?” Charlotte asked.

“Your mother is just kidding,” Sky said, trying not to make anyone suspicious.  He realized that Raven was worried that Alicia might have done something.

“Enough!” William shouted as he saw the WMON news van drive up the court house. “Do you have everything prepared?” he asked Bryan.

“I didn’t change much in the speech,” Bryan answered.  “And Katherine has all the campaign literature to give out.”

“Yes, I do,” Katherine said.

“We’re all set to go,” Bryan stated.

Everyone took notice of Angela Rhomer exiting the news van.

“Why is she here?”  James asked.

“Where is Jody?”  Sky questioned.

“I don’t trust her,” James stated.

“I’ll have a word with her first,” William said as he walked toward her.  “I don’t want any surprises or an ambush like she did last night.”

 

At WMON, Jeremy was shocked to find Jody at the station.

“What are you doing here, I thought you left to go cover James’ announcement?”  he asked her.

“I wasn’t feeling well, so I let Angela cover it,” Jody answered quickly.

“After what she pulled last night?”  Jeremy inquired.  “Is everything okay? Do you need to see Dr. Samuel again?”

“No,” I’ll be fine,” she responded.  “I’m just trying to take it easy.”

 

Back at the courthouse, Raven went over to see Angela when William had finished talking to her.

“Mrs. Whitney, I presume,” Angela stated.

“Yes,” Raven replied but she was not happy.

“Angela Rhomer,” Angela said as she held her hand out to Raven.  “We spoke earlier on the phone.”

Raven did not shake her hand.  “Get to the point,” Raven told her.

“Like I said on the phone, I think we can help each other out,” Angela reminded her.”

“How so?”  Raven inquired.

“I can assure you that James and for that matter any of your kids will receive excellent press coverage from WMON.”

“And why would I need you for that?”  Raven questioned her.

“With your children’s track records, I surprised you would have to ask,” Angela said.

“Do you know what I could do to you?” Raven threatened.

“There is no reason to be angry,” Angela stated.  “Like I said, I can make sure your family gets excellent press coverage from WMON.  You wouldn’t want any surprises coming out, especially now that your son is running for office.”

“And how did you know that?”  Raven asked her.

“I have my sources,” Angela responded.  “So do we have a deal?”

“What makes you think we need your help?”  Raven inquired.  “And what do you want from me?”

“I don’t think you’d want any surprises during your son’s press conference today,” Angela stated. “I’m sitting on information right now, that could make things not go so smoothly.  And I all I want is to know what you have on Jody Travis.”

“What?” a shocked Raven responded.

“I know you have been blackmailing her,” Angela stated.

“I don’t know what you are talking about,” Raven replied.

The two women just stared at each other.

“You’re bluffing,” Raven said.

“Are you willing to take that chance?”  Angela asked her.

“Trust me, you don’t want to make an enemy out of me,” Raven declared as she left her.

Martin walked up to Angela after Raven had left.

“What was that all about?”  He asked her.

“I was trying to bargain with her to try to find out what she has on Jody,” Angela informed her.

“Any luck?”  Martin inquired.

“No,” Angela replied.  “So I guess I have to show her what I am capable of.”

Raven returned to Sky and the family as a small crowd began to gather.

“What was that about?”  Sky asked his wife.

“I just wanted to make sure she didn’t do anything tricky like she did last night with Victor,” Raven replied.

“William is handling it,” Sky responded.

“We’ll see,” Raven stated.

As the crowd gathered a man stood off to the side from everyone else, and Katherine took notice.

“Isn’t that Mr. Dallas?” she asked Julia.

Julia turned to look and replied, “Unfortunately it is.”

“Do you think he will do anything?”  Katherine questioned.

“We will be ready for him,” James stated as he rubbed sweat from his forehead and then covered his mouth.

“What is it?”  Julia inquired.

“I’m feeling nauseous again and a little light headed,” James informed.

“Not now, James, the press conference is getting ready to start,” Julia stated.

“It’s all right, I will make it through it,” he replied.

“Get some makeup on him,” William yelled.  “You can’t go looking sick.  And did you get any sleep, your eyes look blood shot.  Anyone have eye drops?  I may have some.”

“I think I have some in my purse,” Julia stated as she opened it to look.

“I have some,” Katherine announced handing him a vial.

“This is your show,” William proclaimed.  “We aren’t going to let anything stop us.”

 

 

At WMON, Jeremy went to Jody’s office to find her.

“We are going to breaking into programming to cover James’ press conference live,” he informed her.  Do you want to come watch in the control booth with me?”

“Give me a second, and I’ll be right there,” Jody responded.  “I want to check on Nikki first.”

“Is everything okay?”  He asked her.

“Yes,” Jody replied.

 

At the Whitney Foundation, Nikki was at her desk daydreaming about going to school at Juilliard.   She imaged finishing at the top of the program.  She envisioned her herself being involved in theater, movies and television.  She even saw herself replacing her mother on WMON.  She then pictured herself married to Calvin.  They were married and had kids running around the house.  Calvin would be getting home from a long day on the force, and she would be there to greet him at the door.  “I do love you,” she whispered to herself.  “I just not sure what I want any more.”

When her cell phone rang, she stopped fantasizing.  She answered it and had a strange conversation with her mother.

“I just want to make sure you are all right,” Jody informed her.

“I’m fine,” Nikki replied.  “Why so concerned?”

“I saw Dr. Samuel, and told me to make sure you make an appointment to see him,” Jody   explained to her.

“Is that it?”  Nikki questioned.  “Don’t worry.  I am staying on top of things.  And I have been feeling fine.”

“Anything else bothering you?”  Jody inquired.

“No, mom,” Nikki repeated.  “I am fine.”

“I’ll talk to you later,” Jody said as she hung up the phone.

“What was all that about?”  Nikki wondered.  “Does she know about Juilliard?  She can’t know.”

Jody put the phone down and just sat there.  “She doesn’t know anything,” she stated.  “Raven hasn’t said anything yet.  Thank God.”

 

fountain

At the press conference, everything was going just as William had planned.  James read the speech that Bryan had prepared for him.  He was surrounded by his family with William, Bryan, Julia and Katherine off to the side.  His speech was followed by questions from the crowd.  Everything was going according to plan until Angela stepped up to the front.

“Ms. Scott, how do you feel about Mr. Swift running for District Attorney?”  she asked Julia.

Everyone was taken by surprise by the question.  Julia stepped to the front as James started to respond.

“What does…” he started to say before William put his hand over the microphone.

“Let her respond,” William whispered to James.  He then nodded to Julia to respond.

Julia stepped up to the microphone and basically recited a reply, a spiel that Bryan had prepared ahead of time.

“And how to do you feel about the man he is running against, Mr. Dallas?”  Angela questioned her.

“What?”  Julia asked.

“You did work him previously did you not?”  Angela mentioned.

“Yes,” Julia responded.  She then described how much better it was to work for James than Victor.

“So you are involved with Mr. Swift now?”  Angela inquired.

“What?”  a shock Julia replied.

James came up the microphone, “That is irrelevant,” he stated.

“Are you trying to hide something?”  Angela asked him.

“No,” James replied.  “What does that have to do with anything?”

“I just find it interesting that during the last campaign Ms. Scott was involved with Mr. Dallas, and now during this campaign she is involved with you,” Angela noted.

“That is irrelevant,” James said getting louder.

William came to his side, and told him to calm down.  “Mr. Swift would like to talk about issues now,” William announced into the microphone.

“Wasn’t she previously engaged to Mr. Dallas?”  Angela asked.  “Was she still engaged to him when you two became involved?”

James and Julia were getting furious about the insinuation.  “Now, listen here,” James started to shout.

“Would you do something about this?”  Raven shouted to Sky.

“What can I do?”  Sky replied.

In the back off to the side, Victor just smiled.

William stepped up to the microphone and ended the press conference.  He said how they planned to run a positive campaign and he stop the conference because things were turning negative.

The crowd began to disperse slowly but Victor stayed where he was.  Julia noticed him still there, and walked over to him.

William had gathered all of the Whitneys around him.  “I want to meet everyone in your office right now,” he stated angrily.

James took a seat on the steps of the courthouse.

“Are you feeling okay?”  Sky asked him.

“I feel sick to my stomach,” James replied.  “Now I’m afraid that I may actually be coming down with something.”

Victor was preparing to leave when he saw Julia walking toward him.

“Where you responsible for this?”  Julia asked as she walked up to Victor.

“Nice to see you too,” he responded.  “And no, I am surprised as you were.”

“Are you telling the truth?” she questioned him.

“I told you no,” he repeated.  “I told you I have changed.”

“Then what did you mean by the flowers?”  She asked him.

“What flowers?”  he inquired.

“The pink roses,” she responded.

“Pink roses?”  He asked shocked.  “They’re your favorite.  But I didn’t send you any.”

Julia just stared at him, and walked away.

Raven walked up to Angela but Angela spoke before Raven could get a word out of her mouth.  “I warned you,” she stated.

“And I warned you,” Raven replied.

“Think about my offer,” Angela said as she walked away.

 

Back at the law office, William was furious for the way James and Julia had responded at the press conference.  “Couldn’t you tell she was trying to get a rise out of you?”  He asked.  “She was trying to get a reaction out of you to make something of her story.”

“It won’t happen again,” James responded taking a huge gasp.

“It better not,” William told him.  “Now calm down.”

 

After watching the press conference at WMON, Jeremy went to see Jody.

“Why didn’t you do the press conference?”  He asked her.  “We’ve been waiting for him to announce his candidacy.”

“I was just a little tired,” Jody responded.

“Are you sure that you don’t want to go see Dr. Samuel again?”  He questioned her.

“No,” Jody replied.  “I will be fine.”

“Well, I’m going to find Martin to find and talk about Angela’s reporting,” he informed her.

After, Jeremy left her office, Jody’s phone began to ring.  She picked it up to see Raven’s name on the ID.  “I’m not ready to deal with you yet,” she said to herself.  Then she took the bottle of pills out of her purse.

 

In the hallway, Jeremy ran into Martin.  “What the hell was that?”  he shouted at Martin.

“What do you mean?” he replied, trying to pretend he didn’t know what he was asking him.

“That damn press conference,” Jeremy hollered back at him.  “Instead of reporting the news, Angela is angering her subjects to get a reaction out of them.”

“It’s all about the ratings,” Martin responded.  “We need to show the public what they want to see.”

“I won’t let you turn this station into tabloid journalism,” Jeremy told him.

“Just remember I have just as much say as you do,” Martin reminded him as he went into office where he found Angela waiting for him.

“What was that about?”  she asked him.

“Nothing for you to worry about,” he answered her.  “Pretty soon your name is going to become synonymous with WMON.”  Martin tried to put his hands around her, but she pushed them aside.

“That’s what I am expecting,” she stated.

 

As Jeremy walked to his office, Sky called him on his cell phone.  When he answered as he expected Sky was not in a good mood.  He was furious for the ambush at the press conference.

“Jody wasn’t feeling well, so we had to let someone else cover it,” he explained.

“How could you let it turn into that?”  Sky demanded.

“I don’t have as much control as I used to here,” Jeremy informed.  “WMON was bought by a new company a few months back: Richman Broadcasting.  Nothing really changed except we got another news producer and reporter.  Martin Thornton and Angela Rhomer.  They came together from Springfield.”

Sky still wasn’t pleased when he hung up the phone.  “Damn,” he whispered to himself.  “None of this would be happening if we hadn’t sold WMON after Geraldine died.”

“What did you find out?”  James asked him.

“WMON has new owners,” he informed everyone at the law office.  He turned to look at Gordon and told him, “I have another company for you to investigate-Richman Broadcasting.  They now own WMON.”

 

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 14

Everyone was quiet for a moment as Katherine got up to go across the room to the mail slot.  “We everything that happened today, I forgot to get the mail.”  She picked up everything in the slot and returned to her desk.  As she started going through the mail, she paused when she got to a yellow envelope.  “Oh my,” she stated.

“What is it?” everyone asked as they turned to look at her.

“Ms. Scott got another letter in a yellow envelope,” Katherine informed them.

“No,” Julia shouted as she walked toward her.  “I thought he had stopped all this.”

“What are you talking about?”  Geri asked who seated behind everyone next to a file cabinet.

“And who?”  Gordon questioned her as he moved toward the desk.

“It’s a long story,” Julia replied as she began to open the envelope.

“Are you sure that you want to do that?”  James questioned her.  Julia didn’t pay any attention to him.  “At least try not mess it up to see if Calvin can get prints off of it.”

“He never leaves prints,” Julia responded as she opened the letter from the envelope.  It had letters cut on from newspapers and magazines on it just like the others that she had received previously.  This one spelled out the word “Whore”.

 

At the Monticello P.D., Matthew and Mae entered as Calvin and Guthrie were leaving.

“Julia received another letter,” Calvin informed them as they left.  Matthew hardly acknowledged him.

As they sat at their desk, Mae turned to look at Matthew and said, “It’s about Calvin and Nikki.”

“What do you mean?”  he asked her.

“It’s obvious that is what your problem is,” she responded.

But before Matthew could respond, Chris poked her head out from her office.

“I need to see you, Detective Madison,” Chris informed her.

“Right away,” Mae responded as she got up from her desk.  Mae tried to hide the fact that she was not looking forward to the conversation.

Once Mae got into the office, she took a seat in front of Chris’ desk.

“We got a lead on the Stoner case,” Mae said.  “We need to go to Springfield tomorrow.”

“That is not why I called you in here,” Chris stated.  “But I think you know why you are in Monticello.”

“I can explain,” Mae responded.

“No excuses,” Chris replied.  “When I hired you it was on the condition that you meet with the police psychiatrist regularly to talk about what happened in Miami.  That was to continue until he discharged you.”

“I know,” Mae replied.

“I’m all for giving second chances,” Chris told her.  “I’ve made mistakes myself as a cop.  But if you don’t meet with him in the next three days, you’re fired.”

As Mae was exiting the office, she crossed paths with Deborah who was about to enter it.

“Is everything okay?”  Deborah as she walked by her.  Deborah could tell she was bothered by something.

“It’s okay,” Mae responded without even turning to face her.

When she entered Chris’ office, she caught Chris by surprise.

“What are you doing here?”  Chris asked.

“I wanted to find out if the new lead in Calvin’s murder panned out?”  Deborah questioned her.

“I was just going to call you,” Chris responded.  “You didn’t have to come in for that.” Chris informed Deborah that Matthew and Mae were headed to Springfield the next day.

“That sounds like a good start,” Deborah told her.  “Does Didi know what is going on?”

“Only what Calvin tells her, I assume,” Chris answered her.

“Why?”  Deborah asked.

“She still refuses to talk to me,” Chris informed her.

“Even after all these years,” Deborah stated.

Chris just shook her head in agreement with a sad expression on her face.

“Let me try to talk to her,” Deborah said.

 

At the D.A.’s office Victor was on the war path with just about everyone.

“Is Nathan here?” he asked as he stuck his head outside his office door.

“He’s not supposed to return until tomorrow,” Laurie reminded him.

“Just great,” Victor responded as he slammed the door behind him.

Laurie, on the phone with Nancy, told her that she would call her back after she talked with Victor.  Laure went to Victor’s office and knocked on the door.

“I don’t want to talk to anyone,” he yelled through the door.

“Not even your mother?”  Laurie asked as she gently opened the door.

“Not now,” Victor told her.

“It will only take a second,” Laurie informed him.  “I was just on the phone with your grandmother.  She knows you are under a great deal of stress, and she would like for you to come over tonight for dinner.  Your grandfather would like to give you some advice on your campaign”

“I don’t know,” Victor stated.

“You don’t want to disappoint her,” Laurie said.

“Will you be there?”  Victor asked.

“Of course,” Laurie replied shocked by the question.

“I mean, of course, you will be,” Victor replied.  “We’ll see.”

Laurie left the office and went back to sit at her desk.  “Just when I thought things were getting better between us,” she whispered to herself.

 

Back at the law office, Calvin was placing Julia’s letter in plastic bag as Guthrie was taking statements from everyone.

Charlotte and Katherine were sitting off to the side by themselves.

“It seems that Adam has taking a real liking you,” Charlotte stated just loud enough for Geri to hear.

Katherine blushed.  “He has been very nice.”

“And I think you two make a cute couple,” Charlotte told her.

“Oh, I don’t think I’d call us a couple yet,” Katherine replied.

“They’re not,” Geri whispered to Gordon.

Katherine phone began to ring in her purse.  She took it out of her purse, and looked at the caller ID.  She silenced the phone and put it back in her purse.

“It mustn’t have been anyone important,” Geri stated.

“That’s none of your business,” Charlotte told her.

“It’s okay,” Katherine replied.  “It’s Adam.  He’s calling to remind me that we have an early dinner reservation tonight.  Will we be much longer?”

“We are done here,” Calvin responded.  “You are all free to go.  I just have a few more questions for Julia.  Everyone left the office except James, Julia, Calvin and Guthrie.

Everyone else waited at the lobby for the elevators.  As the elevators doors opened, Calvin came out from the law office.  “Charlotte can I see you for a second?” he asked her.

“Sure,” she responded as she headed back the office.  “We’ll talk later,” she told Katherine.

Sky, Raven, Katherine, William and Bryan entered the elevator.  Gordon tried to get in, but Geri stopped him.  “That one is a little crowded,” Geri shouted.  “We will catch the next one.”

As the door closed Gordon looked at Geri angrily and asked, “What was that about?”

“I needed to talk to you in private,” she informed him.

“Why?” Gordon inquired.

“Because of this,” Geri replied as she opened her purse and pulled out a folder.

“What’s that?”  Gordon asked.

“Katherine’s employment folder,” Geri responded as she recalled taking it out of one of the file cabinet drawers as everyone was focused on the letter that Julia had received.

 

At the morgue, Adam was preparing to leave for the day when he saw that he had a voice mail on his phone.  He listened to the message.  It was Beth letting him know that she had arrived back in London safely.  She then asked him to consider calling Miles.

“You don’t let up,” Adam stated.  He remembered again finding out that Beth was pregnant.  He was angered at first and packed a bag to go back to Draper and April’s.  But then Beth had a talk with him.

“We’re not trying to replace you,” she told him.  “Miles and I love you like you were our own son.  Besides won’t it be exciting to be a big brother?”

“Do I get to boss him or her around?” he asked her.

“Sure,” Beth responded with a laugh.

The tension in the house had soothed for the time being.

Later one night when Adam had trouble sleeping, he went to Miles and Beth’s room.  He could hear them talking behind the door.  He heard Miles utter the phrase, “I always wanted a child of my own.”

Adam ran back to his room and cried.

Adam was so caught up in his memory that he did not notice Dr. Bauer at the door.

“Are you knocking off?”  Dr. Bauer asked him.

“Oh, sorry, I didn’t realize you were there,” Adam responded.  “Yes, I am.”

“I was going to head out to New Unicorn,” Dr. Bauer informed him.  “Do you have any plans?  Would you like to join me?”

“I have no plans tonight, so why not?” Adam responded.  “So tell me about this place.”

 

On their way home, Bryan didn’t say a work to his dad as William did not stop talking.

“Was is your problem?”  William asked him.

Bryan just sat there for a second.  “Did you notice anything about the letter Julia received?  He asked his father.

“No,” William replied.  “Should I have?”

“The yellow envelope and the yellow paper, that is the same kind that you keep in your desk,” Bryan replied.

“So?” William responded.  “Just how many people do you think have the same envelope and stationary?”

“Did you tell the police that?”  Bryan inquired.

“No, why should I?”  William responded.  “It’s just a coincidence.  And I don’t have time for this.  You need to get me home so I can rest.  I think I’m running a fever.”  He paused for a second and then asked Bryan, “Did you tell them anything?”

 

Back in the law office, Calvin and Guthrie were finishing up their questions.  “Besides Nathan, is there anyone else that you think could be behind this?”  Guthrie asked.

“Victor is the only other person I could think of,” Julia responded.  “But I don’t it is something he would do.  It seems like something Nathan would do but this is going too far.”

“Why would you say him?”  Guthrie inquired.

“We were in law school together,” Julia said.  “We always butted heads, and played dirty.  I was supposed to have that job in Capitol City, not him.”

“What happened?”  Guthrie questioned her.

“He called them and canceled my interview,” Julia explained.  “He told them I had found another job.  Then when I showed up for my actual interview, they had already given him the job.”

“Did you confront him?”  Guthrie asked.  “How do you know it was him?”

“Of course, I confronted him for what good it did,” Julia responded.  “He denied it of course.  The District Attorney’s office in Capitol City said it was a women that called.  But I wouldn’t put it past him to disguise his voice or have some women do it for him.”

“Well, we can question Nathan and Victor, but that is all we will be able to do without any more evidence,” Guthrie explained.

“And I’ll have another personal talk with Nathan,” Calvin told them.

Guthrie turned to look at Calvin as he said that.  “Don’t worry about it,” Calvin said to him.

“I guess that is all we can do for tonight,” Guthrie stated.

“I’ll take you home,” James said to Julia.

“Take me home?”  Julia questioned him.  “I’m the one who should be taking you home.  You are really starting to look pale.”

“She has a point,” Calvin said.

“I just need bed rest,” James told him.

“Well, you all can go,” Calvin told said.  “I want to talk to Charlotte in private.”

They all said their goodbyes and left Calvin and Charlotte there alone.

When the door was closed, Calvin turned to Charlotte and asked, “Did Nikki talk about me and school with you today?”

“You need to talk to her,” Charlotte responded.

“She’s been avoiding me,” Calvin informed her. “Is she going to break up with me?”

“No!” Charlotte exclaimed.

“Then why is she pulling away from me?”   Calvin questioned her.

“I can’t answer that,” Charlotte told him.  “You’re getting yourself worked up too much.  Why don’t we go out for a drink?”

“I could use one,” Calvin said.  “But I promised my mom that I would help her unpack her stuff tonight.  Let me call her first.”

 

At her apartment, the moving van has finished unloading all of her boxes.

“It’s going to take me forever to go through all these boxes,” Didi stated.

“I’d be glad to stay and help,” Nathan replied.

“Calvin is going to come by to help me,” Didi reminded him.

“Then I better leave before he arrives,” Nathan told her.

“You don’t have to,” Didi stated.

“Yes, I should,” Nathan stated.  Nathan still believed Calvin knew of his relationship with Didi and didn’t approve of it.  But he didn’t want to tell Didi.

“You don’t have to,” Didi repeated as her cell phone rang with Calvin’s call.

“Are you ready to tell him about us?”  Nathan questioned her as Didi answered the phone.

Calvin asked her how things we going, and if she really needed his help tonight.

“I will be fine tonight,” Didi told him.  “I have help here to help me unpack, and I’m not rushing things.  It is going to take me more than one night to go through everything.”

“Okay,” Calvin responded.  “I will touch base with you tomorrow.  And tell Julius I said hi.  And thanks for helping you move.”

“Okay, good night,” Didi replied as she hung up the phone.

“He thinks Julius is the one helping you, doesn’t he?”  Nathan asked.  “And you didn’t correct him.”

“You see-” Didi started to say but Nathan cut him off.

“You can’t decide what is going on with us, but you have no problem with people thinking you are involved with Julius Newcomb,” he stated.  “What do you want from me?”

 

On the flight from London, April was asleep as Draper looked out the window.

April started to mutter Julia’s name in her sleep.

“What is going?”  Draper whispered to himself.  He saw April’s carry-on bag by her feet.  He could see a notebook in the side pocket.  Draper thought for a moment then picked up the notebook as the stewardess walked by them.

She could hear April’s muttering.  “Is she all right?” the attendant asked.

“She’ll be okay,” Draper responded.

“Well, she sounds worried if not fearful,” she replied.  “But let me know if there is anything I can do for you.”

After she had walked back to the front of the plane, Draper opened the notebook.  April had written down all the dreams she had been having.  There were more vivid than he had imagined.  On the last pages, she wrote about the dreams she had just started having about Julia.  She had described how it was all dark, and that she was looking for her.  She couldn’t find her.  She heard voices ahead of her which she thought was Julia.  And then she heard gun shots.

 

Leave a Reply

