Cries in the Night: Chapter 4

At the Whitney mansion, Lyle was in his bedroom as he talked to his father, Gunther on the phone.

Lyle was recalling to his father the conversation that he had heard between Sky and Raven on the previous day.  He told him how Sky had informed Raven that Alicia had put out a hit on Raven and the children all those years ago. Gunther didn’t sound too pleased with the revelation.  He told Lyle to tell Sky that he would be calling to talk to him.

“I will tell him,” Lye said as he hung up the phone.  “I wonder what all that is about,” he whispered to himself.

 

Across town in a small cafe, Didi was having lunch with her ex-boyfriend, Julius.  The two were catching up with each other.  Julius had informed her that his wife had died the previous year and that he had moved back to Monticello to be closer to his son.

“That’s why I am here too,” Didi informed him.  “My son is a detective with the Monticello Police Department.”

“Just like his father,” Julius stated.  “You must be proud!”  Julius noticed the change in Didi’s expression when he mentioned Calvin.  “I was sorry to hear about Calvin.  I saw the segment on Monticello’s Most Wanted.  Did it produce any new leads in the case?”

“Not that I know of,” Didi answered.  “I basically learned to accept the fact that they’ll never find this ‘Tommy’,” Didi said referring the henchman of Louise Van Dine that had shot and killed Calvin.

“You mustn’t think like that,” Julius told her.

“You know how long it has been,” Didi said.  “It’s hard not to think that way.  And with Chief Egan in charge, I don’t expect much.  You do know that she is responsible for his death?”

“You need to stop saying that,” a voice from behind the table exclaimed.

Didi turned to see that it was her son Calvin Jr, and his partner Guthrie.

“I don’t want to have this conversation again,” she informed her son.  “I have accepted the fact that you are working for her and the Monitcello P.D.  You need to see things from my perspective.”

“I’m Julius Newcomb,” Julius said introducing himself trying to break up the confrontation.

“I’m Calvin, and this is my partner, Guthrie,” Calvin responded.

“Newcomb?” Guthrie asked.

“Yes,” Julius replied.

“Any relation to Judge Newcomb?”  Guthrie inquired.

“Yes, he’s my son,” Julius answered.

“He’s a fine judge,” Guthrie stated.  “I have been in his courtroom quite a few times.”

“And how do you two know each other?” Calvin question interrupting between the two.

Didi paused for a moment and looked at Julius.  “We are old friends from when I lived in Monticello.”

“We are going to go out and try to find your mother a place to live,” Julius informed him.

“That’s great,” Calvin responded.

“There’s a vacant apartment in my building that I think she might be interested in,” Julius announced.

“Oh really,” Didi replied with a look on her face believing Julius had an ulterior motive for her moving in his building.

“We’ll we leave you to get back to lunch,” Calvin said.  “We just came to pick up our order.  We have a stakeout that we are on today.” They exchanged goodbyes as the cops left the table.

“An apartment in your building?” Didi asked.

“Yes, is that a problem?” Julius inquired.

“No,” Didi responded.  “As long as you don’t read anything into it.  I am not looking for a relationship right now.”

“Neither am I,” Julius replied.  “I’m still getting over my wife.  And we work better as friends, and I don’t want to go down that road with you again.”  Julius was referring to the fact that Didi had not accepted his marriage proposal because of her feeling for Calvin.

At the counter, Calvin and Guthrie were paying for their order.

“What do you think of him?” Calvin asked.

“Julius?”  Guthrie replied.  “He seems very nice and polite.”

“I think so too,” Calvin replied.  “And it’s about time my mom starting seeing someone.  She hasn’t been involved with anyone since my dad died.”

21Badge_001

Matthew and his new partner Mae sat in his car at the stakeout.

“I don’t know what is talking those two so long,” Matthew stated referring to Calvin and Guthrie.

“I’m sure they will be here shortly,” Mae responded.  “You don’t like him too well, do you?”

“What do you mean?”  Matthew asked.

“You know the coffee shop last night,” Mae stated reminding Matthew about the argument last night that had resulted in Matthew spilling coffee on her.

“I told you,” Matthew responded.  “I am really sorry about that.  Things between Calvin and me are complicated. Why don’t we talk about you?” Matthew inquired changing the subject.

“Well, I told you that like your my mom, my mom was also a cop,” Mae reminded him.  “She started out as a cop in Bay City.  And then they moved to Miami, and that is where I was born and raised.”

“And what brought you to Monticello?”  Matthew asked.

Mae paused for a moment.  “And that is my complicated story,” Mae replied.

 

At the District Attorney’s office, Nathan had just informed Victor that Ellie had resigned that morning.

“Did she say why?” Victor inquired.

“No,” Nathan responded.  “But I wonder if it had something to do with you constantly trying to fix the two of us up with each other?”

Victor did not like that assertion.  “I’m sure it had nothing to do with that,” he responded.  “I don’t know why you didn’t want to go out with her.  She’s a lovely woman, and she was definitely interested in you.”

“I told you that I don’t need you to fix my up with anyone,” Nathan reminded him.  “Now what do you want to do about Ellie?”

“Obviously, we will have to hire someone new,”   Victor responded.  “I will see about getting us a temp until then.”

“I could do it,” a woman’s voice shouted from behind them.

“What?” Victor asked as the two men turned around in unison to see Victor’s mother, Laurie was the woman who was talking.

“I’m sorry but I couldn’t but help but overhear,” She stated.  “I’ve worked in an office before, and I would love to help you out.”

“That’s wonderful,” Nathan replied.

Victor was cautious about his response.  In the back of his mind, he recalled the words on Dr. Correll telling him that he needed to forgive is parents.  “All right,” Victor responded to a thrilled Laurie.  “But only until we find someone permanent.  Nathan can show you what you can do.”

“Thank you so much, for giving me this chance,” Laurie stated.

As Nathan and Laurie walked away, Victor went into his office and closed the door.  “What did I just get myself into?”  He asked himself.

 

Across town, Julia arrived at the law office in the middle of the meeting with William Church about James’ campaign for District Attorney.

“We need to announce your candidacy as soon as possible,” William stated turning to acknowledge Julia as she entered. .  “I would like to hold a press conference on the footsteps on the courthouse.  We’ll have your family with you.  I want your sister on one side of you.  We don’t want the public to forget how you stopped her from being falsely convicted by the current District Attorney.”

“It sounds good to me,” James said.

“I just have one question for you,” William informed him.

“What’s that?” James asked.

“I need to know if there are any skeletons in yours or your family’s closet that I have to be worried about coming out during this campaign,” William answered him.

“There isn’t anything in my background that would cause a problem,” James replied confidently.

“And your family?” William insisted.  “And Julia?”

“Why Julia?” a confused James questioned.

“Yes, why me?” Julia inquired.

“Because you are his girlfriend,” William responded.

“What?” a shocked Katherine exclaimed.

“How do you know that?” James asked.

“It’s my business to know everything about my client,” William responded.

“We were going to tell you,” Julia explained to Katherine.  “We haven’t told anyone.  We just wanted to keep it to ourselves right now.”

“And I’ll ask again is there anything in your background that I should know about?”  William repeated.

“Nothing,” Julia answered.

“Are you sure?” William persisted.

Julia paused for a moment.  “Well, Victor and I were engaged,” Julia replied.   “But that is public knowledge.”

“And that is why we don’t want to reveal your relationship with James until after the election.  William stated.

“Why?”  James demanded.

“For appearances,” William informed him.  “If people were to find out about you two, the press and gossip columns would have a field day.  Saying Julia has a thing for D.A.’s.  They may even blame you for her broken engagement.  People don’t like a homewrecker.”

“That is not true,” Julia blurted out.

“But the press won’t see it that way,” William replied.  “They are always looking for a story.  Even if they have to twist the facts to get one.  That is why you two can’t lose your temper with the press especially if this stuff comes out.  I’ve seen you two in court, and I know how angry you can become.”

“You have?” James asked.

“Yes,” William replied.  “My work has taken into the court house before, and I’ve seen you two in action.  But getting back to the point at hand, we also have to deal your families.”

“Oh, God,” James responded.  “You mean my siblings.  I can’t be held responsible for their actions.”

“I know,” William told him.  “We will have to deal with this in the beginning.  And they will have to be watched like a hawk to stay out of the press during the campaign.  Especially that younger sister of yours.”

“Geri,” Julia replied.  “That will be easier said than done.”

“That’s not all,” William said.

“What else is there?” James asked.

“When were you going to tell me that your mother was convicted of murder?” William questioned.  “And both of Julia’s parents as well.”

“What?” an even more shocked Katherine exclaimed.

“I can explain,” Julia told Katherine.

“They were all proven innocent,” James stated angrily.  “And that was all so long ago.”

“That’s what I am talking about,” William responded.  “You need to control your temper.  The press will use it to make headlines for themselves.”

As William finished speaking the door to the law office opened and a tall skinny young man entered.

“It’s about time you got here,” William said to him.  “This is my son Bryan.  He is going to be working on your campaign with me.”

Everyone exchanged introductions as Julia’s cell phone rang.

“I’m sorry,” she said.  “I will turn it off.”  As she turned it off, she saw Victor’s name on the caller ID.

“Was it someone important?” William asked.

“No,” Julia responded.  “No one to worry about.” To change the subject, she said, “I know Jeremy and Jody have been waiting anxiously to cover the announcement for WMON.”

“I know,” James replied.  “I probably should give him a call and update him.”

“Would you like for me to get him on the phone for you, Mr. Swift?” Katherine asked.

“Yes, that would be great,” an excited James responded.

While Katherine was on the phone calling Jeremy, another phone line in the office was ringing.

“Don’t worry, I’ll get it,” James stated as he answered.  “Oh, hi, Adam,” he said.  As James was listening to Adam, Julia reached to take the phone with him.  James stopped her.  “What are you doing?”

“He’s my cousin,” Julia stated.  “He wants to talk to me.”

“No,” James responded.  “He actually called to talk to Katherine.”

 

At WMON, Jeremy went to go to talk to Jody after getting off the phone with James.

“Who was that?” Jody asked.

“Swift and Associates,” Jeremy responded.

“What did he say?” Jody inquired.

“He said not yet, but soon,” Jeremy replied as they walked toward Jody’s dressing room.

Reporter Angela Rhomer had been listening from the curtain behind them as new producer Martin Thornton walked up behind her.

“Did you find out anything else?”  He asked her.

“Whatever it is, it has something to do with that lawyer, James Swift,” Angela replied.  “I wish I knew what it was.”

“Have you talked to Raven Whitney yet?”  Martin inquired.

“No,” Angela responded.  “I’m trying to find out more first.  I just haven’t been able to find out as much as I would have liked.”

“Don’t worry my dear,” Martin responded.  “We will find out soon enough, or we can find some other story to scoop her with.”

“I want more than that,”   Angela replied.  “I want her job.  It should be mine.  If her name wasn’t Travis, she wouldn’t have that position.  So that family has a history in this town, who cares?”

“You need to calm down, and be patient,” Martin told her.

“I’m tired of waiting,” Angela answered.  “That’s has to be something more we can do.”  Angela thought for a moment.  “I got it.”

“Got what?”  Martin asked.

“We are going to hire a private detective,” Angela informed him.  “I want to know everything there is to know about Jody Travis.  There has to be something in her background that we can use.  No one is that squeaky clean.”

 

At the foundation, Geri was sipping a coke while reading a gossip site on the computer, when her brother Gordon entered through the front door.

“What are you doing here?” Geri asked him.

“I knew you were here, and I needed someone to talk to,” he responded.  “I don’t know what to do.   It’s so hard for me to want to do anything.  I can’t get over Lindsay.  I thought I met someone new, but James put a stop to it.”

“James, how?”  Geri inquired.

“It was his new assistant, Katherine,” Gordon replied.

“Miss goodie two shoes,” Geri replied.  “She makes me sick.  But you shouldn’t let James top you from going out with her.”

“It’s not just that,” Gordon informed her.  “But I just can’t stop thinking about Lindsay.  How could I have been so stupid?”

“Oh, you are just being too hard on yourself,” Geri responded.  “So you fell in love with a former hooker who turned out to be a triple murderer?  You should see some of the creeps that I have gone out with!”

Gordon perked up for a second, and let out a chuckle.  “You sure know how to cheer me up,” he stated.  “You really do have terrible taste in men.”

Geri did not let the comment bother her.  “But all that is going to change,” she informed him.

“How?” Gordon inquired.

“My new boyfriend is Dr. Adam Cavanaugh,” she proclaimed.

“Julia and Nikki’s cousin?”  Gordon asked.  “How did you manage that?”

“Well, it hasn’t happened exactly yet,” Geri stated.  “But he will be.”

“How can you be so sure?”  Gordon questioned her.  “He really doesn’t sound like your type.”

Geri was angered by the comment.  “You sound just like Charlotte and Nikki.   I will show them, and I will show you,” Geri shouted getting excited.

“All right, calm down,” Gordon said to her.  “I’m sorry.”

“That’s better,” Geri stated.

“I assume you have a plan?”  Gordon questioned her.

“Of course,” Geri replied.

“What is it?” Gordon asked.

“I want you to find out everything you can about Adam,” she informed.

“What?”  A confused Gordon questioned.

“You are a private detective, aren’t you?”  Geri asked sarcastically.  “I want to know everything about my future man.”

“Whatever,” Gordon replied as he jumped up from his seat.  In doing so, he had knocked the Coke bottle that Geri was drinking over, and it had spilled it all over her lap.

“Look what you have done,” Geri screamed.  “Do you have any idea how much this outfit cost me?”

“I’m sorry,” Gordon said as Geri grabbed some tissue from the desk.  “Can you find me a towel?”

Gordon ran to the bathroom and replied, “I don’t see anything.”

“Did you even look?”  Geri fired back.  “I wonder if she has one in her desk.”   Geri started opening and closing the desk doors when she caught sight of the envelope on the floor.  Nikki had tried to sneak it back in her purse earlier but it had fallen on the floor instead.  Geri picked it up and opened it.  “Well, well, what do we have here?”

 

Across town, Charlotte and Nikki were leaving after finishing their lunch with Lucinda Walsh.

“That was amazing,” Charlotte stated.  “That has to be the most amount of money that someone has every donated to the foundation.”

“I know,” Nikki replied as she looked at her watch.

“Are you running late?”  Charlotte inquired.

“Ah, no,” Nikki responded.

“Would you like for me to drop you off at Dr. Samuel’s office?”  Charlotte asked her.

“No, there’s no need, I can take a cab,” Nikki answered her as she held up her hand to flag a cab driver.

“That’s ridiculous, Dr. Samuel’s office is on the way back to the foundation,” Charlotte noted.

“It’s fine,” Nikki shouted as jumped into a cab that pulled up the curb.  “I will call you later.”

Charlotte watched as Nikki drove off in the cab.  “If you are going to see Dr. Samuel, then you are traveling in the wrong direction,” Charlotte whispered to herself.

 

At the Whitney mansion, Raven was preparing to leave to go do some shopping.

“Lyle has pulled the car around,” she informed Sky.  “I won’t be long.  I just need to pick up a few things.”

“Just a few?” Sky asked sarcastically.

“You know me all too well,” she replied as she kissed her husband goodbye.

As she left through the front door, Sky sat on the sofa.  He began to remember being at the airport with Alicia Van Dine.  She was about to board his private jet.

“Now remember,” she told him.  “If you keep the money coming, you will never have to see me again.”

“I know,” an angry Sky replied.

“If you don’t like this arrangement, then we can head right over to the mansion, and tell Raven everything,” Alicia asked him.   “I could end up in prison, but how do you think she will react when she finds out what you have done?”

“What I have done?” An angry Sky shouted.  “Just leave, and stay away from me and my family.”

“As you wish,” Alicia responded as she boarded the plane.

After he was done remembering, Sky picked up his and Raven’s wedding picture.

“I hope I did the right thing,” he whispered to himself.  “Maybe Gunther was right.  Maybe I should have finally told you the truth after all these years.  But I do believe that I am doing the right thing by not telling you.”

 

Calvin and Guthrie were sitting in an unmarked police car after replacing Matthew and Mae on the stake out.  Calvin really didn’t want to be there and wasn’t really paying attention.

“This is a waste of our time,” he complained to Guthrie.

“We also get different assignments and different jobs,” Guthrie noted.  “You can’t tell me this is the worst assignment that you ever received.

“No, far from it,” Calvin replied paying more attention to what he was reading on his phone then what was going on outside.

“Why didn’t Nikki meet your for lunch today?”  Guthrie asked him.

“She had a doctor’s appointment for a checkup,” Calvin reminded him.  “Why?”

“No reason,” Guthrie replied.  “I just couldn’t remember what you said.”  Guthrie didn’t tell Calvin but across the street he saw Nikki walking out of the Monticello Arms with another man.

 

Later on in the afternoon a masked man pulled a key out of his pocket.  He was standing outside of Julia’s apartment.   He flashed back to Julia’s mugging where he had taken her purse.  He took her keys out of it, and pressed them into a piece of clay.  He placed her keys back in the purse, and then dropped the purse.  He had keys made from the clay.  He looked to the right and the left, and then unlocked the door to Julia’s apartment.  He entered carrying a large gym bag.

 

In her room at the Monticello Inn, Didi noticed that she had a voicemail from Julius.  She listened to is as he said, “he enjoyed last night, and I hope we can get together again.”  She threw the cell phone on the bed, and just sat there thinking.   “I did enjoy last night as well,” she whispered to herself.  “But I don’t want to hurt you again.”

 

That night Beth arrived at Chris’ apartment to hypnotize her to see if she could recall anything else from the night Calvin was killed.

Chris could tell that something was bothering Beth.  “What is wrong?” she asked Beth.

“I saw Adam today,” Beth responded.

“And how did that go,” Chris inquired.

“Not good,” Beth answered her.  “I’m trying to get him and Miles talking again without much luck.”

“They are still having problems?” Chris questioned.

“Yes,” Beth answered her.  “They never seem to stay on good terms.”

Beth recalled to Chris her first meeting with Adam when he ran back up the stairs.  “We had no idea how angry Adam was at Miles for leaving him in London,” Beth explained.  “April said he never showed any signs of that until we got there.  So we decided to deal with one thing at a time.  I was introduced as a friend of Miles.”

“How did that go?”  Chris asked.

“It was fine at first,” Beth replied.  “Until that night when he was talking to Jody on the phone.  She assumed he knew that we were married.  He got even angrier and that was the first time he ran away. You remember that’s when we decided it was best for us to move to London at least temporarily anyway.”

“Adam won’t talk to him?”  Chris inquired.

“He goes through these periods where things seem to be okay between them, and then reverts back to not wanting to have anything to do with Miles,” Beth responded.  “I’ve tried so hard during the years to get him to try to understand.”

“And I guess not much progress,” Chris asked.

“The last argument happened right before Adam came to Monticello,” Beth replied.  “I can’t blame Miles for that one.  Adam is lucky he didn’t kill someone after what he did.  But Adam doesn’t see it like that.  He is even using the name Drake now.”

“And how is Miles handling it?”  Chris asked.

“He hasn’t said much on the subject to me since I arrived here,” Beth answered her.  “But I think deep down he still blames Adam for the accident when I was younger.”

“And you?”  Chris inquired.

“No,” Beth replied.  “I gave it so much thought, and Adam was just a child.  I can’t believe he had anything to do it with despite how angry he was.”

 

In London, April Scott had just kissed her husband goodbye as he left the house.  She went into living room and pulled out a notebook from the drawer on the book shelf.

She sat down on the sofa and opened it.  It was a journal where she was writing about all the dreams that she had been having.  She wrote about the big room, and the mass confusion, people telling her they were sorry for her, and her being unable to find Draper.

“And now for the rest of it,” she said to herself as she picked up a pen.  She recalled how she dreamed again about people coming up to her and telling her how sorry they were.  Then she looked in front of her.  Julia was standing on her right side, and her other daughter was on the left.  Julia grabbed her hand and began to lead her forward.  Her daughters kept assuring her that everything was going to be alright.

April could not tell where they going.  It was dark and hazy.  Then all of sudden everything was clear all around her.  There is was right in front of her.  It was a coffin.

 

Back at her apartment, Chris was sitting on her sofa.  Beth had told her to relax and to make herself comfortable.

“Breathe deeply, slowly,” Beth instructed Chris as she placed her left hand on Chris’ forehead.  Beth began to count down from 5 to 1.  “Now go back to the night, Calvin was killed, and tell me what you see.”

Chris recalled how she had followed Louis Van Dine into the building with the same M. Hatter Sign from Wonderland Lane.  She was then knocked unconscious.  She heard Alicia, Louis, and Tommy talking.  She remembered going for the gun on the table when the gunshots had rung out.  Alicia had escaped, and Louis was dying on the floor.  She looked forward to see an arm holding a gun behind some crates.  Tommy told her that she could to try to capture him or she could let him go and try to save Calvin.  That was when she discovered that Calvin had been shot.

“I had to let him go to try to save Calvin,” Chris stated.  Chris then recalled Tommy escaping as she went to Calvin.

Beth then brought Chris out of the hypnosis.  “I’m sorry you didn’t recall anything new,” Beth stated.

“No,” Chris replied with excitement.  “I did remember something new.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

