Chapter 2 -Cries in the Night

At the Whitney mansion, Raven had just informed her husband that they needed to talk.

“We need to have a serious talk,” Raven reiterated.

Sky turned to the bar to pour himself a drink.  Raven could not see the nervous look on his face.  “What about?” He responded trying to sound calm.

Before Raven can reply, Lyle burst into the room.

“I need to speak with you, Mr. Whitney,” he announced.  “It is very important.”

“Can’t it wait?” Raven asked.

“I wish it could,” Lyle answered her.  “But I really need to talk to you now.”

“Well, what is it?”  Raven asked as she let out a deep breath.

“I really need to talk to Mr. Whitney alone,” Lyle told her.

“What?” A shocked Raven responded.

“I really need to, Mrs. Whitney, please,” Lyle pleaded.

“Just give us a few minutes?” Sky asked his wife.

“Alright,” a disappointed Raven told them.  “But I won’t be gone long.”

After Raven left Sky’s study, Lyle closed to the door behind her, and listened to make sure she was not listening.

“What is all this about?” Sky questioned Lyle.

“It’s about something my father told me,” Lyle answered referring to his father Gunther, who used to be the Whitney’s chauffer years earlier.

“And what is that?” An intrigued Sky asked him.

“He told me that if I ever hear the name Alicia Van Dine then I was to tell you to tell Mrs. Whitney the truth,” Lyle answered.

Sky just stood there for a moment and thought.

“Did he tell you what it was?” Sky asked him.

“No,” Lyle responded.  “But he made me promise to tell you that you need to tell her the truth.”

“I appreciate that Lyle,” Sky told him.  “But I need to handle this my way.”

“He made me…” Lyle started to say but Sky cut him off.

“That’s enough,” Sky said.  “Now, thank you, but I will handle this.”

Lyle looked at him disappointed.

“We won’t mention this again,” Sky commanded. “Now please send Mrs. Whitney back in here.”

“As you wish, sir,” Lyle whispered as he left the room.

 

Chris opened the door to her apartment, and put her purse down on the table by the door.

“Yes, I am going to do it,” she said to herself as she sat on the sofa and picked up her phone.  “I need to catch her before she leaves town.”

“Hello,” Beth said as she answered her phone in her hotel room.  “I was going to call you before I left, to tell you about my talk with Didi.”

“How did it go?” Chris inquired.

“Not well,” Beth replied.  “But give her some more time.  I do think she is making progress.  She is handling the fact that Calvin is working for the Monticello P.D. well.  She is handling it much better than I expected.  I’m going to be keeping in contact with her when I return to London, but I do think she will get to the point where she will stop blaming you for Calvin’s death.

“Thanks,” Chris told her.  “But that is not actually why I was calling.”

“What is it?” Beth asked her.

“I was remembering about Robbie Hamlin,” Chris informed her.

“Why would you want to?” A confused Beth asked.

“I was remembering what you did to Jody,” Chris answered.  “When we couldn’t understand Robbie’s hold over her, you hypnotized her.”

“That’s correct,” Beth answered.  “But that didn’t give us any answers.”

“True,” Chris replied.  “But who would’ve thought back then he would be using subliminal messages from the Video Disco.”

“Most people don’t believe it when I tell them that story now,” Beth told her.

“Well, I was wondering if you could hypnotize me.” Chris asked her.

The question caught Beth by surprise. “Why?” she responded.

“I think I might be able to remember some more details about the night Calvin was killed,” Chris explained to her.  “Maybe there is something I can’t recall that can help us find his killer.”

“Well, I haven’t done that in years since I started profiling,” Beth stated.  “But I would be willing to do it, if you are sure that you want to do it.”

“I do,” Chris replied.

“So when?” Beth asked her.

“Tomorrow at my place, after I get off from work,” Chris replied.

 

At a coffee shop across town, Charlotte and Nikki walked in and sat down at a table where Calvin was waiting for them.

“I see Adam is not there yet,” Charlotte mentioned.

“He should be here soon,” Nikki replied.  “I really want for you’ll to get to know him.  He really doesn’t know anyone in Monticello.”

“Is Julia joining us?” Calvin asked.

“I was hoping that she would,” Nikki stated.  “But she texted me, and said that she and James had something else that they had to do.  She said that she would explain later.”

“What is going on with those two?” Calvin asked.

“What do you mean?” Charlotte questioned in response.

“My cop sense tells me that something is going on between them,” Calvin answered.

“I doubt it,” Nikki replied.  “She said she would never get involved with someone she works with again.  And both swear there is nothing going on between them.”

“We’ll see,” Calvin said.

Nikki looked up and saw a confused young man entering the coffee show.  “I see him,” she informed everyone.  “We are over here, Adam,” she shouted out as she stood up to motion him to where they were sitting.

Nikki introduced everyone to each other.

“This is my cousin, Dr. Adam Cavanaugh,” she told Charlotte and Calvin.

“It’s actually Drake now,” Adam stated.

“What?” a confused Nikki asked him.

“I go by Adam Drake now,” he explained to her.

“Okay,” Nikki replied, not seeming too pleased with his response.

“What do you think of Monticello so far?” Calvin asked changing the subject.

“I’m not sure yet,” Adam replied.  “I hardly spent any time here since I was younger.  I don’t remember much about it, but I came here for a reason.”

“What’s that?” a curious Calvin asked him.

“To find out about more my parents,” Adam replied.

Nikki seemed confused by his answer.

“Have you seen Beth since you arrived?” Nikki asked him.

“No,” Adam replied in a serious tone.

“So how was your first day?” Nikki inquired, changing the subject again.

“Pretty much as what I expected,” Adam answered.

Charlotte and Calvin just stared at each other not too impressed by his answers.

“Charlotte, is that you?” A female voice shouted from across the room.

Everyone at the table turned their heads to see Geri walking towards them.

“What are you guys doing here?” Geri asked trying to sound shocked.

“Meeting my cousin Adam, like you don’t know,” Nikki responded.

“Oh your cousin, Adam, the doctor?” Geri asked trying to keep her shocked demeanor.

“I’m Charlotte’s younger sister, Geri.” She emphasized the word “younger”.

“Aren’t you supposed to be as the foundation?” An agitated Nikki asked her.

“Yes, that’s right” Geri answered. “I work for the Geraldine Whitney Foundation,” Geri said as she looked at Adam.  “I find funding to help several needy charities and causes,” she explained trying to impress Adam as she pushed Nikki out of the way to sit next to him.

“Shouldn’t you be there now?” Charlotte asked her angrily.

“Oh yes,” Geri responded.  “I’m always working.  I just came over to get me some coffee.  I’ll probably be working late tonight.  I just love working there, helping people.”

“Oh brother,” Calvin whispered to himself.  “She’s laying it on thick.”

Nikki took notice of the pearls that Geri was wearing.  “What’s with the pearl necklace?” she asked Charlotte.

“They were my Aunt Geraldine’s,” Charlotte informed her.  “Geri must be trying to make an impression.  She doesn’t deserve those pearls.”  Charlotte was getting ready to say something, but then someone caught her eye at the counter. “Is that Katherine?” she asked.

“Who?” Geri asked.

“James and Julia’s assistant,” Charlotte replied.  “It is her. Katherine why don’t you come over here to join us?”

Geri was not pleased with Charlotte’s actions.

The usually shy Katherine walked over slowly.

“How are you?” Charlotte asked.  “I’m sure you remember Calvin and Nikki?”  Charlotte motioned to them and intentionally ignoring Geri.

The three exchanged pleasantries.

“And this is Nikki’s cousin, Adam,” Charlotte continued.  “He’s new to Monticello as well.”

“How are you tonight?” Adam asked, trying to turn the focus away from Geri.

“Just fine,” Katherine responded quietly.  “It was a busy day.  I’m getting myself a cappuccino for the ride home.”  Katherine’s face lit up as she looked at him.

 

At the Karr house, Victor was walking up to the front door.  He paused for a second.  “I can do this,” he said to himself as he entered.

Mike and Nancy were sitting in the living room when he opened the door.

“I’m sorry I’m late,” he told them.

“That’s okay,” his grandfather Mike responded.  “We were just talking about your grandmother’s book being reissued in paperback.”

“Which one?” Victor asked her.  “Is it one of the romance novels?”

“No,” Nancy replied.  “And I thought you said that you didn’t read them?” She asked with a laugh.

“Then what is it?” Victor inquired further.

“Matriarch:  The Geraldine Whitney Story,” Nancy responded.

“I almost forgot that you did a biography of her,” Laurie mentioned as she entered the room.

“Yes,” Mike responded.  “With all the press from Charlotte’s trial, and the antics of Geri, there appears to be a renewed interest in the Whitney family.”

“That’s wonderful,” Victor stated.

“How did your session go with Beth?” Laurie asked him.

Victor didn’t seem too pleased by the question.  “It went well,” he responded.  “What’s for dinner?”  He asked changing the subject as his father Johnny Dallas entered from the kitchen.

Victor was shocked to see him there.

“How was your day?”  Johnny questioned him.

“A pretty regular day in the D.A.’s office,” Victor responded though he didn’t seem like he wanted to respond.

“Can I see you in private?”  Johnny asked.

“Sure, let’s go into the other room,” Victor replied though he didn’t seem too happy about it.

“What is this about?”  Victor inquired as they entered the other room.

“I wanted to tell you that I have to be leaving soon,” Johnny informed him.  “I need to get back to Corinth and Constellation.”  Johnny was referring to his restaurant.

“I understand,” Victor responded.

“I’m going to try to come back to visit as soon as I can,” Johnny told him.  “And I don’t know how I can express how sorry I am from not knowing what Melissa was doing to you.”

“I know dad, but-” Victor started to say before Johnny interrupted him.

“It’s going to take time,” Johnny said finishing Victor’s sentence.  Johnny was holding back tears.

Victor just paused for a moment not sure what to say.  “Okay, Dad, I think it is time we go back in the other room for dinner.”

When they returned Laurie looked as Victor.  “I wanted to ask you something,” she told him.

“What’s that?” Victor responded but from his tone you could tell he was worried about the question.

“I would like to work on your re-election campaign,” Laurie informed him.

“Well, that’s nice,” Victor replied.  “But I really don’t need much help.  I am running unopposed.”

“I’m sure there is something she can help you with?” Mike inquired giving him a disappointing look.

Victor recalled what Beth told him about making peace with his parents.  “I’m sure I can find something you can do,” he responded.  “Even if it is just stuffing envelopes.”

“That would be fine,” Laurie told him.

“Now can we eat?” Nancy asked.

“Sure,” Victor stated but I need to do one more thing real quick.

as-seen-on-wdsu-jpg

 

At WMON, Martin Thornton returned to his office after his conversation with Jeremy about Jody.

“How did it go?”  A woman’s voice asked as he closed the door.

Martin turned in shock.  “You startled me,” he stated.  “I wasn’t expecting you to be in here.”

“Well, how did it go?”  The woman repeated.

“He said she is dealing with a lot of stress,” Martin responded.  “Don’t worry, we can use that to our advantage.”

“I’m tired of waiting,” the woman responded.

 

Back at the Whitney mansion, Lyle informed Raven that he was finished talking with Mr. Whitney.

“It’s about time,” Raven responded.  She still wasn’t happy that he had interrupted her talk with Sky.

Raven walked toward Sky’s study, but Sky came out to meet her.  “We need to talk,” Raven told him again.

Sky opened his mouth to reply but the front door of the mansion opened catching them both by surprise.

James and Julia walked into the living room with a look of excitement on their faces.

“I’ve got something to tell you two,” James announced.

Raven interrupted saying, “Oh my God, you two are getting married.”

“No,” Julia quickly responded.  “Why would you think that?”

“Well, what is it?” Sky inquired.

“I’m running for District Attorney of Monticello,” James declared.

“That’s wonderful,” Raven responded.

 

Back at the coffee shop, Adam continued conversing with Katherine to the ire of Geri.

“I’ll be back in a second,” Nikki said as she excused herself to the ladies room.

At the entrance to the coffee shop, Matthew appeared with Guthrie.  He noticed everyone over at the table.  “Let’s get our stuff, and leave,” Matthew told Guthrie.

“If that is what you want to do, then I am fine with it,” Guthrie responded as they went to the counter.

Calvin and Charlotte caught sight of them from the table. Calvin got up.

“What are you going to do?” Charlotte asked him.

“I’m going to do the polite thing and ask them to join us,” Calvin told her. “I’ll be right back.”

Calvin walked up the counter as Matthew and Guthrie got their drinks. They all exchanged hellos.

“We were just leaving,” Matthew told him.

“Why don’t you come join us?”  Calvin asked.  “I’m sure Nikki would like for you to meet her cousin Adam.”

“We can do it another time,” Matthew responded as he turned away.

“Come on, Matthew,” Calvin said as he nudged Matthew on the arm.

When he did that, Matthew jerked back throwing all his coffee on the woman standing on the side of them.

“Ow!” The African American woman in a blue dress exclaimed.

“I’m so sorry,” Matthew stated as Charlotte walked over them.

“What is wrong with you?” The woman asked.

“Yes, what is wrong with you?”  Charlotte repeated to Matthew, then turned to help the woman. Charlotte asked her, “Why don’t you come with me, and I will help you get cleaned up?” Charlotte and the woman then proceeded to go to the ladies room.

“It’s nice to see there is no love lost between us either, Charlotte,” Matthew stated as they walked away.  “She’s a snob as always,” he whispered.

“I’m trying to make an effort so that we can move past this,” Calvin said to Matthew.

Matthew didn’t say a word as Guthrie and Calvin looked at him.

“It’s going to take some time,” Matthew replied as he walked off.

 

In the bathroom, Charlotte was helping the woman try to get dry.

“What is that man’s problem?”  The woman asked.

“I’m so sorry, he’s going through a rough time right now,” Charlotte said.  “He can be kind of real jerk.”

“I assume you don’t care for him much either,” The woman stated.

“He’s definitely not one of my favorite people,” Charlotte responded.  “He’s had a chip on his shoulder against me and my family from day one.”  Charlotte could hear a voice from one of the stalls.

“Yes, I can meet with you tomorrow,” a woman’s voice said but Charlotte could not make it out the words.

“Someone needs to teach that man some manners,” the women in the blue dress stated.

“Who?” Nikki asked as she approached from one of the stalls.

“Matthew,” Charlotte replied.  Charlotte realized Nikki was the one she heard from the stall.

“Who were you talking to?”  Charlotte inquired.

Nikki paused for a second because she was not sure what Charlotte heard.  “I was just confirming my appointment with Dr. Samuel for tomorrow afternoon.”

“Is everything alright with your anemia?”  Charlotte asked.

“Yes, I’m fine,” Nikki replied.  “It’s just my regular checkup.”

Back outside at the table, Adam looked at his watch and then stood up to leave.  “I’m sorry, but I have an early day tomorrow,” he stated.  “Please make my apologies to Nikki and Charlotte.”

“Are you sure you can’t stay a little longer?” Geri asked flirting with him.

“Let the man go,” Calvin told her.

Adam began to leave but then he turned back to the table and turned to Katherine and said, “Um, would it be alright if I called you sometime?”

Katherine was shocked when he asked.  She nervously nodded her head in response.  “Yes,” she replied.

Geri was none too pleased.

 

At WMON, Jody was seated in her office overlooking some news copy when Jeremy walked into the office.

“I saw you talking to Martin,” Jody stated.  “What was that about?”

“He wanted to know if you were okay,” Jeremy informed her.

“Why would he want to know that?”  Jody inquired.

“He noticed as did I, that you really did go kind of soft in your reporting on Charlotte in the Lombard murder case.”

“What business is that of his?”  Jody responded.  “Doesn’t he know what kind of stress we were under?  And by the way, she was innocent.”

“I know,” Jeremy told her.  “That’s exactly what I said to him.

“Good,” Jody replied.

“But is that all there is?”  Jeremy asked her.

“What do you mean?”  Jody questioned him.

“Does all this have to do with Nikki?”  Jeremy inquired.  “Or is something else bothering you?”

Jody paused for a moment.  Jeremy’s question had caught her off guard.  Should she tell her husband about Raven’s threats?

“Of course that’s all,” Jody answered him.

“Okay,” Jeremy said.  “I’m going to go try to call James again.”

After Jeremy left and closed the door.  Jody stared in the mirror.  “You could tell him,” she thought to herself.  “But I don’t know how he would handle it.  And then there’s Nikki.  I’m just trying to protect them.  What do I do?”  Jody then grabbed her purse and took out a prescription bottle.

 

At the Monticello Arms, Didi and Nathan had finished having drinks as Didi had said goodbye and left the bar.

Nathan watched her leave.  He started to remember one of their meetings in a Capitol City court room.  Didi was defending a “thug” as he had referred to him, and Nathan was the prosecutor.

Nathan had just admitted into evidence surveillance video of her client in the vicinity of the crime.

Didi was furious and claimed that Nathan had purposely held back the tape.

“Your honor,” Didi stated as she addressed the judge.  “Mr. Gannon has purposely withheld this tape so the defense would not have time to check its authenticity or to refute it.  Therefore it should not be admitted into evidence.”

“Your honor,” Nathan said.  “The prosecution only recently became aware of the tape in the last 24 hours.”

The judge ruled in Nathan’s favor.  Nathan smiled at Didi which made her even angrier.

Later outside the courtroom, a furious Didi ran up to Nathan.

“I was warned about you,” she informed him.  “I know all about your dirty tricks and your reputation ‘Gannon the Cannon’.  This won’t happen again.”

“Come on, let’ stop wasting time here,” Didi’s law partner Marty Stillwater stated.

Nathan just watched them walk away.  A fellow prosecutor approach Nathan.  “Why didn’t you respond to her?  I’ve never known you to just sit there and take it.”

“I’m not sure,” Nathan answered him.

After Didi exited the bar, she walked toward the elevator to go to her room.  “If you are staying in Monticello, then I guess you need to start looking for a place to live,” she whispered to herself.”

“I could help you with that,” a voice from behind her responded.

Didi was taken by surprise that someone had heard what she saying.  She turned around to see who it was, and she was in shock.  “Is that you?”

Back at the mansion, Raven was still basking in the announcement that James was running for district attorney.  She then turned to Sky and whispered in his ear, “Don’t think this gets you off the hook.”

“Have you thought of a campaign manager yet?” Sky asked.

“I have one” James replied.

Just as James finished speaking, Julia’s cell phone began to ring.  She looked at the name and turned it on silent.  “It’s my mother,” Julia announced.  “I will call her back later.”

“It must be early over there,” Raven said.  “I hope everything is okay.”

“I’m sure it is,” Julia responded as she put the cell phone in her purse.  The name on the caller ID was Victor Dallas.

“Well, who is going to be your campaign manager,” Sky inquired.

“William Church,” James informed him.

“He worked with your aunt Geraldine on several Governor and Senate elections,” Sky mentioned.  “Excellent choice.”

“Your Aunt Geraldine used to be great at running campaigns,” Raven stated as she turned to look at Geraldine’s portrait on the wall.

“She ran several of Mike Karr’s campaigns,” Sky informed them.  “There hasn’t been much said about him lately. I thought he might be retired.”

“He’s coming out of retirement for this,” James responded.  “He is an extremely excited about it.”

 

In London, April Scott lay on the sofa in her living room tossing and turning.  She dreamed of being in a large room with a lot of people.  It was mass confusion going on, and April was on the ground.  She wasn’t feeling right, and she did not know why.  Everything seemed hazy to her.

She looked for Draper but he was not around her.  She started calling for him.  Then she heard shots and gasps from across the room.  “Oh my God, he’s dead!”

April woke up screaming on the sofa.  “No!”  She exclaimed.  “I will never let that happen.”

 

In a photographer’s dark room, someone was developing a picture.  A picture was sitting in a pan of photo agent.  As it came into focus, the picture was clearly visible.  It was a photo of Julia and James leaving the office earlier.

Leave a Reply

