Cries in the Night: Chapters 9 & 10

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 9

Outside the Monticello Arms, a stunned Nikki was trying to answer Calvin’s question about why she was there.

“I was meeting with a donor for the foundation,” Nikki lied.

“At a hotel?”  Calvin questioned her.  “And where is Charlotte?”

“We were meeting at the restaurant in the hotel,” Nikki replied angrily but continuing the lie.  “Why are you being so suspicious?  And I do meet with donors without Charlotte.  What are you doing here?  Are you spying on me?”

“I’m sorry,” Calvin replied.  “I’ve been on a stake out across the street.  I’ve been in bad mood ever since the chief won’t let me work on my dad’s murder.”

“What am I going to do with you?” Nikki asked jokingly as she leaned in to kiss him.  “Now I have to run, Charlotte is waiting for me at the foundation.

“We can give you a lift,” Calvin informed her.  “We just finished our shift on the stake out.”

 

At the Monticello airport, Beth was sitting down waiting for her flight since it had been delayed.  “Maybe I should try and call Adam and try to talk to him again before I leave,” she wondered aloud.

A woman with a baby carriage came and sat across from her.  She took the baby out and started rocking back and forth.

Beth saw the pink blanket and assumed it was a girl and told the woman, “She is precious.”

“Thanks,” the woman replied with a smile.  “Do you have any of your own?”

The question took Beth by surprise as it brought back memories. She remembered all those years ago coming out of the bathroom with a pregnancy test and sitting down next to her sister-in-law, April.

“What does it say?” April asked her.

“Nothing yet,” Beth replied.

“I didn’t know you two were trying,” April stated.

“We have talked about it, and we were trying to decide what would be the best time,” Beth responded.  “But I guess God just decided for us.”  Beth held up the pregnancy test to show April the plus sign on it.

“I’m so happy for you,” April said.  “When are you going to tell Miles and Adam?”

Beth’s face turned from happy to concern by April’s question.  “We always worried about how it would affect Adam.  That’s why have waited to try to have a child on our own.”

“He seems to be adjusting to living here,” April stated.

“Yes, things have been going well for a while,” Beth informed her.  “But we don’t want him running off to your house again.”

“Where is he?”  April asked.

“He should be getting home from school soon,” Beth said.  “He had detention again.”

“I’m sorry,” April told her.

“At least it’s nothing that bad this time,” Beth replied.  “He just forgot to do his homework or so he said.”

“Anyway, I can’t wait for Miles to find out,” April stated.

“Me too,” Beth replied.

Back at the airport, an announcement over the intercom brought Beth back to reality from her flashback.

“If only things could have been different,” she whispered to herself.

 

At the Monticello PD, Chris was surprised to be informed that she had a visitor.   “Who is it?”  She asked to the person on the phone.  “Send her in,” she replied.

Her office door opened and former Chief Deborah Saxon walked through it.

“I told them to get you on the phone,” Chris told her.  “You didn’t mean for you to come here in person.”

“I wanted to know what you found out,” Deborah stated.  “They said you had a break in the case of Calvin’s murder.”

“Well, not exactly,” Chris said.  “But I am hopeful it will lead to one.”  Chris explained to her how Beth had hypnotized her, and that she had remembered the gunman’s tattoo.  “You worked this investigation when you were chief, until it went cold.  I promised I’d keep you informed of any breaks.  And this is has been best break in years.”

“How many people know about this besides you and Beth?”  Deborah asked.

“Just my detectives,” Chris informed her.  “I’m not sure I want to release it to the media yet.  What do you think?”

“Are you sure it is a gang tattoo?”  Deborah questioned her.

“Yes,” Chris responded.  “One of detectives,   Madison, used to work on a gang task force before shee joined the force.”

“Madison, yeah I noticed her name on the board outside, and it gave me chills,” Deborah told her.

“Why?”  Chris asked.

“Have you heard of Nola Madison?”  Deborah asked.  “The actress turned Monticello murderer, who tried to poison me.”

“I had no idea,” Chris said.  “That was before I came to Monticello, but I can assure you that she is not related to her.  Her mother was a cop.”

“It’s nice to see that you have a female officer on the force,” Deborah told her.

“Yes,” Chris responded.  “And so far there seems to be no problems, though it’s only been a couple of days.”

“Why would there be a problem?”  Deborah inquired.

Chris paused for a second.  Then responded, “She didn’t leave her last job in Bay City under the best circumstances.”

“Why?”  Deborah asked.  “What happened?”

 

Matthew and Mae were on stakeout on a side street in Monticello when Mae’s phone rang.  She looked at the number and ignored it.

“Anyone important?”  Matthew asked.

“Just my mother,” Mae responded.

“Are you ignoring her?”  Matthew inquired.

“No, I just don’t feel like speaking to her right now,” Mae replied.

“Is she the reason you came down here?”  Matthew questioned her.

“No,” Mae responded.  “And you are getting real nosey.”

“So why don’t you tell me why you came to Monticello?”  Matthew asked.

“Why don’t you tell me what is the problem between and you and Stoner first?”  Mae suggested.

Matthew paused.  “I hate talking about it,” He responded.

“Sometimes it helps to talk about it,” Mae replied.

“It involved a woman,” Matthew responded.

“Doesn’t it always,” Mae said.

Matthew wasn’t pleased.

“I’m sorry,” Mae stated.  “Please continue.”

Before Matthew could say anything Mae’s phone rang again.

“Your mom again?”  Matthew asked.

“No,” Mae replied as she answered the call.

From her expressions Matthew could tell Mae was getting excited by the conversation.

“What was that about?”  Matthew inquired.

“I think we just got a lead in the Stoner case,” she replied.

“Really?”  Matthew asked.

“Yes,” Mae answered.  “We have to go to the morgue.

 

At the D.A.’s office, Laurie was at her desk on the phone as she buzzed Victor.

“What is it?”  He asked as he picked up the phone.

“I have a reporter from WMON on the phone,” Laurie informed him.  “She says that she would like to interview you.”

“Why?”  Victor asked.  “There isn’t much going on here.”

“She said about the election, and your accomplishments as D.A.” Laurie stated.

“A fluff piece,” Victor responded.  “It must be a slow news day.  When does she want to do it?”

“Today,” Laurie answered him.  “They would like to air it on the news tonight.”

“Well,” Victor said as he thought for a moment.  “I suppose the press can’t hurt.  Tell them to come here around 5.”

 

At the foundation, Gordon was still telling Geri everything that he had found out about Adam.

“He may be more type than anyone thinks,” Gordon told her.

“Why?”  Geri inquired.

“He was about of wild child,” Gordon informed her.  “He got kicked out a couple high schools. And ended up at a boarding school.”

“Really, do you what why?”  Geri asked.

“I don’t know,” Gordon replied.  “But he did have minor problems with the law, vandalism, underage drinking.  But he seemed to straighten himself out once he got to medical school.”

“What do you plan to do with that information?”  Gordon questioned.

“I don’t know,” Geri responded.  “If all else fails, we can certainly bond over it.  How many times did we get threatened with boarding school?”

Gordon laughed in reply.  “But I knew mom would never let dad send us.”

“Why are you so hung up on this guy anyway?”  Gordon asked her.

“I’m proving a point to Charlotte and Nikki,” she responded.  “They said he wasn’t my type.  That I was out of his league.”

Geri picked up and phone and dialed Adam’s office.

“What are you doing?”  Gordon inquired.

“Sometimes, it’s up for the woman to make the first move,” Geri informed him.

Gordon’s stared at her told her that he didn’t think it was a good idea.

When Geri got him on the phone, she shocked to find out that Adam didn’t know who she was.

Gordon laughed.

“He’s just playing hard to get,” Geri whispered to Gordon as she covered the receiver.  “I was wondering if you would like to meet me out tonight for cocktails.”

“Cocktails,” Gordon whispered to himself trying to control his laughter so Adam could not hear him.  Geri gave him a kick on the leg to get him to be quiet.

“Oh, I see,” Geri stated.  “Well how about tomorrow night?”  “Well, why then don’t you get back to me later.”

Gordon couldn’t control his laughter any longer as Geri hung up the phone. “He was brushing you off,” Gordon said.

“No, he wasn’t,” Geri replied angrily.  “He already has dinner plans with the Karrs tonight.”

“And the rest of the week,” Gordon asked with a smirk.

“You will see,” Geri told him.  “I think I may need happen to have a reason to go to the Karr’s house tonight.”  She was smiling as she said it.

“Oh brother,” Gordon responded.  “I don’t think that is a good idea.”

“You will see,” Geri replied.

 

Back at the Monticello P.D. Chris was responding to Deborah’s question about Mae.

“She made a mistake,” Chris informed her.  “She deserves another chance.  I made mistakes as a cop, and you gave me another chance when you were chief.  I guess I am paying it forward.”

“Who is her partner?”  Deborah asked.

“My son, Matthew,” Chris answered her.

“I thought he was partnered with Calvin?”  Deborah inquired.

“He was, but I had to split them up, Calvin is with Guthrie now,” Chris informed her.  “Guthrie just got promoted to detective.”

“Guthrie?”  A shocked Deborah inquired.  “As in Steve Guthrie?”

“Yes, he’s Steve Guthrie Jr.,” Chris explained.  Chris then realized why Deborah was asking.

“Oh, I forgot you were involved with his father.”

“That’s okay,” Deborah responded.  “I haven’t seen him since Calvin’s funeral.  I assume he is living happily ever after in Arizona still.”  Deborah was referring to the fact that Steve Sr. had left Monticello for an undercover job in Arizona.  He wrote her a letter to tell her that he had fell in love with someone else there.

“I don’t know,” Chris replied.

“That’s not important,” Deborah stated.  “Now about that tattoo on the man that killed Calvin.  I think you should release that information to the media.

 

Angela and Martin arrived at the D.A.’s office with a camera crew as most of the staff was leaving the office.  They set things up in Victor’s office.

“I’m ready to begin when you are,” Angela announced as Victor sat down, and Laurie looked on with pride.

Angela began with some soft questions about his family, and his conviction record leading up to the election.

“It’s no wonder that I am running unopposed,” Victor stated with a smile.

“Of that’s not true anymore,” Angela said.

“What?”  A confused Victor asked.

“You don’t know?”  Angela questioned him waiting for his reaction.  “James Swift is running for District Attorney.”

Victor was caught completely off guard by her statement.  “Has he announced his candidacy?”

“We have it on good authority that he is going to announce tomorrow,” Angela informed him.

Victor barely made it through the interview controlling his anger.  When it was over, he jumped out of his seat.  “You did that on purpose.  You were trying to get a rise out of me.”

“I don’t know what you are talking about,” Angela replied.  “I’m just here to report the news.”

Victor rushed all of the news crew out of his office.

“What are you going to do?”  Laurie asked him.

“Where’s Nathan at?”  Victor questioned her.

“You don’t remember?”  Laurie replied.  “He is taking a couple days off.”

“Not anymore,” Victor responded as he picked up his cell phone to call him.  The phone went straight to voice mail.  “Where the hell is?”

“You need to calm down,” Laurie told him.

“I need to get out of here,” Victor yelled as he grabbed his coat.

“Where are you going?” Laurie asked before he got out the door.

“To see James Swift,” he shouted back as he left.

 

 

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 10

 

At the Karr house, Adam and Katherine were sitting in the living room talking to Mike and Nancy.  Everyone was getting acquainted with each other.

“So you are not from here?”  Nancy asked Katherine.

“No, I am from Bay City,” she responded.  She explained how she moved to Monticello after her mother had died.

“And how about your father?”  Nancy inquired.  “Any siblings?”

“No, it was just me and my mom,” Katherine replied.

Adam could tell Katherine was uncomfortable and changed the subject.  “So I understand that you knew my parents well,” Adam stated.  “What can you tell me about them?”

Nancy paused for a second then started to say, “You mean…” but Adam caught her off.

“Adam and Nicole,” he said.

Nancy and Mike began to tell Adam and Katherine about their relationship with Adam and Nicole.  From the time they met, to their working relationship, Mike and Nancy recalled to them everything they could remember.

“Did you know that they were married in our backyard?” Nancy asked.

“No, I didn’t,” Adam replied.

“I think I have a picture somewhere,” Nancy stated.  “Excuse me for a second while I go look for it.  Katherine could you help me.”  As the two got up to leave the room, the doorbell rang.

“I wonder who that could be.”  Mike thought about it as he got up to answer the door.   “We aren’t expecting anyone else.”

Mike opened the door, and surprised to see Geri Whitney there.

“Oh, Mr. Karr, thank God you are home,” Geri stated.  “I just got a flat tire on your street.  And my cell phone is dead.  Can I come in?”  Geri didn’t wait for a reply and just walked right in.

Adam looked up in shock to see Geri there.

“Oh Adam,” Geri said as she walked closer to him.  “Thank God you are here.  Can you help me change a flat tire?”  Geri recalled in her mind flattening the tire herself with a nail.

Before Geri could get any closer to Adam, Nancy and Katherine returned to the room with some photo albums.

11026817_1557134484551414_8086285224973612690_n

Across town Victor sat in his car in the parking lot of James’ law office waiting for him to exit the building.  “I don’t know who he thinks he is,” he whispered to himself.  Victor saw someone begin to exit the building.  He looked up and saw that it was James.  As he prepared to jump out of his car he saw that someone was with him.

“Did you drop something?”  James asked.

“I thought I did, but I got everything,” Julia answered appearing from behind him.

The two then embraced.

Victor stared at them in shock.   “What the hell?”

James and Julia then kissed.

“I’ll see tomorrow,” she told him.  “And try to get some rest tonight.  You look worn out.”

“I will,” James responded.  “I’m hope I am not coming down with something.”

Victor continued to stare at them in disbelief.  “So that is why she won’t listen to me.”  Victor said to himself.  “Well if he wants a fight then a fight he is going to get.”

Victor watched the two of them leave, and then picked up his cell phone to call Nathan again.

“Where are you?”  He asked angrily when Nathan answered.

“I’ve taken a couple days off,” Nathan reminded him.  “I’m helping a friend move.”

“There’s no time for that,” Victor stated.  “I need you back here as soon as possible.  I have a campaign I need to kick into high gear.  James Swift is going to run for D.A.”

Nathan who was lying in bed, finished the call and put his phone and the night stand.  As he laid back on the bed the bathroom door opened, and Didi appeared.

“What was that about?”  She inquired.

“You don’t want to know,” Nathan replied.

Didi sat on the bed next to Nathan.

“We said we were not going to let it go this far,” She stated.

“Old habits are hard to break,” Nathan responded as he leaned forward to kiss her.  “Besides once you stopped ignoring me, I knew all those old feeling would come back.”  Nathan was referring to the fact that Didi was dodging his calls and messages when she first came back to Monticello.

“Remember what we went through the first time,” Didi said.  “All the stares.  People whispering about the age difference.  People used to think you were my son.”

“And none of that matters,” Nathan told her.  “It didn’t and it doesn’t change the way I feel about you.”

“And the way it ended,” Didi mentioned.

“But I know you still feel the same way about me as I do about you,” Nathan stated.  “So what do you we do?”

 

In London, April Scott had awoken to find Draper was ready to serve her breakfast in bed.

“What did I do to deserve this?”  She asked her husband.

“You didn’t have to do anything,” he responded to her.  “How did you sleep?”

“Like you have to ask,” April replied.

“What happened?”  Draper questioned her.

“I haven’t made any more progress in the dream,” she informed him.  “I keep getting closer and closer to the coffin, but I never get to see your face.”

“You don’t know it’s me, and you know it doesn’t mean anything,” Draper stated.

“You don’t know that,” April responded.

“Well, I’ve got something to take your mind off of that,” he announced as he placed an envelope on the breakfast tray for her.

“What’s that?”  She asked him.

“Look,” he instructed her.

April opened the envelope, and she was surprised to find two tickets to Monticello.

“I think it is about time we go visit Julia,” he announced.  “I think getting away from here will do you some good.

 

Julia was walking down the hallway to her apartment flipping through the mail she had just got from her mailbox.  When she neared her apartment, her landlord’s door opened.  A gray haired man with glasses appeared.

“Julia, I’ve been hoping to catch you,” the man stated.

“Mr. Reardon, I’m just arriving home,” Julia responded.

“I have something for you,” he said.  “And I keep telling you to call me Curtis.”  He went back into his apartment and came back holding a bouquet of pink roses.”

“They are beautiful, Mr. Curtis” Julia told him.  “And my favorite flowers.”

“They are for you,” Mr. Reardon informed her.  “And just Curtis is fine.  They came for you earlier, and my wife signed for them.  I had to pry them away from her.  I think she wanted to keep them for herself.”  He laughed as he handed them to her.

Julia took the roses, and took a sniff.  “Beautiful,” she said.  Julia looked through them to see if she could find a card.

“It didn’t come with a card,” Mr. Reardon stated.

“That’s okay,” Julia replied.  “I’m pretty sure I know who they are from.”

The two exchanged good nights, and Julia entered her apartment.  She looked for a vase to put the flowers in, and then placed them on her kitchen table.  “Oh, James, that she was so thoughtful, and my favorite flowers,” she whispered to herself.

 

Back at the Whitney mansion, Raven was sitting on the sofa angry that Damian had not been returning her calls as an obviously agitated Sky entered from his study.

“What’s wrong?”  Raven asked him.  “Did Alicia do something?”

“No,” Sky replied.  “I told you that you don’t need to worry about her.  I’ve handled the situation.”

“That’s easier said than done,” Raven responded.  “So what is wrong?”

“It was a bad day at Whitney International,” Sky stated.

“What happened?”  Raven inquired.

“Why lost a bidding war for a big contract,” Sky explained.

“How did that happen?” Raven inquired further.

“It was to some company I have never heard of before,” Sky informed her.  “The Golden Eagle Corporation.  And it’s even stranger than that.”

“How come?”  Raven questioned him.

“Apparently they want to move their headquarters to Monticello,” Sky stated.  “And they made me an offer on the Whitney Towers.”  Sky was referring to the Whitney Towers the former Isis building that Sky had bought and renamed.

“You’ve got be joking,” a shocked Raven exclaimed.

“No,” Sky replied.  “I turned them down of course.  But I am going to find out everything I can about the Golden Eagle Corporation.”

“Well, the children are on their way over,” Raven informed Sky.

“James want to tell Charlotte, Gordon, and Geri about his running for District Attorney.”

“What time?”  Sky asked.

“They should all be arriving shortly,” Raven responded.

 

 

In Washington, Damian Tyler had left his office and headed to the parking garage.  There was no one around him as he got into the elevator.  But just before the door closed two burley men jumped into the elevator.

Then all of a sudden one of the men, grabbed Damian and pinned him against the wall with his arms behind him.  The other man stopped the elevator.

“What is going on?”  Damian asked.

“We need to have a talk with you, Mr. Tyler,” the man who stopped the elevator informed him.

 

At WMON, Jeremy and Jody were talking as they were getting ready for the news that night.

“How did it go with Dr. Samuel today?”  Jeremy asked.

“He gave me some pills to deal with the stress,” Jody informed him not revealing that she had already been taking the pills before she saw Dr. Samuel.  “He was hesitant to give them to me.  He said I should try exercise and different ways to relax but he finally agreed to give them to me.”

“Well, I hope that helps you calm down some,” Jeremy stated.

“By the way, James called.”

“And?”  Jody asked.

“He wants to make the announcement about him running for District Attorney tomorrow,” Jeremy informed her.

“Then I will be ready to cover it,” Jody replied.

They were unware that Angela was standing behind the wall behind them listening to every word.

Back at the Whitney mansion, James, Sky, Raven, Gordon and Geri were waiting for Charlotte’s arrival.

“I hope this isn’t going to take long,” Geri stated.  “It’s ladies night at the Unicorn, they are probably expecting me.”

“Aren’t they always expecting you,” Gordon said as she laughed.

Geri turned and looked at him, and by her facial expression you could tell that she was not amused.

James covered his face with his palms and was breathing heavy.

“Are you alright?”  Raven asked him.

“I’m just tired,” James responded.  “I feel a little nauseous.   I may be pushing myself too hard, but I’ll be okay.”

“I hope you are not coming down with something,” Raven stated.

Before James could respond, the doorbell rang.

“I wonder who that could be,” Sky questioned as he walked to answer the door.  He opened the door to find Calvin on the other side.

“Is something wrong,” Sky asked.

“No,” Calvin responded.

“Nikki is with Charlotte, and she said I could pick up from here,” Calvin explained.  “If that is okay?”

“Sure, come in,” Sky said.

Calvin walked into the mansion and noticed everyone there.

“Did I walk into a family meeting or something,” he inquired.

“No,” James replied.  “But you’ll see, when Charlotte arrives I have an announcement that I want to make,” James informed him as let a huge gasp then put his face back in his palms..

“What are you going to tell us?”  Calvin asked with a laugh.  “That you are Julia are finally dating.”

James paused for a second, and then looked up at him.   “Well that actually is true, but that isn’t what the announcement is.”

“We all knew that,” Gordon stated.

“No,” James replied.  “It hasn’t been going on for as long as you’ll think.”

“It’s wonderful news none the less,” Raven said.  “Will she be joining us?”

“No,” James answered.  “It was a long day so you went straight home from the office.”

“I wish you two could meet someone nice like that,” Raven stated as she turned to face Gordon and Geri.

“Well, Geri has tried,” Gordon said.

“What do you mean?”  Calvin asked.

“Stop it,” Geri exclaimed.

“She thought you was going to surprise Adam Cavanaugh at the Karrs’ house tonight, and she discovered he had a date with him there,” Gordon explained.

Gordon and Calvin burst out into the laughter.

“Stop it,” Geri repeated.

“It gets better,” Gordon continued.  “She flattened the tire on her car so Adam could play her knight in shining armor.  But that’s not with a happened.”

“Enough,” Geri exclaimed.

Gordon explained after Geri had informed everyone at the Karr’s house about her flat tire.  Mike mentioned that his next door neighbor owned a mechanic shopped.  He called to see if the guy could help.  “A balding old man with a missing front tooth, and mole on his face with hair growing out it shows up at Karr’s door,” Gordon said.    “So the old man ended up fixing the tire for her, so Adam didn’t have to be bothered by it.”

Calvin and Gordon continued to laugh.

Raven just kept shaking her head back and forth.  “Just great,” she whispered to herself.

“Would you’ll just stop,” Geri shouted.

“So is the old man single?”  Calvin asked jokingly.

“Well that hasn’t stopped her before,” Gordon added.

“Why can’t you just leave him alone?”  Calvin asked Geri.  “He’s obviously not interested in you?  Did you need to be hit by a ton of bricks before you realize that?”

“You don’t know what you are talking about,” Geri responded.

“Geri you would have better luck with the old man who fixed your tire,” Calvin stated.

“Calvin you need to stop focusing on me and start worrying about Nikki,” Geri said.

“What does that mean?”  Calvin inquired.

“You mean you don’t know,” Geri responded coyly.  “Apparently you are the only one who doesn’t know that Nikki is leaving to go to school at Juilliard.”

Calvin stared at her in shock.

“Geri how could you tell him that?’  Charlotte shouted from the entrance door at the mansion with a horrified Nikki standing next to her.

 

At his house, William Church was talking to his son Bryan about press conference for James.

“Do we have everything set up?”  He asked Bryan.

“Yes, we are all ready to go,” Bryan responded.

“Make sure you pick up all his campaign literature before you come to the court house,” William stated.  “I want to be able to hand it out to the press, and start posting signs right away.”

“I know,” an agitated Bryan responded.

“Good,” William said as he sat down on his sofa and turned on the television with the remote.

It was on WMON and the news was airing.  Jody had just stated that they were switching to an interview with District Attorney Victor Dallas.

“I wonder what he has to say,” William mumbled to himself.

The interview progressed smoothly until Angela asked Victor running for District Attorney against him.

“What?” William exclaimed jumping up from his sofa.  “How did they find out?”

“I don’t know,” Bryan responded.

“What the hell,” William yelled.  He started throwing items across the room.

Bryan was getting nervous.  “You need to calm down,” he told his father.  “You don’t look well.”

“I know what I need to do,” William yelled back.  “Get James Swift on the phone.”  William then wiped the sweat from his brow.

 

At WMON, Martin was in the control booth watching the telecast.  He was looking at Jody’s shocked reaction as Jeremy walked in the room.

“Are you responsible for this?” He asked Martin.

“What do you mean?”  Martin responded trying to ask innocent.  “We are just reporting the news.  Do you have a problem with that?”

“How did you find out?’  Jeremy inquired.

Martin didn’t respond.

“Never mind,” Jeremy replied as he stormed away in anger.

“If his mad now, what until he finds out what is next,” Martin said to himself.  “You may have considered it gossip.  I see it as sensational journalism.”  Martin was referring to the call from the tip line earlier that Jeremy referred to as gossip.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

