Cries in the Night: Chapters 7 & 8

Cries in the Night:  Chapter 7

“What?”  Everyone in Chris’s office asked in unison after hearing Mae say that she knew what the tattoo meant.

“I know what it means,” Mae repeated.

“What does it mean?” Chris questioned her.

“Well, before I worked homicide, I was on a task force dealing with street gangs,” Mae explained.  “That symbol belongs to a street gang.  I need to go get a binder to see which one it actually is.”

As Mae left the room, Calvin began to doubt her answer.  “A tattoo from a street gang?”  He asked.  “From that long ago?”

“She knows her stuff,” Matthew replied.  “Just wait and see.”

 

At the Whitney foundation, a nervous Nikki was pacing back and forth in front of her desk when Charlotte entered the office.

“What the hell did she think she was doing last night?”  Nikki blurted before Charlotte was hardly in the door.

“Good morning to you too,” Charlotte said to her sarcastically.

Nikki just stared at her unamused.

“She obviously knows something and wants to make you nervous,” Charlotte responded. “Do you want to tell me what is going on?”

“How could she know?”  Nikki asked her.

“Know what?”  Charlotte questioned her.

Nikki opened her purse to look for the letter but she couldn’t find it.  Then Nikki’s face went out like a light.  “That bitch!” she exclaimed.  “She must have found the letter.”

“Do you want to tell me what it is going on?”  Charlotte repeated.  “Are you seeing someone else?”

“No, why would you think that?”  Nikki responded not wanting to admit she had started seeing Calvin when she was still dating Matthew.

Charlotte just stared at her.

“Well, that’s not the case this time,” Nikki told her, then paused for a moment.

“Well?”  Charlotte said getting angry.

“You do know that I love working with you here and you are my best friend,” Nikki started to say.

“Yes, and?”  Charlotte questioned her getting more impatient.

“But you know I studied Drama,” Nikki reminded her.  “I had just about given up hope of every being able to make a career out of it.  But I did apply to the Fine Arts program at Juilliard.”

“And?”  Charlotte asked with her tone getting more excited.

“I had an interview with them yesterday,” Nikki informed her.

“And?”  Charlotte repeated.

“I think it went well,” Nikki replied.  “I have audition for them today in a conference room at the Monticello Arms.”

“I guess that means you are not going to make today’s lunch with Ms. Walsh?”  Charlotte asked her.

“I’m sorry but I completely forgot about that,” Nikki explained.

“It’s okay,” Charlotte said.  “I can handle it by myself.  It just getting her signature on the paperwork.”

“Thanks,” Nikki replied.

“It’s all very exciting,” Charlotte stated.  “But Calvin obviously has no idea.”

“No,” Nikki exclaimed.  “I don’t want to worry him unnecessarily.”

“What are you going to do if you get accepted?”  Charlotte inquired.

“It’s a four-year program, and it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity,” Nikki explained.

“And Calvin?”  Charlotte asked.  “Where does he fit into all of this?”

“I don’t know,” Nikki answered her.  “I do love him, but this is my dream.  I think my mom regrets never further pursuing her acting career.   And I don’t want to have that regret.  I don’t want to hurt him either.  Calvin and I have never discussed that far in the future.  But things between us now have been better than ever.”

“You better tell Calvin soon now that Geri apparently knows.” Charlotte stated.

“She better not say anything to Calvin,” Nikki said.  “But we are talking about your sister.  I tried to reach her last night.  I couldn’t get an answer and it wouldn’t even let me leave a message.  She is dodging my calls as well.  I even tried to locate where was by reading her Twitter.”

“I’m here now,” Geri announced as she entered the office.

 

Back at the police station, Mae returned to Chris’ office with a binder.

“I know that tattoo is some kind of gang symbol,” she stated.

“This case is so old, could that tattoo really be relevant?”  Guthrie asked.

“I’m just telling you what I know,” Mae replied as she flipped through the pages.

“There it is,” Calvin shouted when she got to a page with the tattoo on it.

“That is a symbol of the Galahads,” Mae informed them.  “They are mostly associated with petty thefts.  They are really not known for drugs.  At least not in Monticello.  They also have gangs in Springfield and Chicago.  We are not sure how they relate to one another.”

“Now what do we do with this information?”  Calvin asked.  “And how is this going to help us find out who killed my father?”

 

At the mansion, Lyle was finishing up a phone call with his father, Gunther.  “If I can’t get Mr. Whitney to listen to me than I will have him call you or you can call him,” he said as he hung up the phone.

“Get Mr. Whitney to listen to you about what?”  Raven asked as she entered the living room.

Lyle was stunned by her presence, and just stood there.

“Ask Mr. Whitney about what?”  Raven repeated.

“It’s really nothing,” Lyle responded.

“If it’s nothing they why are you worried about what Mr. Whitney will say and why can’t you tell me?”  Raven inquired further.

Lyle paused for a moment.  “It’s a personal situation with my father,” he responded.  “It’s sort of a man thing.  My dad really wants to try to keep it private.”

“Okay,” Raven said reluctantly.  “I’m going upstairs to get my purse.  Then I want you to take me on some errands.  And I better not find out that you are lying to me.”

“I’ll be waiting in the limo for you,” Lyle told her.  Lyle watched her go up the stairs and out of sight before he breathed a sigh of relief.  “I hope she believes what I told her.”

“What did you tell her?”  Sky asked from across the room.

“Geez, is there any way to get any privacy in this place?”  Lyle uttered.

“What was that about?”  Sky inquired.

“It was about you,” Lyle responded.

“What do you mean?” a puzzled Sky asked him.

“We can’t talk here,” Lyle told him.  “Let’s go into study so no one can hear us.”

After they entered the study, Sky locked the door and turned around to Lyle.  “So what was that all about?”  Sky asked again.

“Well, I was talking to my father,” Lyle started to explain.

“What did I…” Sky started to say but Lyle cut him off.

“Please let me finish,” Lyle pleaded.

“All right, out with it,” Sky responded.

“I was telling him about the conversation I overheard…” Lyle was cut off by Sky before he could finish.

“Have you been spying on us?”  Sky asked angrily.  “I should fire you right now.”

“Please let me finish,” Lyle persisted.

Sky didn’t say anything.

“She was on the phone with a Damian Tyler,” Lyle continued.  “My dad says he was a cop that was close to Mrs. Whitney.”

Sky wasn’t happy about the comment but he motioned to Lyle to keep talking.

“She asked him to help her to put a stop to what Alicia Van Dine was doing.”

“What?” a shocked Sky asked.

“Anyway, my dad said to tell you that he knows you didn’t tell Mrs. Whitney the truth, and you really need to,” Lyle stated.

“What did I tell you about that Lyle?” Sky asked angrily.

“Mr. Whitney, I was just trying…” Lyle tried to say but Sky wouldn’t let him finish.

“Enough!” Sky shouted.  “Leave me alone, and don’t speak of this again.”

Lyle quickly left the study and closed the door behind him.

Sky sat down at his desk and covered his face with his hands. “This is getting out of control,” he whispered to himself.

He opened a locked desk drawer and took out a box.  He then opened the box and took out a photograph.  “I am trying to do the right thing,” he said to it.

 

Later on across town, Julia was finishing up after having had lunch with Laurie.

“We need to finish up here,” she stated.  “I have to meet James…with a client.”  She stopped herself before mentioning anything meeting James’ campaign manager.

“I’m just sorry I never got to know better when you were with Victor,” Laurie said.  “You know he really is sorry for what he did.  And he is trying to change.”

“I know,” Julia stated.  “He told me that.  And he did seem to be different.  More like the old Victor I knew.

“He wants you to give him a chance to make things right,” Laurie said.

“I told him I forgave him, and I am glad he is trying are trying to change,” Julia replied.  “But I have moved on.”

Julia then jumped into a cab as Laurie watched her drive away.

Laurie turned away and saw Victor standing there to take her back to the office.

“I’m sorry,” Laurie told him.

“That’s all right,” Victor said.  “I’m not giving up yet on her.”

Laurie looked worried about Victor’s response.

 

In her room at the Monticello Arms, Beth packed up her things as she prepared to leave Monticello to return to London.  Her cell phone rang, and she was surprised to see her brother-in-law Draper’s Scott’s name on the I.D.

“Draper, is something wrong?”  Beth asked as she picked up the phone.

“Not exactly,” Draper answered him.

“What does that mean?”  Beth inquired.

“It’s April,” Draper said.  “I’m worried about her.

“Why?”  Beth asked.

Draper went on to tell Beth about the nightmares April was having.  “I told her that she should talk to you when you get back.  But I think they are getting worse.  I know she is not telling me everything.”
“Now let’s not rush to any judgements,” Beth told him.  “I can discuss this with April when I get back.  But don’t worry so much.  Adults can have nightmares just like children do.”

“But why?”  Draper questioned her.

“There could be several reason,” Beth explained.  “Off the top of my head, is she anxious?  Is she depressed?  Or is she taking a blood pressure medicine or an anti-depressant?”

“No, she isn’t on any medication,” Draper responded.  “I know she misses Julia.  Maybe she is   missing her more than I think?”

“We can talk more when I get back,” Beth stated.  “I really need to get finished packing before I miss my flight.”

“Okay, thanks,” Draper said as he hung up the phone.  He put the phone down, and then sat on the sofa.  He stared at his wedding picture on the end table.  “I know what we can do,” he whispered to himself.

 

Back at the Monticello P.D., Chris picked up the binder that Mae was holding.  “This is what we are going to do,” she announced to the officers.  “Mae, get in touch with your connections on the gang task force.  Find out all you can about the Galahads.  See if you can go back as far as you can to find their origins or when they started using that tattoo.”

“Yes, chief,” she responded.

“I’d like to go too,” Calvin stated.

“Take Gantz with you,” Chris added.

“Chief…”  Calvin started to stay but Chris cut him off.

“Matthew is her partner,” Chris responded.  “And you know I can’t let you do that because you have a personal stake in this case.”

“But Chief,” Calvin protested.

“No buts,” Chris replied.  “You and Guthrie are back on your stake out.  Now go.  I have someone I want to contact to advise me on how to proceed with this case.”

When they were out of her office, she picked up the phone and buzzed her secretary.  “Get Deborah Saxon on the phone for me,” she stated.

 

At WMON, Martin walked into the building and saw Jeremy sitting at desk on the phone.  He stood to the side and tried to listen.

“I’m aware of that,” Jeremy said.  He paused for a moment, and then looked shocked.

“Well, I don’t know where you are getting your information from, but we don’t report on gossip.”  Jeremy then hung up the phone.

Martin appeared as Jeremy hung up the phone.  “Is everything all right?”  Martin asked him.

“Yes,” Jeremy replied.  “That was someone who called the tip line, and instead of giving us a story to cover, they wanted to spread gossip.  A waste of time.”

“Anything good?”  Martin inquired.

Jeremy just shook his head at him and walked away.

When Jeremy was out of view, Martin picked up the phone and called back the number from the caller I.D.

In a graveyard, Adam was kneeling down and looked up at the tombstone.  It was for his mother, Nicole.  “Hi mom,” he said.  “I can’t remember the last time I was here but I still miss you.  And I still think about you all the time.”

index

He was interrupted by his cell phone ringing.  He stared at Beth’s name on the caller I.D. as he phone rang.  “I’m not ready to go another round with you,” he said to himself.

He picked up a rock on the ground, and threw it back down.  “I mean I know she means well but she’s not you,” Adam stated aloud.  “Things were never the same between dad and me since you died.”  Adam paused for a second realizing that he referred to Miles as dad.  “For the longest time everyone has been telling me that I need to try to understand and forgive him.  It’s still hard, and I know he still blames me for the accident all those years ago.”

Adam remembered when he was a kid back in London.  He had moved back with Miles and Beth after his latest stay with Draper and April.  He was in his room crying when Miles came running through the door.

“What did you do?” Miles yelled.  “My God, Adam how could you?”

 

Back at WMON, Martin entered his office to find Angela sitting there.

“Where have you been?”  Angela asked.  “I’ve been trying to call you, and you haven’t answered.

“Working my dear,” Martin informed her.

“I bet,” Angela replied sarcastically.  “Do you find out anything else out about Jody Travis?

“Not yet,” Martin responded.

“Then what good are you to me,” Angela exclaimed.  “How do you want to use the information I found out about James Swift?”

“Simple,” Martin answered.  “We are going to interview Victor Dallas today.”

“Why?” a confused Angela inquired.

 

Chapter 8

 

Back at the Whitney Foundation, Nikki and Charlotte were staring at Geri who had just walked in the door.

“Is something wrong?”  Geri questioned them sarcastically.

“None of your business,” Nikki responded.  “I can’t believe you actually showed up to work two days in a row.”

“Oh, was I supposed to work today?”  Geri asked.  “I told Gordon I would help him on a case.”

“If you are not here to work, then why are you here?”  Charlotte questioned her.

“I left my sunglasses here yesterday,” Geri responded as she picked them up off one of the desks.

“Well, you need to watch the office,” Charlotte started to say.  “Nikki and I have another lunch date with Ms. Walsh to finalize her donation to the foundation.”

“So Nikki still works here?”  Geri inquired.

“That’s none of your business,” Nikki shouted.

“Now that is enough,” Charlotte exclaimed.  “Enough.  You are going to keep your mouth shut about this.  And none of your games like you did with Calvin last night.”

“I don’t know what you are talking about,” Geri told her while she was still smiling.

“I mean it Geri,” Charlotte stated.  “Not a word or you will sorry.”

Geri stood there in silence.  She looked at both of them.  She could tell Nikki was upset.  She turned her attention back to Charlotte and said, “Okay.”

 

On their stake out, Calvin and Guthrie sat in an unmarked car on a side street in downtown Monticello. Calvin was getting off phone with his mom.  She was packing up her things from the Monticello Arms to move them to her new apartment.

“I can come by tonight, and help you move them,” Calvin informed her.

“That won’t be necessary,” Didi responded.  “It’s not that much, and I have someone here to help me.”

“A man?”  Calvin inquired.

“Now don’t read anything into it,” Didi retorted.  “After we drop the boxes off we will be heading to Capitol City to pack up the rest of my things there.”

“We?”  Calvin asked chuckling.

“Now, Calvin,” Didi started to say before he cut her off.

“That’s fine mom,” Calvin said.  “I like Mr. Newcomb.  He seems like a very nice man.  Call and let me know you got there okay,”

“I will,” Didi told him as she hung up the phone.

 

When Didi hung up the phone, there was a knock at her door.  “Come in it, it’s open,” she shouted.  As the door opened Nathan Gannon entered.

“Sorry, I’m late,” he stated.

“That’s okay,” Didi responded.  “I was beginning to think you weren’t coming.  I’ve been calling you, and I haven’t been getting an answer.

“Oh, I’m sorry,” Nathan responded.  I forgot to recharge it last night.  And I had to stop by the office to let them know I wasn’t going to be there, the next couple of days.”

“Any problems?”  Didi asked.

“No,” Nathan replied.  “There is nothing pressing on the docket this week.  And Victor is more concerned with his people’s personal lives than he is with what’s going on at the office or even his re-election campaign.  Though he is running unopposed, so there is no reason for him to be concerned.”

“Did you ever think of running for it yourself?”  Didi inquired.

Nathan paused for a moment.  “One day, maybe, probably, but not right now.”

“Why?” Didi questioned him.

“I’m just settling in Monticello,” Nathan explained.  “And I don’t think either one of us want poking into my personal life right now.  That’s something Victor doesn’t have to worry about it.  He always makes sure he comes out of things untarnished.  And it doesn’t hurt to be related to Mike Karr.  He’s a legend in this town.  And he never lost an election himself.”

“He almost did anyway,” Didi stated.

“Really?” a shocked Victor asked.  “When?  How?”

“It was a bad time in Monticello,” Did began to tell him.  She told of Louis Van Dine’s plan to take over Monticello by subliminal messages.  She continued informing him how Holly Meech had come forward to claim she was having an affair with Mike.

“You’re must be joking” Nathan asked her.

“I wish I was,” Didi continued.  “She was call girl or something I can’t remember.  She was lying of course.  But the subliminal messages didn’t help the situation. Sky Whitney and some other men were able to stop Van Dine and save the election.  And…”  Didi stopped speaking there.

“And that is when you were-” Nathan started to say but Didi cut him off.

“I was locked up in a mental institution,” Didi stated.

“I know,” Nathan replied.  “I can’t imagine what you went through then.”

“I knew I was being watched,” Didi said.  “I could feel it.  But no one believed me until they found Louis Van Dine’s hidden camera in my office.   I don’t wish that on anyone.  It is a frightening feeling to know that you are being watched or stalked.”

Nathan paused for a moment.  “Who was on the phone?”  Nathan asked changing the subject.

“My son, Calvin,” Didi answered him.  “I don’t know why you won’t let me tell him that you are helping me?”  She asked him.  “We are friends after all.”

Nathan didn’t respond but flash backed to the confrontation he had had with Calvin outside the courthouse.  Calvin had told him to leave her alone.  In reality, Calvin was referring to Julia but Nathan thought he meant Didi.

“After all there is nothing going on between us,” Didi stated.

“Any more,” Nathan replied.  “One of the reasons I came to Monticello was to get over you.”

“Really?” a shocked Didi questioned him.

“Like you didn’t know” Nathan replied.  “But seeing you makes it hard to do that.”

 

Back in the squad car, Guthrie tried to make small talk.  “She seemed to put you in a good mood,” he stated.

“I can’t believe I am stuck here,” Calvin replied changing his tone.  “We are detectives, and here we are trying to catch pickpockets.”

“You know they believe it is an organized effort,” Guthrie responded.  “They believe it is gang related and some of Monticello’s finest have been victims.  After all, Julia was a victim herself.  Besides you know we get jobs like this when we don’t have a murder case.”

“We do have a murder case, and it is gang related,” Calvin replied.  “My father’s murder.”

“You know why you can’t investigate that,” Guthrie said.

“We are being wasted out here,” Calvin responded.  He looked across the street and caught a glimpse of Nikki going into the Monticello Arms.  “Hey, isn’t that Nikki?”

Guthrie turned to look.  “She’s going there again?’

“What do you mean again?  Calvin asked.

“Well,” Guthrie paused for a second, trying to find the right words.  “Well, I saw her exiting the hotel yesterday.”

“And you didn’t tell me?”  Calvin replied surprised.  “Why?”

“Well, because I didn’t want to upset you,” Guthrie responded.

“And I would be upset why?”  Calvin inquired angrily.

“Because she was with someone,” Guthrie informed him.

 

In Dr. Samuel’s office, Jody was talking to Dr. Samuel.  “So how are things going?” He asked.

“Jeremy made me come,” Jody explained.  “He is worried about how all the stress in my life is affecting me.  But I think I am doing better.”

“So the medication is not working for you?”  He inquired.

“No, it is,” Jody replied.  “Jeremy is just being overly cautious.”

“Does he know you are taking something?”  Dr. Samuel.

“No,” Jody replied.  “He thinks I am here to get you to prescribe something for me.”

“So you are lying to him,” Dr. Samuel stated.  “That is not going to make anything better.  And the fact that you are here means that you are not handling things any better.”

“I am,” Jody replied.

“Remember I told you that I don’t like prescribing drugs for this,” he repeated.  “And I was starting you off on something in small doses.  Because I didn’t want you to get too dependent on it.”

“Yes,” Jody replied.

“Well, I am not changing your dosage,” Dr. Samuel informed her.  “Have you tried any of my other suggestions?  Such as an exercise program, and changing your diet?”

“I’ve tried,” Jody lied.

“Are you seeing a therapist as well?” he asked.

“I have been talking to my sister-in-law, she’s a psychiatrist,” Jody replied.

“I know Dr. Correll,” he responded.  “Are you seeing her professionally?  Is she back in town?”

“Yes,” Jody lied again.

“Then I suggest you let your husband know what is going on,” he told her.

“I will,” Jody answered him.

“And another thing, please remind your daughter to schedule her next appointment with me. She’s overdue.”

“Is something wrong?”  Jody questioned him.

“No,” Dr. Samuel replied.  “She is doing fine.  I just want to keep monitoring her condition.”

 

Back at the cemetery, Adam was still talking to Nicole at her grave.  “I know Miles still blames me for the accident,” he whispered.  “I honestly don’t know if I can blame him.  But, I need to get going.  I have a dinner date tonight,” he whispered.  “I hope to learn more stuff about you and dad from them.”

 

Back at the foundation, a bored Geri was surprised when Gordon entered through the door.

“What are you doing here?”  Geri inquired.  “You are beginning to spend more time here then you are at the detective agency.”

“I’m here to see a client,” Gordon responded.

“Who?”  Geri asked.

“You,” Gordon replied.  “Remember you wanted to me to get the low down on Adam Cavenaugh?  Well I did, and I expect to be paid.”

“Really,” Geri answered him.  “Did you find out anything interesting?”

“As a matter of fact I did,” Gordon informed her.

Geri’s eyes perked up from behind the computer screen where she was looking.  “Well, what is it.”

“For starters, not only is Beth not his real mother, but Miles isn’t his real father,” Gordon announced.

“Wow!” Geri exclaimed.

Gordon went to tell Geri about the deaths of Adam’s birth parents, Adam and Nicole Drake.  “That must be why he is using the name Drake now,” Gordon assumed.  “And there’s more.”

“What else?” an excited Geri asked.

 

At the law office, Julia had returned from her lunch with Laurie to see everyone busily working on James’ campaign.

Bryan was making small talk with Katherine.  “So you are not from here are you?”  He asked.

“No, I was born in Bay City,” Katherine responded.  “I moved her after my mother died.”

“Oh that so sad,” Bryan stated.  “I’m so sorry.  Do you have any other family?  Any brothers or sisters?”

James could tell that the questions were making Katherine uncomfortable.  “So what is our next step?”  He asked William to change the subject.

William closed a folder of newspaper clippings that he was reading.  “I don’t see anything in his past courtroom performances that we can really use against Victor,” He announced.

“I didn’t expect you would,” said Julia.  “I know Victor well.  After all, I was going to marry him.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I made that decision.”

“That’s alright, we all have made bad decisions in our lives,” Bryan said to hear.

“Bryan!” William exclaimed disapprovingly.  “Have you finished your background search on Victor?”

“Yes,” Bryan responded.  “There is nothing really there, either.  Though his mother did spend several years in a mental institution.”

“And we will not use that against him,” James announced.

“Then, it’s hard to find anything,” Bryan stated.  “He’s following in his grandfather, Mike Karr’s footsteps.  With that legacy, he’s unstoppable.

“He did almost lose one campaign,” William told the group.  William then began to tell the story about Holly Meech’s accusations.  “Of course they were proven false.”

“Maybe that’s it,” Bryan said interrupting him.  “We can invent something.”

“He’s only joking,” a shocked William said as he slapped Bryan across the shoulders.

“Mike Karr is Victor’s grandfather?”  Katherine asked.

“Yes,” James responded.  “Is something wrong?”

“Adam called me earlier, and he wants to take to the Karr’s house tonight for dinner,” Katherine informed them.

 

Back at the Monticello Arms, Nikki had finished her audition.  She had performed a monologue of Viola from Shakespeare’s “Twelfth Night”.  She waited nervously to hear a response for the three people watching her.  It seemed like forever but they all got up and applauded her.

“That was excellent, Ms. Rhodes,” one of them said.

“Thank you,” Nikki replied letting out a sigh of relief.  “When will I know if I have been accepted?”

“You should hear from us within the next week or two,” a woman responded.

Nikki left the room smiling for ear to ear.  She picked up her phone to call Charlotte as she made it to the entrance of the hotel.

“So what are you doing here?”  Calvin asked her at the entrance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

